Obstetrics & Gynecology

 

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Center, Riyadh is a tertiary care center providing up-to-date evaluation and management in Maternal-Fetal Medicine, Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, and Gynecologic Oncology patients.

Our staff has special qualifications and experience in dealing with high risk antenatal cases, difficult gynecology and obstetrics surgical procedures, and provide care for couples with infertility problems and those with a variety of genetic disorders through a dedicated pre-implantation genetic diagnosis program.

 

 

The department is composed of three sections:  

Maternal Fetal Medicine (MFM)

The Section of MFM handles all types of high risk pregnancies with fetal and maternal complications, facilitate high standards excellent obstetrical care in the community, and embrace contemporary and innovative knowledge and technology in an ethical manner.

Our role in patient care

Members of the division provide services for maternal and fetal complications of pregnancy. Medical complications include chronic hypertension, diabetes, cardiac disease, venous thromboembolic disorders, hematological disorders, pulmonary diseases, gastrointestinal disorders, renal disease, collagen vascular disease and neoplastic disease. The team manages these problems in active collaboration with other specialties and programs such as internal medicine, endocrinology, gastroenterology, immunology, microbiology, thromboembolic and hematology.

Pregnancy complications such as preterm labor, preterm rupture of the membranes, pregnancy induced hypertension, eclampsia, chorioamnionitis, placental abruption, and other obstetrical complications are managed by expert staff.

Fetal complications such as Rh isoimmunization, intrauterine growth restriction, macrosomia, polyhydramnios, oligohydramnios, multiple-pregnancy, evidenced of fetal compromise, fetal malformations and other fetal/placental disorders are referred to our section from all over the kingdom. Prenatal diagnosis, genetics and fetal dysmorphology services are available for the prenatal detection, evaluation and counseling of patients and/or pregnancies at risk of or complicated by fetal malformations, chromosomal and genetic disorders. Procedures offered include invasive prenatal diagnostic procedures: chorionic villous sampling, amniocentesis, fetal blood sampling and fetal tissue sampling. Non-invasive prenatal screening with nuchal translucency and detailed advanced ultrasound evaluation using state of art ultrasound equipment with 3D/4D scans. When fetal anomalies are identified, we provide a team approach for the care of the fetus and the mother during the course of pregnancy and the postnatal period. The team is unique to each case but often includes neonatology, medical genetics and dysmorphology, pediatric nephrology, pediatric neurosurgery, pediatric cardiology and/or pediatric surgery.

 The fetal therapy program was developed for the in-utero management of complicated fetal problems such as Twin-Twin Transfusion Syndrome, fetal diaphragmatic hernia and other conditions which if left untreated will lead to increased perinatal mortality.

 

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility (REI)

The Infertility/IVF Unit performs the latest Assisted Reproductive Technologies (ART) from conventional IVF to all types of micromanipulation techniques. Pre-implantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD) is one of the unique hi-tech services offered by IVF unit.

Our clinical work includes some of the world’s finest technicians and physicians who have pioneered new innovations and been honored for their outstanding contributions to the field of reproductive medicine. We accept referral cases for diagnosis, and treatment of endocrine and reproductive disorders including abnormal menses, amenorrhea, infertility, recurrent early pregnancy loss, ovulatory problems, uterine or tubal abnormalities. And for Men’s Fertility Services, we provide Semen analysis, Sperm preparation for intra-uterine insemination, andrology testing, Urology referrals.

Therapies may include hormonal and/or surgical treatment or advanced technologies such as In Vitro Fertilization IVF and ICSI (Intra-Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection).

Our role in patient care

Controlled Ovarian-stimulation, In Vitro fertilization, ICSI intracytoplasmic sperm injection, cryopreservation, and pre-implantation genetic diagnosis PGD a well-organized program.

The REI Laboratory

Our andrology laboratory uses CASA (Computer Assisted Semen Analyzer)—another example of cutting edge technology in the laboratory, headed by leading medical technologists.

 

Gynecology and Gynecologic Oncology

The Division of Gynecologic Oncology delivers an up to date care to women with all types of gynecologic malignancies. The services include cancer screening, early diagnosis as well as surgical and medical management of all gynecologic cancer cases as a premiere treatment institution in our field and the quality of care provided by KFSHRC-Riyadh to cover all referral cases of suspected or diagnosed gynecological malignancies.

Our staff of Gynecologic Oncologists are all board-certified women’s cancer specialists who are qualified and experienced in advanced medical and surgical training in treatment of gynecological malignancies. They provide unified, comprehensive medical and surgical care to women with reproductive-tract cancers from diagnosis to completion of treatment in liaison with other specialties in multidisciplinary approach e.g. medical oncologists, radiation oncologists and other supportive care.

