The Department of Pediatrics at King Faisal Specialist Hospital Research Centre- Jeddah Branch is dedicated to providing comprehensive well child and acute care for infants through age of 14 years. 

It provides the full spectrum if outpatient service to infants and children and serves as a tertiary care referral-hub for children of the Western Region of Saudi Arabia.

All of our pediatricians and sub-specialists are members are board-certified from accrediting bodies in North America and United Kingdom. 



Pediatric care means more than treating a sick child,  it means providing answers and guidance throughout your child's growth. That is why the team strives to build lasting, long-term relationships with parents so they can raise safe, healthy kids. The pediatricians take the time to provide you with the information you need to make treatment decisions and better understand your child's medical condition.

 

Services:

 

1. Pediatric Cardiology

The Pediatric Cardiology outpatient clinics provides four types of clinical services:  general cardiology clinic, Adult Congenital Heart Disease Clinic (ACHD), anticoagulation clinic and recently initiated is post-surgical cardiac clinic.  

Inpatient services include an exceptional service to children with congenital heart defects for non-invasive assessment and treatment of their cardiac disease.  The labs offers trans-thoracic echocardiography (TEE), 12 lead EKG, Holter monitoring and cardiac-stress testing. 

As part of the Cardiac Center of Excellence at King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Center- Jeddah, the Section of Pediatric Cardiology provides a complete cardiac fetal program.  The service provides a weekly diagnostic clinic, where Level-III fetal echocardiograms are performed.

The invasive cardiac catheterization lab boasts of a robust invasive service provided by the pediatric cardiology team.  It is a state of the art catheterization suite, with innovative technology consisting of two biplane labs and one fully equipped hybrid lab than can be converted into a fully functional operating theatre instantly.

 

2. Pediatric Intensive Care Unit

The Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU) provides care to patient from newborn to 14 years of age.  The unit provides continuous monitoring and/or intervention.  Provides post cardiac-surgery of congenital heart disease patient.  Also provides ECMO which is not available in any other center in the Western Region.

 

3. Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

The NICU in KFHSRC-Jeddah branch is the only NICU in the kingdom and one of the few in the world that provides care for neonate with congenital heart disease and manage these children after cardiac surgery.  The physicians and nurses over the years have built specialty experience to manage such patients

 

4. Pediatric Neurology

The Section of Pediatric Neurology cares for a large number of children with acute chronic and neurological disease affecting.  Conditions that we treat include epilepsy, headache, neuromuscular condition, movement disorders, neuro-cutaneous syndromes, neuro-genetic and neurodegenerative disease cerebral palsy complication of prematurity, spasticity and pediatric stroke.

 

5. Pediatric Pulmonology

The pediatric pulmonary service at King Faisal Specialist Hospital is dedicated to helping children suffering from breathing disorders and lung diseases, including asthma, cystic fibrosis and primary ciliary dyskinesia (a rare genetic condition affecting the lining of the lungs).  Our patients have access to the latest diagnostic testing and provide the latest in treatment and interventions.  When admitted to the pediatric ward, patients with cystic fibrosis are placed on a clinical pathway, in order that all patient receive the standard of care.   The pediatric pulmonologist provide specialized lung function testing for children through the Pediatric Pulmonary Function Laboratory.

 

6. Pediatric Nephrology

Patients are referred for expert tertiary pediatric nephrology services required with either acute or chronic kidney diseases.  The Pediatric Nephrology service provides inpatient management and treatment of the pediatric patient requiring, peritoneal dialysis, hemodialysis, renal biopsy, renal transplant, and other of modalities of renal imaging to help reach a correct diagnosis and treatment plan.  Once a treatment plan is formulated, the patient is followed in the outpatient clinic to ensure treatment compliance and monitor renal function.

 

7. Pediatric Gastroenterology

Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition at King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Center-Jeddah Branch offers a comprehensive evaluation and treatment for children disorders of the digestive system, primarily the esophagus, stomach, small and large intestine, liver, gall bladder, and pancreas.  The mission is to provide the highest quality medical care to our patients in the evaluation and treatment of gastrointestinal, liver, and nutritional disorders.

Our team includes a skilled physician, nurses, and a registered dietician who are dedicated to caring for the physical and emotional needs of children and their families.  Children are admitted to the Pediatric ward for diagnostic procedures and nutritional rehabilitation.

The outpatient gastroenterology clinic at King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Center-Jeddah serves as a referral hub for patient from all over the western region.  Pediatric diseases managed include celiac and gluten-related disorders, food allergies, inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), Bowel issues/functional disorders (constipation, voiding problems and chronic diarrhea), Feeding disorders and Failure to Thrive, Liver and pancreas disorders. In addition post-transplant patient are seen in the clinic.

