Frequently Asked Questions

 

Why do we need to Transform?

In response to the strategic direction set out by The Kingdom’s Vision 2030, KFSH&RC has embarked on a large scale Transformation Program. One of Vision 2030’s key aims is to develop a: ‘healthcare sector that promotes competition and transparency among providers. This will enhance the capability, efficiency, and productivity of care and treatment and increase the options available to our citizens.

To achieve this goal we will introduce corporatization into the sector by transferring the responsibility for healthcare provision to a network of public companies that compete both against each other and against the private sector’ KFSH&RC is responding to this call and will therefore need to move away from our current reliance on government funding.

Through the Transformation we will become a “Not-for-profit Independent Foundation” one that will generate its own income and become financially self- sustaining. Importantly, in raising the standard of care we will embrace constant improvement and excellence across all our services.

The Transformation will unlock our potential to deliver more to our patients, citizens and to healthcare locally and globally.

 

What is a “Not-for-Profit Independent Foundation”?

 

Some of the most prestigious healthcare organizations in the world operate as Not-for-Profit organizations. In the US, The Cleveland Clinic and Mayo Clinic provide two of the many examples. Across northern Europe, the UK, Germany and the Netherlands all have a well-developed structure of healthcare organizations that work as not for profit enterprises.

Not-for-Profit organizations are mission-driven rather than being financially-driven. However, a Not-for-Profit organization will still require self-sustainability, all surpluses (profits) remaining in the organization and reinvested in the business for constant improvement of services.

To be successful as a Not-for-Profit Independent Foundation, KFSH&RC will need to invest time and money to ensure that we realize the full potential of our services. we will have the autonomy and flexibility to develop our existing services and explore new opportunities. Importantly, we will be able to reinvest any surpluses that we generate back into the organization for constant upgrade of our services to the benefit of our patients and the community.

 

What is the CTO?

 

The Corporate Transformation Office (CTO) is a dedicated team, reporting to Dr. Majid Al Fayyadh, Chief Executive Officer. Dr. Hassan El Solh, Chief Transformation Officer, is accountable for the delivery of the Transformation Program and is supported by delivery directors located in Riyadh and Jeddah.

The CTO should ensure timely and effective decision-making, involve the right people and use the right information to carry out their transformational initiatives at a consistent high quality, whilst ensuring that improving patient and staff experience is at the forefront of the Program’s objectives.

Staff from the CTO are meeting with teams to discuss the plans for Transformation. They are also happy to meet individual employees who may have staff specific questions about the plans. The “Talking Transformation” meetings are free for staff to attend and more information can be found here.

 

 

What are the objectives of the Transformation program?

 

The transformation program’s main objectives are:

  • To maintain and enhance patient safety and quality during the transformation
  • To achieve a successful transition toward Independent Foundation status, at the earliest possible date
  • To ensure efficient and effective use of transformation funds to maximize value delivered
  • To effectively manage the inter-dependencies with the ongoing healthcare sector reforms
  • To promote a culture of transparency and accountability across the organization
  • To improve patient and staff experience

 

How will this change happen?

 

Reaching our goal of becoming a Not-for-profit Independent Foundation will happen in stages and will require a change in KFSH&RC’s legal entity structure (subject to enacting legislation i.e. Government approval).

There are three main stages:

  • General Organization (GO); the current state
  • A transition stage (Corporatization) where we will become a Corporation owned by the GO. During this time, the ownership of KFSH&RC will remain with the Government so ensuring financial security; the transition state
  • Not for profit Independent Foundation (IF); the end state

 

Tell me more about the Corporatization stage?

Corporatization is a step towards our goal of becoming a not for profit Independent Foundation. This will require changes across the organization to bring about improvements in performance and efficiency that support the highest standards of patient care and experience.

 

 

How long will Transformation take?

Our goal is to become a not for profit Independent Foundation by 2022 that delivers the highest quality of tertiary healthcare services and is financially self-sustaining. This can’t happen overnight and will require changes in KFSH&RC’s legal entity structure, our ways of working across the organization and with our partners across the healthcare sector in the Kingdom.

We are still in the early stages of planning but some key developments have already happened:

  • CTO established
  • Legal entity being established
  • Initiatives kicked-off

 

How will patients pay for their treatment?

 

The government has assured they will continue to support tertiary care and will establish the proper mechanisms to do so.

 

Who will deliver the Transformation Program?