Our role in patient care

Women who have recently been diagnosed with gynecologic cancer, including cervical, endometrial, ovarian, uterine, vaginal, and vulvar cancer, or Gynceological cancer during pregnancy, all receive treatment at our division. We also provide treatment for uterine sarcoma, molar pregnancy and all types of gestational trophoblastic disease.

Our approach for comprehensive management of our patients is of multidisciplinary effort, thru weekly tumor board meetings with our colleagues, medical and radiation oncologist, histopathologist and radiologist, advanced practice nursing, state of art diagnostic imaging medical oncology, social workers, and nutrition.

 

OB ULTRASOUND UNIT

We work to identify potential obstetrical or fetal problems as early as possible and provide clinically relevant diagnoses of fetal anomalies.

Our staff include highly trained experienced Sonographers in level III obstetrics scans. The unit is run and supervised by Maternal Fetal Medicine subspecialist consultants who provide patients’ counseling, plan further management and care for high risk pregnancies especially if fetal abnormalities are diagnosed.

Dignostic imaging:

We offer non-invasive screening for various genetic/ metabolic / cardiac and aneuploidy using Nuchal translucency scans at 11-14 weeks gestation, detailed early  anatomy scan offered from 16-18weeks for those at very high risk for recurrence of severe fetal anomalies, routine level III anatomical evaluation is done routinely at 20-22 weeks scan were uterine artery Doppler as screening for placental insufficiency is carried out in high risk patients,  serial growth scans with fetal well-being tests including fetal arterial , venous Doppler and Biophysical profile is done for high risk patients. Placental anomalies, abnormal placentation, hematomas and fibroids, evaluation of uterine cervix all were evaluated thoroughly. All the above offered also for multi-fetal pregnancy.

Annually we are doing 8000-9000 ultrasound examinations.

 

Innovative Achievements

Section of Gynecology Oncology:

1.Robotic Surgery

In gynecology is one of the fastest growing fields of robotic surgery. Robot-assisted surgery was developed to overcome limitations of minimally invasive surgery; it can be used to treat fibroids, endometriosis, ovarian tumors, pelvic prolapse, and female cancers. Using the robotic system, our gynecologists performed hysterectomies, myomectomies, and lymph node biopsies. The need for large abdominal incisions is virtually eliminated.

2.Laparoscopic Oophoropexy for Ovarian Function Reservation in Cancer Patient with New Techniques Such Single Port Laparoscopy

Minimally invasive technique for ovarian transposition (oophoropexy) can offered to any age premenopausal women with Hodgkins disease, brain tumors, cervical, vaginal, and others who is undergoing total Lymph Node Irradiation (TNI) deliver as a dose of 200-400 Centigray (CGY) It is safe and effective procedure for ovarian function preservation.

3.Intra-Operative Radiation Therapy (IORT)

In patients with recurrent gynecologic cancers in the pelvic sidewalls, para aortic or pelvic lymph nodes, the use of aggressive surgery and IORT appeals beneficial. Our colleagues with the surgical oncology and radiation oncology helped in establishing this new approach in gynecology oncology section.

4.Cytoreductive Surgery (CRS) and Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy (HIPEC)

It became to be an important and potential curative treatment for intra-abdominal metastases for both advanced primary and recurrent ovarian and peritoneal cancers.

Our Section with the collaboration of surgical oncology team succeeded in achieving a combined program with very promising results.

 

Section of Maternal Fetal Medicine-Fetal Therapy Program

Established end of 2007 and the first case of Fetoscopic laser coagulation for stage III Twin to twin transfusion syndrome was performed early 2008.  The program is active in accepting patients from all over the kingdom and from the neighbouring Gulf region for evaluation of fetal pathology, and intervention when indicated.

 

As the program has expanded, a clinical coordinator joined the team, and a specialized clinic was opened to receive all the new referrals.  Cases will be evaluated through the Fetal Therapy team which consists of the Maternal Fetal Medicine subspecialists, neurosurgeons, pediatric cardiologists, neonatologist, and clinical coordinators.  All newly referred patients will be seen and evaluated by the appropriate team members and the plan of care will be explained and documented.  Patients requiring further testing or therapy will be scheduled for the procedures if indicated, another counselling session will be conducted with the family, the findings explained, the plan of care explained, the complete reports provided, and the patients could be referred back to their referring hospital for further pregnancy and delivery care.

 

Section of Reproductive Endocrinology Infertility

Pre-implantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD)

Preventing disease is a standard goal of medicine. PGD provides an early genetic diagnosis for an embryo before it is implanted into the uterus. It is an effective method to prevent the transmission of hereditary diseases to the next generations in the families with single gene disorders or chromosomal abnormalities. PGD requires combined expertise in the field of reproductive medicine together with molecular genetics and/or cytogenetic. It involves two stages: Firstly; IVF for ovarian stimulation, monitoring and timing of oocyte retrieval, fertilization and embryo biopsy. Secondly; a genetic diagnosis that is reliable and efficient is necessary to report the result in early enough time for embryo transfer to take place in the same cycle.