 

8. Pediatric Rheumatology

The Pediatric Rheumatology service at King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Centre-Jeddah provides in-patient and out-patient evidence-based subspecialty care for all children referred from inside or outside the hospital. The breadth of Rheumatic conditions managed by this service includes autoimmune disorders, auto-inflammatory disorders, and non-inflammatory musculoskeletal disorders.  Autoimmune disorders (Adaptive immunity) such as Juvenile Idiopathic arthritis, Systemic Lupus Erythematosus, Juvenile Dermatomyositis, scleroderma, vasculitis , Uveitis, Acute Rheumatic Fever, and many others are diagnosed and treated.

 

9. Pediatric Allergy and Immunology

Evaluate and treat condition that affect the immune system, these diseases can be congenital and acquired. Medical care to children with congenital immunodeficiency only provided by immunology service solely. Collaboration with hematology/oncology specialists with expertise in hematopoietic stem cell transplant is done for children with congenital immunodeficiency if it is required and indicated. Hypersensitivity responses whether secondary to allergens or idiopathic affecting different body systems like: asthma, allergic rhino-conjunctivitis, food allergy, medications allergies, insect sting allergies, anaphylaxis, urticaria/angioedema, eczema are also assessed and treated using current and dated knowledge.

 

10. Immunology service

Good numbers of patients with primary, secondary immunodeficiencies are managed as in-patients, out-patients and in DPU. Hematopoietic stem cell transplantation were done in collaboration with hematology/oncology to patients with primary immunodeficiencies, that were successful in 3 patients, and one patient did not engraft and was referred to KFSH&RC-Riyadh along with 2 other primary immunodeficiency patients with no matching related donors.

 

11. Allergy & Asthma service

Patient with allergic diseases are seen as in-patient, and outpatient. A special care to asthma clinic was provided to best serve the pediatric asthma patients, by involving the respiratory therapy team to educate the patients with appropriate inhalation techniques and performing spirometry during the clinic visit.

 

12. Pediatric Endocrinology

Pediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes service at King Faisal Hospital and Research Center-Jeddah Branch provides care to patient with complex congenital and acquired endocrine diseases in children and adolescents. The service also tends to children with type 1 and type 2 diabetes mellitus.  Referral cases come primarily come from the Western Region, but from other areas as well for management for their tertiary care diagnosis.

The service comprises of a Pediatric Endocrinologist with the support from the nutrition team and a diabetic educator.  The service provides inpatient consultation and once stable, patients are followed in the outpatient clinics throughout the week.   In addition, many of the patients are treated in the Day Procedure Unit (DPU) for dynamic endocrine testing and for intravenous medications.  In patient consultations and long-term follow up  to   patients who undergo treatment with chemotherapy, head or whole body radiation therapy, bone marrow transplant and neurosurgical patients who survive with high probability of endocrine dysfunction secondary to their treatment. 

 

13. Pediatric Infectious Disease

Pediatric Infectious Diseases in the Department of Pediatrics at King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Center- Jeddah treats children with a wide variety of infections.  Pediatricians specializing in infectious diseases see patients with conditions ranging from common diseases to more serious diseases like HIV/AIDS. 

Infectious Diseases Outpatient Clinic: This clinic provides expert diagnosis and management of infectious disease-related issues. Patients are referred to the clinic by their primary hospital for diagnosis and treatment.  Currently there are 3 clinic per week run by the Pediatric ID service

 

14. Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics

Developmental-Behavioural Pediatrics at King Faisal Specialized Hospital and Research Centre- Jeddah Branch specializes in evaluating and treating children with developmental difficulties and related behavioural challenges. This comprehensive, specialized service is only available in the Department of Paediatrics of King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Center- Jeddah for children with such needs in the Western Region of Saudi Arabia.  The section prides itself in that Dr. Soher Balkhy, is the only certified Developmental Paediatrician in the Western Region of Saudi Arabia.  Junior trainees all over the kingdom come to learn from her expertise.

يتفانى قسم طب الأطفال في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث- فرع جدة لتقديم رعاية شاملة للأطفال حتى عمر 14 عاماً. 
 
و يقدم خدمات واسعة النطاق للمرضى الخارجيين من الرضع والأطفال كمركز إحالة ثالثية لأطفال المنطقة الغربية من المملكة العربية السعودية. جميع أطباء الأطفال لدينا ذوي التخصصات الفرعية حاصلين على شهادة البورد من مراكز معتمدة في أمريكا الشمالية والمملكة المتحدة. 