 

All staff will have a role to play in delivering a successful Transformation. To support this the organization has established the Corporate Transformation Office to act as a focal point for this important program.

 

How can I find out more about the initiatives?

 

We will be offering an overview of key initiatives in our monthly Transformation newsletter. In addition, a number of case studies will be shared on the website, describing changes that are being planned and how they will work to improve efficiency and patient care.

الأسئلة المتكررة عن برنامج التحول

 

 

الأسئلة المتكررة عن برنامج التحول

 

لماذا نحتاج للتحول؟

استجابة للتوجه الاستراتيجي الذي حددته رؤية المملكة 2030، شرع مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث في تنفيذ برنامج التحول واسع النطاق. ويتمثل أحد الأهداف الرئيسية لـرؤية 2030 في تطوير: "قطاع الرعاية الصحية الذي يعزز المنافسة والشفافية بين مقدمي الخدمات. وهذا بدوره سيعزز القدرة والكفاءة وإنتاجية الرعاية والعلاج ويزيد من الخيارات المتاحة لمواطنينا.

"ولتحقيق هذا الهدف، سنقوم بإدخال الخصخصة في القطاع الصحي من خلال نقل المسؤولية عن توفير الرعاية الصحية إلى شبكة من الشركات العامة التي تتنافس ضد بعضها البعض وضد القطاع الخاص". ويستجيب مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث لهذه الدعوة، وبالتالي سيتعين عليه التحول من اعتمادنا الحالي على التمويل الحكومي.

وعن طريق التحول، سنصبح "مؤسسة مستقلة غير ربحية" تقوم بتوليد دخلها الخاص وتصبح مكتفية بذاتها من الناحية المالية. والأهم من ذلك، في محاولة منا لرفع مستوى الرعاية، فإننا سوف نحتضن التحسين والتميز المستمرين في كافة خدماتنا.

وسيعمل التحول على فتح إمكانياتنا لتقديم المزيد لمرضانا، وللمواطنين وللرعاية الصحية محليًا وعالميًا.

 

 

ما هي "المؤسسة المستقلة غير الربحية"؟

تعمل بعض مؤسسات الرعاية الصحية الأرقى في العالم كمؤسسات غير ربحية. ففي الولايات المتحدة، تقدم كليفلاند كلينيك ومايو كلينيك مثالين من الأمثلة العديدة على ذلك. وفي جميع أنحاء شمال أوروبا، تمتلك كل من المملكة المتحدة وألمانيا وهولندا بنية متطورة من مؤسسات الرعاية الصحية التي تعمل كمؤسسات غير ربحية.

تكون المؤسسات غير الربحية مدفوعة برسالتها. ومع ذلك، فإن المؤسسة الغير ربحية ستكون بحاجة إلى الاكتفاء الذاتي، ومن هنا يلزم أن تكون جميع الأرباح المتبقية في المؤسسة يتم إعادة استثمارها في الأعمال من أجل التحسين المستمر للخدمات.

ولكي يكون ناجحًا كمؤسسة مستقلة غير ربحية، فإن مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث سيحتاج إلى استثمار الوقت والمال لضمان تحقيقنا للإمكانيات الكاملة لخدماتنا. وستكون لدينا الاستقلالية والمرونة لتطوير خدماتنا الموجودة واستكشاف الفرص الجديدة. والشيء المهم في ذلك هو أننا سنكون قادرين على إعادة استثمار أي عوائد ربحية نحققها مرة أخرى في المؤسسة من أجل التحديث المستمر لخدماتنا لصالح مرضانا ومجتمعنا.

 

ما هو مكتب التحول بالمؤسسة؟

مكتب التحول بالمؤسسة (CTO) هو فريق متخصص، يرفع التقارير إلى المشرف العام التنفيذي الدكتور ماجد الفياض. والدكتور حسان الصلح، مسؤول التحول الرئيسي، والمسؤول عن إنجاز برنامج التحول ويدعمه في ذلك مديرو الإنجاز في الرياض وجدة.

ينبغي أن يضمن مكتب التحول بالمؤسسة (CTO) اتخاذ القرار في الوقت المناسب وبفعالية، وإشراك الأشخاص المناسبين واستخدام المعلومات الصحيحة لتنفيذ مبادراتهم التحويلية بجودة عالية متسقة، مع ضمان أن يكون تحسين تجربة المرضى والموظفين في مقدمة أهداف البرنامج.