Reason for referrals, patient counselling, specialized genetic counselling:

Couples referred for PGD are at risk of having a pregnancy affected with a known genetic disease, the majority of them at least have one affected child of their own or in the close family. The available reproductive option for them was prenatal diagnosis, which remains an unsatisfactory solution for some couples at high genetic risk, e.g. couples who had undergone repeated termination of affected pregnancies often ask for diagnosis prior to pregnancy. Furthermore, the couples that find termination of pregnancy unacceptable for religious, emotional, and social reasons also ask for PGD. Such couples feel that starting a healthy pregnancy using PGD is the only option for them since pregnancy termination is particularly distressing.

There is also a group of patients who are sub-fertile, or with previous pregnancy with chromosomal abnormality, or had repeated miscarriages, recurrent implantation failure following IVF cycles, or for those mothers with advanced maternal age, PGD and  Preimplantation Genetic Screening (PGS) allows the screening for chromosomal abnormalities.

Another group of patients suffers from cancer predisposition such hereditary breast and/or ovarian cancer, or had inherited some genes that develops cancers such as the Familial adenomatous polyposis A genes (colon cancer). Most of the cancer patients receive radiotherapy/chemotherapy as part of their treatments which may permanently affect their fertility.  Therefore, IVF/ PGD cycles help them to diagnose the embryos, and those healthy embryos which do not have the cancer causing mutations can be transferred to the mother in order to initiate diseased free pregnancy. For those patients underwent radiotherapy/chemotherapy, fertility preservation is highly recommended as a part of the treatment supported with PGD following fertilization, where healthy embryos can be frozen and consider for transfer after completing the radiotherapy/chemotherapy treatments.

 

Acceptance criteria

Patients should meet the admission criteria outlined by the IVF clinic, and a clear genetic report should be provided by the referring physician.

 

Current Status or PGD service

No of families request the PGD service: 1550   families

No of diseases: 320 disease

No of cases performed: 1395 cycles

 

 The above information summarized the number of cases referred for the IVF/ PGD treatments and cycles performed. KFSHRC is considered as Tertiary care hospital “referral laboratory” therefore we also do accept cases from different IVF centers and hospitals within the country. Additionally this kind of service is not one time treatment, the chances of take home baby following IVF/ PGD cycle is 30-40%, which more or equal to traditional IVF cycle. Couples within the reproductive age will keep on requesting PGD until they reach the desired number of family.

 

Fluorescent in situ hybridization (FISH) is a technique used most often for preimplantation genetic screening (PGS) and for chromosomal rearrangements, while Polymerase chain reaction (PCR) is used for single gene disorders. The most up-to-date techniques Array Comparative Genome Hybridization (CGH-Array) and single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) array “karyomapping” has been implemented.

 

Social impact

  • Psychosocial burden for couples before requesting PGD: ?Some couples are confused regarding the inheritance “Some believed that marrying their cousin was the reason of having an affected child, where others believed that it was inherited from one parent (most thought it was inherited from the mother side) These couples will require specialist genetic counseling.
  • Others showed various levels of guilt, and self-blame for their child’s condition, mainly because they were married to their cousin and did not undergo premarital screening “ which will not help for disease other than hemoglobinopathies (inherited blood disorders results in abnormal structure of one of the globin chains of the hemoglobin molecule).
  • They also complain from difficulties in family adjustments, which affect their social life, and stigmatization.
  • Most of them feel the anxiety toward IVF cycle being fertile couple. Therefore, couples had to be educated and counselled about IVF/ PGD cycle, the nature of the inherited disease, their reproductive options and the risk associated with the treatment.

 

Economic burden

In the absence of prevention, successful management can have unexpected cost implications, affected people survive into adult life instead of dying in childhood and at the same time as a new patients continued to be born. Therefore, the average cost of patient care is expected to rise annually multiplied by the annual births of newly diseased offspring. Prevention helps to contain the number of affected people reducing the overall treatment cost and it has priceless impact on the families.

قسم النساء والولادة في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث في الرياض هو مركز رعاية تخصصية يقدم أحدث خدمات التقييم والمعالجة في طب الولادة والأجنّة، والغدد الصماء التناسلية والعقم، ومرضى الأورام النسائية.

 

ويمتلك طاقمنا الطبي مؤهلات وخبرات خاصة في التعامل مع الحالات المعرضة لمخاطر عالية قبل الولادة، والعمليات الجراحية الصعبة في طب النساء والولادة، كما نقدّم الرعاية للأزواج الذين يعانون من مشكلات العقم والاضطرابات الجينية وذلك من خلال برنامج تشخيص جيني سابق للانغراس مخصص لهذا الغرض.