 

تعتبر رعاية الأطفال أكثر من مجرد علاج طفل مريض، فهي تعنى بتقديم الإجابات والتوجيهات طيلة فترة نمو طفلك. لذلك يجتهد الفريق لبناء صلات دائمة وطويلة الأمد مع الأبوين ليمكنهما تنشئة أطفال آمنين وأصحاء. يتأنى أطباء الأطفال ليقدموا لكم المعلومات التي تحتاجونها لاتخاذ قرارات العلاج وللتفهم الأفضل لحالة طفلكم الطبية.

 

الخدمات

 

1- طب أمراض القلب للأطفال

تقدم العيادات الخارجية لطب أمراض القلب للأطفال أربع أنواع من الخدمات السريرية: عيادة طب أمراض القلب العام، وعيادة أمراض القلب الوراثية للبالغين (ACHD)، وعيادة مضاد التجلط وقد جرى الشروع مؤخرًا في عيادة ما بعد العمليات الجراحية للقلب.  

تتضمن خدمات المرضى المنومين خدمة استثنائية للأطفال المصابين بالعيوب الخِلقية للقلب وذلك للتقييم غير الباضع ولعلاج أمراض قلوبهم.  توفر الفحوصات تخطيط صدى القلب عبر الصدر (TEE)، ورسم القلب الكهربي من 12 قطبًا، والمراقبة بمرقاب هولتر واختبار جهد القلب. 

كجزء من مركز التميز لأمراض القلب بمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث- جدة، فإن قطاع طب أمراض القلب للأطفال يقدم برنامجًا كاملًا لقلب الأجنة.  تقدم الخدمة عيادة تشخيصية أسبوعية، حيث يجرى تخطيط صدى القلب من المستوى الثالث للأجنة.

يضم مختبر القسطرة القلبية الباضعة خدمة باضعة نشيطة يقدمها فريق طب أمراض القلب للأطفال، وهو جناح قسطرة على أحدث ما يكون، مع تقنية مبتكرة تتألف من مختبرين ثنائيي المستوى وأحدهما مختبر مجهز تمامًا يمكن تحويله فورًا إلى غرفة العمليات.

 

2- وحدة العناية المركزة للأطفال

تقدم وحدة العناية المركزة للأطفال (PICU) الرعاية للمريض منذ ولادته وحتى سن 14 عامًا.  توفر الوحدة مراقبة و/أو تدخلًا مستمرًا.  توفر رعاية ما بعد العمليات الجراحية للقلب للمرضى المصابين بأمراض قلبية وراثية.  توفر كذلك جهاز الأكسجة الغشائية خارج الجسم ولا يتاح ذلك في أي مراكز أخرى في المنطقة الغربية.

 

3- وحدة العناية المركزة لحديثي الولادة

وحدة العناية المركزة لحديثي الأطفال في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث-جدة هي وحدة العناية المركزة الوحيدة لحديثي الولادة في المملكة وواحدة من قلائل في العالم،  وتقدم الرعاية لحديثي الولادة المصابين بأمراض القلب الوراثية ولمعالجة هؤلاء الأطفال بعد جراحة القلب.  حصل الأطباء والممرضات بمرور السنوات على خبرة تخصصية لعلاج مثل هؤلاء المرضى.

 

4- طب أعصاب الأطفال

يقوم قطاع طب أعصاب الأطفال على رعاية عدد كبير من الأطفال المصابين بأمراض عصبية.  تتضمن الحالات التي يمكننا علاجها الصرع، والصداع، والحالات العصبية العضلية، واضطرابات الحركة، والمتلازمات العصبية-الجلدية، والأمراض العصبية-الجينية والشلل الدماغي وتشنج العضلات والسكتة الدماغية في الأطفال.

 

5- الطب الرئوي للأطفال

تتفانى خدمة الطب الرئوي للأطفال في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث لمساعدة الأطفال الذين يعانون من اضطرابات تنفسية وأمراض رئوية، بما في ذلك الربو، والتليف الكيسي، وخلل الحركة الهدبي الأولي (حالة وراثية نادرة تؤثر على بطانة الرئتين). كما نوفر لمرضانا أحدث الاختبارات التشخيصية ونقدم لهم أحدث العلاجات والتدخلات.  عند التنويم في قسم طب الأطفال، فإن مرضى التليف الكيسي يوضعون على مسار سريري، وذلك ليتبقى جميع المرضى رعاية قياسية.  يوفر اختصاصي الطب الرئوي للأطفال اختبارات الوظيفة الرئوية للأطفال عن طريق مختبر الوظيفة الرئوية للأطفال.