يجتمع الموظفون من مكتب التحول بالمؤسسة (CTO) مع الفرق الاخري لمناقشة خطط التحول. كما أنهم سعداء بلقاء الأفراد الذين قد تكون لديهم أسئلة خاصة بالموظفين حول الخطط. إن اجتماعات "الحديث عن التحول" مجانية لحضور الموظفين، ويمكن العثور على المزيد من المعلومات هنا.

 

ما هي الأهداف وراء برنامج التحول؟

الأهداف الرئيسية لبرنامج التحول هي:

? الحفاظ على سلامة وجودة الرعاية الصحية المقدمة إلى المرضى وتحسينها أثناء عملية التحول

? تحقيق انتقال ناجح نحو وضع المؤسسة المستقلة، في أقرب وقت ممكن

? ضمان استخدام صناديق التحول بكفاءة وفعالية لتعظيم إنجاز القيمة

? الإدارة الفعالة للترابط في إصلاحات قطاع الرعاية الصحية الجارية

? تعزيز ثقافة الشفافية والمساءلة في المؤسسة كلها

? تحسين تجربة المرضى والموظفين

 

 

كيف سيحدث هذا التغير؟

ستحقق غايتنا من أن نصبح مؤسسة مستقلة غير ربحية في مراحل، وسيتطلب ذلك تغيرا في هيكل الكيان القانوني لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث (ويخضع ذلك لتشريع، أي الحصول على موافقة الحكومة).

وهناك ثلاث مراحل رئيسية:

  • مؤسسة عامة (GO)، وهذا هو الوضع الحالي للمستشفى.
  • مرحلة انتقالية (إضفاء الطابع المؤسسي)، حيث أننا سنصبح مؤسسة تمتلكها الحكومة. وفي هذه المرحلة، ستبقى ملكية مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث مع الحكومة لضمان الاستقرار المالي. وفي هذه المرحلة سيكون وضع المستشفى انتقالياً.
  • مؤسسة مستقلة غير ربحية (IF)، وهذا هو الوضع النهائي للمستشفى

 

أخبرنا المزيد عن مرحلة إضفاء الطابع المؤسسي؟

 يمثل إضفاء الطابع المؤسسي خطوة تجاه غايتنا لنصبح مؤسسة مستقلة غير ربحية. وسيتطلب ذلك إجراء تغييرات في المؤسسة لتحقيق التحسينات في الأداء والكفاءة مما يضمن أعلى المستويات لرعاية المرضى وتجربتهم.

 

كم مدة سيستغرقها التحول؟

نهدف إلى أن نصبح مؤسسة مستقلة غير ربحية بحلول العام 2022م، تقدم أعلى مستوى من خدمات الرعاية الصحية المتخصصة، وتتمتع بالاكتفاء الذاتي ماليا. ولا يمكن أن يتحقق ذلك بين عشية وضحاها، حيث أنه سيتطلب إجراء تغييرات في هيكل الكيان القانوني لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث، وطرق عملنا في كافة نواحي المؤسسة، وعملنا مع شركاءنا عبر قطاع الرعاية الصحية في المملكة.

ما زلنا في المراحل المبكرة للتخطيط، ولكن بعض التطورات الرئيسية قد حدثت بالفعل:

  • تم إنشاء مكتب التحول بالمؤسسة
  • يجري إنشاء الكيان القانوني
  • بدأت المبادرات

 

كيف سيدفع المرضى للعلاج؟

لقد أكدت الحكومة بأنها ستواصل دعم الرعاية المتخصصة وستقوم بوضع الآليات المناسبة للقيام بذلك.

 

من الذي سيقوم بإنجاز برنامج التحول؟

سيتعين على جميع الموظفين لعب أدوارهم لتحقيق تحول ناجح. وللمساعدة في ذلك، قامت المؤسسة بإنشاء مكتب التحول بالمؤسسة ليعمل كنقطة ارتكاز لهذا البرنامج المهم.

 

كيف يمكنني الحصول على مزيد من المعلومات عن المبادرات؟

سنقدم نظرة عامة على المبادرات الرئيسية في نشراتنا الأخبارية الشهرية بشأن التحول. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، سيتم مشاركة عدد من دراسات الحالة على الموقع الإلكتروني، مع وصف التغييرات التي يتم التخطيط لها، وكيفية عملها لتحسين الكفاءة وورعاية المرضى.