 

يتألف القسم من ثلاث شعب:

  • طب الولادة والأجنّة (MFM)

وتختص شعبة طب الولادة والأجنّة بمعالجة جميع أنواع حالات الحمل ذات المخاطر العالية والتي تنطوي على تعقيدات ومضاعفات على الجنين والأم. وتستخدم وحدة العقم/الإخصاب في المختبر (IVF) أحدث التقنيات التناسلية المساعدة (ART) بدءاً من الإخصاب في المختبر التقليدي ووصولاً إلى جميع أنواع أساليب التقنيات المجهرية أو الحقن المجهري. ويعدّ التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس (PGD) إحدى الخدمات الفريدة عالية التقنية التي تقدمها وحدة الإخصاب في المختبر. أما شعبة الأورام النسائية فتقدم رعاية حديثة للنساء اللاتي يعانين من جميع أنواع الأورام والسرطانات الخبيثة النسائية. وتتضمن الخدمات الفحص والتشخيص المبكر للسرطان وكذلك المعالجة الجراحية والطبية لجميع حالات السرطان في طب النساء.

يقدم الأفراد العاملون في الشعبة خدمات لمضاعفات الحمل لدى الأم والجنين. وتشمل هذه المضاعفات ارتفاع الضغط المزمن، والسكري، وأمراض القلب، والاضطرابات الانصمامية الخثارية السامة، والاضطرابات الدموية، والأمراض الرئوية، واضطرابات الهضم، وأمراض الكلى، والمرض الوعائي الكولاجيني والأورام. ويعالج طاقم العمل هذه المشكلات بالتعاون والتنسيق مع التخصصات والبرامج الأخرى مثل الطب الباطني، وطب الغدد الصماء، وطب الجهاز الهضمي، وطب المناعة، و علم لالأحياء المجهري، والتجلطات وأمراض الدم.

كما يقوم طاقمنا المتمرس بالتعامل مع مضاعفات وتعقيدات الحمل مثل المخاض المبكر، والتمزق المبكر للأغشية، وارتفاع ضغط الدم بسبب الحمل، والتشنج أو الارتعاج الحملي، والتهاب المشيمة والسلى، والانفصال المشيمي المفاجئ، والمضاعفات الأخرى للولادة.

وتستقبل الشعبة لدينا إحالات من جميع أنحاء المملكة تتعلق بالمضاعفات الجنينية مثل التمنيع الراهائي الإسوي، واقتطاع النمو داخل الرحم، والعملقة، وموه السلى، وقلة السلى، والحمل المتعدد، الدالة على الضرر الجنيني، والتشوهات الجنينية والاضطرابات الجنينية/المشيمية الأخرى. وتتوفر خدمات التشخيص قبل الولادة، والوراثيات والتشوهات الجنينية من أجل الاكتشاف قبل الولادة والتقييم وتقديم المشورة للمرضى و/أو حالات الحمل المعرضة لمخاطر أو مضاعفات التشوهات الجنينية والاضطرابات الصبغية أو الوراثية. وتتضمن الإجراءات المقدمة إجراءات التشخيص ذي التدخل الجراحي لفترة ما قبل الولادة: أخذ العينات من الزغابات المشيمية، وبزل السلى، وأخذ العينات من الدم الجنيني وأخذ العينات من الأنسجة الجنينية، وفحص دون تدخل جراحي في فترة ما قبل الولادة بشفافية قفوية وتقييم تفصيلي متقدم بالأشعة فوق الصوتية باستخدام أحدث أجهزة الأشعة فوق الصوتية بمسح ثلاثي الأبعاد/رباعي الأبعاد. وعند اكتشاف اختلالات جنينية، فإننا نتبع نهجاً تعاوناً فريداً لرعاية الجنين والأم خلال فترة الحمل وما بعد الولادة إذ تتضافر جهود أخصائيي طب حديثي الولادة، والوراثيات الطبية والتشوهات، وطب الكلى للأطفال، والجراحة العصبية للأطفال، وطب القلب للأطفال وجراحة الأطفال.

 وقد تمّ تطوير برنامج علاج للأجنة بهدف التعامل مع المشكلات الجنينية المعقدة داخل الرحم مثل متلازمة نقل الدم بين التوأمين، والفتق الحجابي الجنيني وحالات أخرى، والتي قد تؤدي إلى زيادة معدلات الوفيات في الفترة المحيطة بالولادة في حال لم يتمّ علاجها.