 

6- طب أمراض الكلى للأطفال

يحال المرضى للخدمات الاحترافية الثالثية لطب أمراض الكلى للأطفال المطلوبة لعلاج كل من أمراض الكلى الحادة أو المزمنة.  تقدم خدمة طب أمراض الكلى للأطفال معالجة المرضى المنومين وعلاجًا للطفل المريض الذي يتطلب الغسيل الكلوي البريتوني، والغسيل الكلوي الدموي، والخزعة الكلوية، وزراعة الكلية، وغير ذلك من أساليب تصوير الكليتين للمساعدة في التوصل للتشخيص و لخطة علاج سليمة. متى أنشئت خطة علاج، فستجرى متابعة المريض في العيادة الخارجية لضمان التزامه بالعلاج ولمراقبة الوظيفة الكلوية.

 

7- طب الجهاز الهضمي للأطفال

يوفر طب الجهاز الهضمي والتغذية بمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث-فرع جدة تقييمًا وعلاجًا شاملًا لاضطرابات الأطفال والجهاز الهضمي للأطفال، وخاصةً المريء، والمعدة، والأمعاء الدقيقة والغليظة، والكبد، والمرارة، والبنكرياس. رسالتنا هي تقديم رعاية طبية على أعلى مستوى من الجودة لمرضانا في تقييم وعلاج اضطرابات الجهاز الهضمي، والكبد، والتغذية.

يتضمن فريقنا طبيبًا ماهرًا، وممرضات، واختصاصي تغذية مرخص يتفانون في القيام برعاية الاحتياجات البدنية والعاطفية للأطفال ولعائلاتهم.  ينوم الأطفال في قسم طب الأطفال للإجراءات التشخيصية ولإعادة التأهيل التغذوية.

تلعب العيادة الخارجية لطب الجهاز الهضمي في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث-جدة دورًا كمركز يحال إليه المرضى من جميع أنحاء المنطقة الغربية.  تتضمن أمراض الأطفال التي نعالجها داء البطن والاضطرابات المتعلقة بالغلوتين، وحساسية الطعام، ومرض الأمعاء الالتهابي (IBD)، والمشاكل المعوية/الاضطرابات الوظيفية (الإمساك، ومشكلات الإفراغ والإسهال المزمن)، واضطرابات الأكل وفشل الازدهار، واضطرابات الكبد والبنكرياس. كذلك تجرى مقابلة المرضى بعد الزراعة في العيادة.

 

8- طب الروماتيزم للأطفال

تقدم خدمة طب الروماتيزم للأطفال في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث-جدة رعاية التخصصات الفرعية القائمة على الأدلة للمرضى الداخليين والخارجيين لجميع الأطفال المحالين من داخل المستشفى أو من خارجه. يتضمن نطاق الحالات الروماتيزمية التي تعالجهاهذه الخدمة الاضطرابات المناعية الذاتية، والاضطرابات الالتهابية الذاتية، والاضطرابات العضلية الهيكلية غير الالتهابية.  يجرى تشخيص وعلاج كل من الاضطرابات المناعية الذاتية (المناعة التكيفية) كالتهاب المفاصل الطفلي مجهول السبب، والذئبة الحمراء الجهازية، والتهاب الجلد والعضلات الطفلي، والتصلب الجلدي، والتهاب الأوعية الدموية، والتهاب القزحية، والحمى الروماتيزمية الحادة، والكثير غيرها.

 

9- طب الحساسية والمناعة للأطفال

يقيم ويعالج الحالات التي تؤثر على الجهاز المناعي، وقد تكون هذه الأمراض وراثية ومكتسبة. يقتصر تقديم الرعاية الطبية للأطفال المصابين بالعوز المناعي الوراثي فقط على خدمة طب المناعة فقط لا غير. يجرى التعاون مع أخصائيي أمراض الدم/طب الأورام ذوي الخبرة بمجال زراعة الخلايا الجذعية للأطفال المصابين بالعوز المناعي الوراثي إن كان مكتسبًا وإن كان ذلك لازمًا. يجرى كذلك تقييم وعلاج استجابات فرط الحساسية سواءً كانت نتيجة لمستثيرات الحساسية أو مجهولة السبب والتي تؤثر على مختلف أجهزة الجسم مثل: الربو، والالتهاب التحسسي بالأنف والملتحمة، وحساسية الطعام، والحساسيات للأدوية، وحساسيات لدغ الحشرات، والإعورار المناعي، والشري/الوذمة الوعائية، والإكزيمة باستخدام أحدث المعارف الحالية والحديثة.