 

  • الغدد الصماء التناسلية والعقم (REI)

يجمع قسمنا ما بين الخبرة الأكاديمية والعلمية والفنية ما مكّننا من تأسيس أحد أفضل برامج الخصوبة والأقسام السريرية في البلاد. ويشارك كل من أخصائيو الغدد الصماء التناسلية والعلماء الأطباء لدينا بشكل فعال في الأبحاث، السريرية والأساسية على حد سواء، وكذلك في تدريب الأطباء المقيمين وأطباء الزمالات التخصصية في هذا المجال المتخصص. ويقوم بالأعمال السريرية طاقم يضمّ أفضل الفنيين والأطباء في العالم ممن حققوا إنجازات ريادية ومبتكرة وحصلوا على التكريم بفضل مساهماتهم المتميزة في مجال الطب التناسلي. ونستقبل في شعبة طب الغدد الصماء التناسلية والعقم حالات الإحالة لتشخيص وعلاج اضطرابات الغدد الصماء والاضطرابات التناسلية، بما فيها الحيض غير الطبيعي أو انقطاع الحيض (الضهى) أو العقم أو فقدان الحمل المبكر المتكرر أو المشكلات الإباضية أو الاختلالات الرحمية أو البوقية. وعلى صعيد خدمات الخصوبة بالنسبة للرجال، نقدم تحليل المنيّ وتحضير السائل المنوي للتخصيب والإمناء داخل الرحم، واختبارات طب الذكورة، وكذلك إحالات طب المسالك البولية.

ومن الممكن أن تشمل العلاجات العلاج الهرموني و/أو الجراحي أو التقنيات المتقدمة مثل الإخصاب في المختبر طفل الأنابيب (IVF) و حقن الحيوانات المنوية في البويضة ICSI.

دورنا في رعاية المرضى

يتألف البرنامج المنظم من التنبيه المبيضي المراقب، والإخصاب في المختبر، وحقن السائل المنوي داخل البويضة (ICSI)، والحفظ بالبرودة، والتشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس (PGD).

مختبر طب الغدد الصماء التناسلية والعقم

يستخدم مختبر طب الذكورة "محلل المنيّ بمساعدة الكمبيوتر" (CASA) – وهو مثال آخر على التكنولوجيا المتقدمة في المختبر، ويتولى رئاسته نخبة من الأطباء الفنيين الرواد.

 

  •  طب النساء والأورام النسائية

نحن نفخر بالمكانة التي نتبوأها كمؤسسة علاجية ممتازة في مجالنا وبجودة الرعاية التي تقدمها مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث في الرياض والتي تغطي جميع الحالات المُحالة المشتبه في إصابتها بالأورام والسرطانات الخبيثة النسائية أو تمّ تشخيص إصابتها بهذه الأمراض.

ويضمّ طاقم أخصائيي طب الأورام النسائية لدينا أخصائيين في سرطان النساء معتمدون من المجالس الطبية المتخصصة وعلى قدرٍ عالٍ من التأهيل والخبرة في التدريب الطبي والجراحي المتقدم لعلاج الأورام والسرطانات الخبيثة النسائية، ويقدمون رعاية طبية وجراحية شاملة وموحدة إلى النساء المصابات بسرطان الجهاز التناسلي بدءاً من التشخيص وحتى إتمام العلاج بالتنسيق مع التخصصات الأخرى باستخدام نهج متعدد التخصصات، على سبيل المثال تضافر جهود أطباء الأورام وأخصائيي أشعة الأورام والرعاية الأخرى الداعمة.

دورنا في رعاية المرضى

نقدم العلاج في شعبتنا إلى النساء اللاتي تمّ تشخيص إصابتهن بالأورام السرطانية النسائية والتي تشمل سرطان عنق الرحم، وبطانة الرحم، والمبايض، والرحم، والمهبل، والفرج، أو أي ورم سرطاني نسائي خلال الحمل. كما نقدم أيضاً المعالجة أورام الرحم الخبيثة والحمل العنقودي وكافة أنواع أمراض الأرومة الغاذية الحملية ( الخلايا "الجذعية" المشيمية).

ويتسم نهجنا في المعالجة الشاملة لمرضانا بأنه جهد متعدد التخصصات، حيث يتم من خلال اجتماعات مجالس أسبوعية للأورام مع زملائنا من أطباء الأورام وأشعة الأورام وأخصائي التشريح المرضي وأخصائي الأشعة، والتمريض، وأحدث طرق الأشعة التشخيصية في طب الأورام، والأخصائيين الاجتماعيين والتغذية.

 

 

وحدة الموجات فوق الصوتية لطب الولادة

يعدّ مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث في الرياض مركزاً للرعاية التخصصية، كما يعدّ مركزاً للإحالة في المملكة. ونحن نعمل جاهدين لتحديد مشكلات التوليد أو المشكلات الجنينية في أقرب وقت ممكن، مع تقديم التشخيصات السريرية ذات الصلة للاختلالات الجنينية.

ويتضمن فريق عملنا أخصائيي أشعة بالموجات فوق الصوتية من ذوي الخبرة والتدريب العالي في فحوصات التوليد من المستوى الثالث. ويتولى إدارة الوحدة والإشراف عليها استشاريون متخصصون في طب الأمومة والأجنّة يقدمون الاستشارات للمرضى، بالإضافة إلى إدارة ورعاية حالات الحمل عالية الخطورة ولا سيما في حالة تشخيص وجود اختلالات جنينية.

الأشعة التشخيصية

نحن نقدم فحصاً دون تدخل جراحي للعديد من الاختلالات الجينية / الأيضية (الاستقلابية) / القلبية وكذلك اختلالات الصيغة الصبغية وذلك باستخدام عمليات الفحص الشفوفية القفوية خلال مرحلة الحمل من 11 – 14 أسبوعاً، والفحص التشريحي المبكر التفصيلي والذي يتمّ خلال فترة من 16 – 18 أسبوعاً للحالات التي تعاني من مخاطر مرتفعة للغاية لتكرار الاختلالات الجينية الشديدة، كما يتم إجراء التقييم التشريحي الروتيني من المستوى الثالث بصورة روتينية خلال فحص فترة 20 – 22 أسبوعاً من الحمل، حيث يتم إجراء أشعة دوبلر على الشريان الرحمي كفحص لقصور المشيمة عند المريضات ذات المخاطر العالية. ويتم إجراء فحوصات النمو المتسلسلة مع اختبارات سلامة الجنين بما في ذلك أشعة دوبلر على شرايين وأوردة الجنين وبروفيل فيزيائي حيوي للجنين وذلك للمريضات ذات المخاطر العالية. ويتم أيضاً إجراء تقييم دقيق لكل من الاختلالات المشيمية والتكوّن غير الطبيعي للمشيمة والورم الدموي والورم الليفي، فضلاً عن تقييم عنق الرحم. كما يتمّ تقديم كل ما سبق في حالات الحمل بأجنّة متعددة.

  • نقوم بإجراء 8000 – 9000 فحص بالموجات فوق الصوتية سنوياً.
  • شعبة طب الغدد الصماء التناسلية والعقم

 

 

الإنجازات المبتكرة:

شعبة طب أورام النساء 

  • الجراحة الروبوتية

يُعتبر طب النساء أحد أسرع المجالات نمواً فيما يتعلق بالجراحة الروبوتية. وقد تمّ تطوير الجراحة بمساعدة الروبوت للتغلب على قيود العمليات الجراحية ذات التدخل الجراحي المحدود؛ ويمكن اللجوء إليها لعلاج الأورام الليفية والانتباذ البطاني الرحمي والأورام المبيضية والتدلي الحضوي، وغيرها من العمليات الجراحية الأخرى المرتبطة بالسرطان. وباستخدام النظام الروبوتي، يقوم أطباء النساء لدينا بإجراء عمليات استئصال الرحم واستئصال العضلة وخزعات العقد اللمفية. وهكذا، يتم فعلياً الاستغناء عن عمليات شق البطن.

  • تثبيت المبيض بالمنظار للحفاظ على وظيفة المبايض عند مرضى السرطان باستخدام الأساليب الحديثة مثل تنظير البطن أحادي المنفذ.

يستخدم هذا الأسلوب ذي التدخل الجراحي المحدود لتغيير وضع المبيض (تثبيت المبيض) لأي سيدة في سن سابق لليأس وتعاني من مرض هودجكين، وأورام عنق الرحم والمهبل وغيرها من السيدات اللاتي يخضعن لإشعاع العقد اللمفية (TNI) بجرعة تبلغ 200 – 400 سنتيغراي (CGY). وهو إجراء آمن وفعال للحفاظ على وظيفة المبايض.

  • العلاج الإشعاعي أثناء العملية (IORT)

بالنسبة للمريضات المصابات بسرطانات نسائية راجعة في جدران الحوض أو العقد اللمفية المجاورة للأبهر أو العقد اللمفية الحوضية، فقد أثبتت الجراحة والعلاج الإشعاعي أثناء العملية جدوى كبيرة. وقد ساهم فريق عملنا من جراحي الأورام وأخصائيي العلاج الإشعاعي في إرساء دعائم هذا النهج الجديد في شعبة طب أورام النساء.

  • الجراحة الاختزالية الخلوية (CRS) والعلاج الكيماوي داخل الصفاق الحموي (HIPEC)

أثبتت الجراحة الاختزالية الخلوية والعلاج الكيماوي داخل الصفاق الحموي أهميتها كعلاج شاف ومحتمل للنقائل الموجودة داخل البطن في حالات السرطان الأولية المتقدمة والسرطانات الصفاقية والمبيضية الراجعة.

وقد نجحت شعبتنا بالتعاون مع فريق جراحة الأورام في تنفيذ برنامج مشترك مع تحقيق نتائج مبشرة جداً.

 

شعبة طب الولادة والأجنة وبرنامج علاج الأجنة

خلال البرنامج الذي تمّ تأسيسه في 2007، تمّ إجراء الحالة الأولى من تجلط الدم بالليزر لتنظير الأجنة لمتلازمة نقل الدم لتوأم من المرحلة الثالثة وكان ذلك في أوائل 2008. ويعمل البرنامج بشكل نشط وفعال على استقبال المرضى من كل أنحاء المملكة ومن دول منطقة الخليج المجاورة وذلك لتقييم علم أمراض الأجنة والتدخل عند تحديد ذلك.