 

10- خدمة طب المناعة

تعالج أعداد كبيرة من المرضى بالعوز المناعي الأولي والثانوي سواءً كمرضى داخليين أو خارجيين في وحدة عمليات اليوم الواحد. تجرى زراعة الخلايا الجذعية المكونة للأم بالتعاون مع خدمة أمراض الدم/طب الأورام للمرضى المصابين بالعوز المناعي الأولي، وقد كان ذلك ناجحًا في 3 مرضى، ولم يتم تطعيم مريض واحد أحيل إلى مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث-الرياض مع مريضين آخرين بالعوز المناعي الأولي دون متبرعين متوافقين من أقربائهم.

 

11- خدمة الحساسية والربو

تجرى مقابلة مرضى المصابين بالأمراض التحسسية كمرضى داخليين، وخارجيين. كانت هناك رعاية خاصة لعيادة الربو للخدمة المثلى للأطفال المرضى بالربو، عن طريق إشراك فريق العلاج التنفسي لتعليم المرضى التقنيات السليمة للاستنشاق والقيام بقياس التنفس خلال زيارة العيادة.

 

12- طب الغدد الصماء للأطفال

تقدم خدمة طب الغدد الصماء والسكري في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث-فرع جدة الرعاية لمرضى أمراض الغدد الصماء الوراثية والمكتسبة في الأطفال والمراهقين. تعني تلك الخدمة كذلك بالأطفال المصابين بالسكري من النوعين الأول والثاني.  تأتي الحالات المحالة بصفة رئيسية من المنطقة الغربية، ولكنها تأتي كذلك من مناطق أخرى لمعالجة تشخيص الرعاية الثالثة الخاص بهم.

تتألف الخدمة من طبيب غدد صماء للأطفال يدعمه فريق التغذية ومعلم السكري.  تقدم هذه الخدمة الاستشارة ومتى استقرت حالات المرضى تجرى متابعتهم في العيادات الخارجية على مدار الأسبوع.   كذلك، فإن العديد من المرضى يعالجون في وحدة إجراءات اليوم الواحد (DPU) للاختبارات الديناميكية للغدد الصماء وللأدوية الوريدية.  استشارات المرضى الداخليين ومتابعة المرضى الخاضعين للعلاج الكيميائي، أو العلاج الإشعاعي الشامل للجسم، أو زراعة النخاع العظمي ومرضى جراحة الأعصابممن نجوا مع أرجحية عالية للقصور الوظيفي بالغدد الصماء نتيجة لعلاجهم. 

 

13- طب الأمراض المعدية للأطفال

تعالج خدمة طب الأمراض المعدية للأطفال في قسم طب الأطفال بمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث-جدة الأطفال المصابين بأنواع واسعة النطاق من العدوى.  يقوم أطباء الأطفال المتخصصين في الأمراض المعدية بمقابلة المرضى الذين يعانون من حالات تتراوح بين الأمراض العادية والأمراض الأكثر خطورة كفيروس العوز المناعي البشري/متلازمة العوز المناعي المكتسب (الإيدز). 

 

14- العيادة الخارجية للأمراض المعدية

تقدم هذه العيادة التشخيص والعلاج الاحترافي للمشاكل المتعلقة بالأمراض المعدية. يحال المرضى للعيادة من مستشفاهم الأولي للتشخيص والعلاج.  توجد حاليًا 3 عيادات في كل أسبوع تديرها خدمة الأمراض المعدية للأطفال.

 

15- طب الأطفال النمائي والسلوكي

تتخصص خدمة طب الأطفال النمائي-السلوكي في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث-فرع جدة في تقييم وعلاج الأطفال المصابين بصعوبات النمو وما يتعلق بذلك من تحديات سلوكية. لا تتوفر هذه الخدمة الشاملة والمتخصصة إلا في قسم طب الأطفال بمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث –فرع جدة للأطفال ذوي هذه الاحتياجات في المنطقة الغربية بالمملكة العربية السعودية.  يفخر هذا القطاع بوجود د. سهير البلخي فيه، وهي الوحيدة الحاصة على ترخيص كاختصاصية طب الأطفال النمائي في المنطقة الغربية للمملكة العربية السعودية.  يحضر المتدربون المبتدئين من كل أنحاء المملكة للتعلم من خبراتها.