ومع توسع البرنامج، انضم منسق سريري إلى فريق العمل، كما تمّ افتتاح عيادة متخصصة لاستقبال كل الإحالات الجديدة، وسوف يتمّ تقييم الحالات من خلال فريق علاج الأجنّة والذي يضمّ أخصائيين في طب الولادة والأجنّة وجراحي أعصاب وأطباء قلب الأطفال وأخصائيي طب حديثي الولادة ومنسقين سريريين. كما يتم تقديم الاستشارات لكل المرضى المحالين حديثاً وتقييمهم بواسطة أعضاء الفريق الطبي، مع شرح خطة الرعاية وتوثيقها. ويتمّ تحديد موعد للمرضى ممن هم بحاجة للمزيد من الفحوصات والاختبارات أو العلاج لتنفيذ الإجراءات اللازمة في حالة التوصية بذلك، كما يتم عقد جلسة مشاورة مع الأسرة، ويتم شرح النتائج، وشرح خطة الرعاية، كما يتم تقديم التقارير الكاملة، ثم يتم توجيه المرضى مرة أخرى إلى المستشفى الذي قام بإحالتهم لتلقي مزيد من الرعاية الخاصة بالحمل والولادة.

 

شعبة طب الغدد الصماء التناسلية والعقم

التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس (PGD)

تعدّ الوقاية من أي مرض أحد الأهداف الأساسية للطب. ويوفر التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس تشخيصاً جينياً مبكراً للجنين قبل انغراسه في الرحم، وهي طريقة فعالة لمنع انتقال الأمراض الوراثية إلى الأجيال القادمة في الأسر التي تعاني من اضطرابات أحادية الجين أو اختلالات صبغية (كروموسومية). ويتطلب هذا النوع من التشخيص خبرة مشتركة في مجال الطب التناسلي بجانب الخبرة في علم الوراثيات الجزيئية و/أو الوراثيات الخلوية. ويتضمن هذا التشخيص مرحلتين: الأولى: الإخصاب في المختبر للتنبيه المبيضي، ومراقبة وتحديد وقت استعادة الخلية البيضية، والإخصاب، وخزعة الجنين. الثانية: التشخيص الجيني الموثوق والفعال والذي يعدّ ضرورياً للإبلاغ عن النتيجة في وقت مبكر لكي يحدث نقل الجنين في الدورة ذاتها.

 

سبب الإحالات، واستشارات المرضى، والاستشارات الجينية المتخصصة

يعدّ الأزواج المحالين للتشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس معرضين لحمل متأثر بأحد الأمراض الوراثية المعروفة، ويكون لدى أغلبيتهم أو لدى أقاربهم من الدرجة الأولى طفل واحد مصاب على الأقل. والخيار التناسلي المتاح لهم هو التشخيص قبل الولادة والذي لا يزال يعدّ حلاً غير مرضِ لبعض الأزواج المعرضين لمخاطر جينية عالية، فمثلاً الأزواج الذين خضعوا لإنهاء حالات الحمل المتأثرة بشكل متكرر يطلبون إجراء تشخيص قبل الحمل. كما أن الأزواج الذين ينظرون إلى إنهاء الحمل باعتباره حلاً غير مقبول لأسباب دينية أو عاطفية أو اجتماعية يطلبون أيضاً إجراء التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس. ويعتقد هؤلاء الأزواج أن بدء حمل سليم وصحي باستخدام التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس هو الحل الوحيد أمامهم لأن إنهاء الحمل أمر مؤلم ومحزن للغاية.

في حالة المريضات اللاتي يعانين من ضعف الخصوبة، أو اللاتي سبق أن حملن حملاً مصاباً باختلالات صبغية، أو عانين من تكرار الإجهاض، أو الفشل المتكرر في الانغراس بعد دورات الإخصاب في المختبر، أو بالنسبة للأمهات في سن أمومة متقدمة، نجد أن التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس والفحص الجيني السابق للانغراس (PGS) يسمح بالتحقق من الاختلالات الصبغية.

كما توجد مجموعة أخرى من المريضات اللاتي يعانين من الاستعداد للإصابة بالسرطان مثل سرطان الثدي و/أو المبيض الوراثي، أو اللاتي ورثن بعض الجينات التي تسبب الإصابة بالسرطان مثل جينات A للسليلة الورمية الغدّية العائلية (سرطان القولون)، وتتلقى معظم مريضات السرطان العلاج الإشعاعي/العلاج الكيماوي كجزء من العلاجات المخصصة لهن، ما قد يؤثر بشكل دائم في معدل الخصوبة لديهن. ولذلك فإن دورات الإخصاب في المختبر / التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس تساعدهن في تشخيص الأجنّة، ويمكن نقل هذه الأجنّة السليمة وغير المصابة بالسرطان إلى الأم لبدء حمل خالٍ من الأمراض. وبالنسبة للمريضات اللاتي خضعن للعلاج الإشعاعي/العلاج الكيماوي، يوصى بشدة بالحفاظ على معدل الخصوبة كجزء من العلاج المدعم بالتشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس بعد الإخصاب، حيث يمكن تجميد الأجنّة السليمة ومن ثمّ نقلها بعد استكمال العلاج الإشعاعي/العلاج الكيماوي.

معايير القبول

ينبغي على المريضات تلبية معايير القبول التي تحددها عيادة الإخصاب في المختبر، كما ينبغي تقديم تقرير جيني واضح من قِبل طبيب الإحالة.

الحالة الحالية لخدمة التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس

عدد الأسر التي طلبت خدمة التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس

1550 أسرة

عدد الأمراض

320 مرضاً

عدد الحالات التي تمت

1395 حالة

 

يلخص الجدول السابق عدد الحالات التي تمّت إحالتها لعلاج الإخصاب في المختبر / التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس والدورات التي مرّت بها. ويعدّ مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث "مختبر إحالة" متخصص الرعاية، لذا فإنه يستقبل أيضاً الحالات من مختلف مراكز الإخصاب في المختبر والمستشفيات داخل المملكة. ولكن هذه الخدمة لا توفر علاجاً كاملاً في مرة واحدة ولذلك فإن احتمالات أخذ الطفل للمنزل بعد دورة الإخصاب في المختبر / التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس تبلغ 30-40%، وهي نسبة تزيد عن أو تعادل دورة الإخصاب التقليدية في المختبر. ويستمر الأزواج الذين لا يزالون في سن الإنجاب في طلب إجراء التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس حتى يحصلوا على العدد المطلوب من الأطفال.

يعدّ التهجين في الموضع التألقي FISH) أحد الأساليب شائعة الاستخدام للفحص الجيني السابق للانغراس ولإعادة الترتيب الصبغي، في حين يستخدم تفاعل بوليميراز التسلسلي (PCR) للاضطرابات أحادية الجين. وقد تمّ تنفيذ أحدث الأساليب المتمثلة في مصفوفة تهجين الجينوم المقارن (CGH-Array) ومصفوفة تعدد الأشكال أحادي النوكليوتيد (SNP) "تخطيط النواة".

الأثر الاجتماعي

  • العبء النفسي والاجتماعي للأزواج قبل طلب التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس:
  • بعض الأزواج معلوماتهم غير دقيقة بشأن الوراثة فالبعض يعتقد أن زواج ابن/ابنة العم هو سبب إنجاب طفل مصاب، في حين يعتقد البعض الآخر أن ذلك موروث من أحد الوالدين (والأغلب كان يعتقد أنه كان موروث من ناحية الأم). وهؤلاء الأزواج بحاجة إلى طلب الاستشارة الجينية المتخصصة.
  • يلوم الكثير من الأزواج أنفسهم بسبب حالة طفلهم إذ يعتقدون أن ذلك راجع لزواجهم من أبناء/بنات عمومتهم، وعدم إجرائهم فحص ما قبل الزواج، والذي لا يفيد إلا في حالة الاعتلال الهيموغلوبيني (اضطرابات دم موروثة تسفر عن تركيب غير طبيعي لإحدى سلاسل الغلوبين في جزيء الهيموغلوبين).
  • يشتكي الأزواج أيضاً من صعوبات في التكيّف الأسري، الأمر الذي يؤثر على حياتهم الاجتماعية وشعورهم بالعار.
  • يشعر معظم الأزواج ذوي الخصوبة بالقلق حيال دورة الإخصاب في المختبر. ولذلك، لا بدّ من تثقيف الأزواج وتقديم الاستشارات لهم بشأن دورة الإخصاب في المختبر / التشخيص الجيني السابق للانغراس، وطبيعية المرض الموروث، والخيارات الإنجابية لهم والمخاطر المرتبطة بالعلاج.

العبء الاقتصادي

في حالة غياب الوقاية، قد يكون للمعالجة الناجحة آثار غير متوقعة بخصوص التكلفة حيث ينجو الأشخاص المصابين ليكبروا كبالغين بدلاً من فقدان حياتهم في الطفولة. ولذلك، من المتوقع أن يرتفع متوسط تكلفة رعاية المريض سنوياً، مضروبة في حالات الولادة السنوية للأطفال المصابين بالأمراض. أما الوقاية، فقد تساعد في احتواء عدد الأشخاص المصابين، ما يقلل من تكلفة العلاج الإجمالية ويعود بنفع كبير على الأسر.