The Oncology Centre (Adults)


KFSH&RC enjoys the recognition of having the largest cancer facility in the Gulf region where more than 2,691 new patients were treated in 2013. The Centre was established with a mission of providing excellent cancer treatment, education and research; and it has evolved over the years moving closer towards its vision of becoming one of the best international centers for cancer research, prevention and treatment. The Center was accredited by the World Health Organization (WHO) as a Collaborating Centre for Cancer Prevention and Control, where cancer patients are assessed in multidisciplinary clinics and provided with treatment in accordance with disease-specific internationally accepted management guidelines. 

Our oncologists continue to actively address national oncology problems through their involvement in institutional, national, and international research protocols with the valuable support of the Oncology Research Unit (ORU) which also serves as a hospital base for cancer and bone marrow transplantation registries.
Innovation/New Services:          

  1. The Intra-Operative Radiation Therapy Program 
  2. The Tomo Therapy, Cyberknife and 3 fully operational linear accelerators with a wide range of photo and electron energies and imaging techniques.

State-of-the-art Technology:    

Implementation of latest clinical practices for advancement of radiation therapy treatments that are both current and evidence based.

Technology Advancement:

Introduction of a new technique in radiation therapy - deep inspiration breath hold (DIBH) is a cardiac sparing technique to treat left-sided breast cancer.


Maintaining affiliation with:                                                                                                                                     

  1. South West Oncology Group (SWOG)
  2. Radiation Therapy Oncology Group (RTOG)
  3. Center for International Blood and Marrow Transplant Research (CBMTR)
  4. European Group for Blood and Marrow Transplantation (EBMT); and the Hospital as its main secretariat.
  5. Medical Physics IAEA conference and training.
  6. Use of Gold plaques Iodine 125 brachytherapy treatment for eye tumor in collaboration with King Khaled Eye Specialist Hospital and King Abdulaziz University Hospital.
  7. King Saud University students’ orientation in radiation therapy services.
  8. Students of preparatory program in Radiological Sciences from Loma Linda University, Riyadh.


Adult Hematology HSCT Section

Our Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplant Program (HSCT), is an internationally renowned leader in the blood and marrow transplantation for more than 32 years. In that time, HSCT has become an accepted, curative therapy for a broad range of diseases, including malignant diseases that involve the bone marrow such as Leukemias and Lymphomas, nonmalignant diseases that involve the bone marrow such as Aplastic Anemia and a variety of inherited diseases.
To date, over 5,100 bone marrow transplants have been performed at the Oncology Centre, that is fully accredited by the National Marrow Donor Program as an unrelated donor transplant center.


Medical Oncology

The aim of the Medical Oncology is the accurate diagnosis and optimum management of cancer. The consultants provide consultative advice on the clinical care of cancer patients, and are involved in both clinical and basic research pertaining to cancer. The medical oncology has very competitive fellowship program for training finest oncologist for future needs of the Kingdom.

This section is involved in myriad of national and international clinical research trials on chemotherapy, combined modality therapies and targeted therapies.


Palliative Care Medicine

Palliative Care team aims at the assessment and management of physical and psychological problems experienced by both patients with advanced cancer and their families. About 50% of patients who receive a diagnosis of cancer experience these intricate and overwhelming problems.  

Palliative Care is a multidisciplinary approach aimed at enhancing quality of life of cancer patients by providing comprehensive medical and psychosocial screening, diagnosis and treatment to cancer patients. Our mission is to integrate palliative care throughout all sections, in clinical practice, research and education. The Oncology Centre consultants are collaborating with other services to provide interdisciplinary consultation services, post-graduate medical education, and palliative care research programs. Consultants and fellows are involved in teaching and research focused on multi-dimensional assessment of physical and psychosocial symptoms, as well as on pharmacological and non-pharmacological treatment modalities. Some of the sponsored research programs include comparing alternative medicine and spirituality on health and long term outcome of terminally ill patients and their families.


Radiation Oncology


Research Unit

The Oncology Centre Research Unit, managed by a Head, Supervisor and support staff, comprises of three sub-units which offer unique services relevant to each area.

  • Clinical Research
  • Tumor Registry
  • Progenitor Stem Cell Transplant Program (PSCTP)

Clinical Research section is responsible for assisting Oncology Centre physicians and authorized others with the design of clinical research projects including the development of the database, data collection, data management and analysis of clinical data in accordance with Research Advisory Council guidelines.

      The Clinical Research Area offers the following services:

  • Actively participate in the coordination of in-house and international trials following Research Advisory
    Council guidelines.
  • Identify data elements for clinical research studies.
  • Design or assist with design of the Clinical Research Form.
  • Develop appropriate database for clinical research project.
  • Identify patients for inclusion into the clinical research study and request medical records.
  • Abstract pertinent data for entry into the database.
  • Provide specific descriptive epidemiology of cancer disease.
  • Perform data survival analysis.
  • Provide graphic presentation of data.
  • Assist with proposal development before submission to appropriate regulatory committees.

Tumor Registry is a pivotal function of the cancer program by providing definitive information concerning the nature and extent of the hospital’s experience in diagnosing and treating cancer. The Tumor Registry maintains a comprehensive database of all patients referred to King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre since 1975 with a malignant disease process, including cases seen at King Fahad National Children’s Cancer Centre. In addition, minimal information on neoplasms of uncertain behavior and benign brain tumors is abstracted from patient records and entered into the database. The Tumor Registry also produces an Annual Report for distribution throughout the hospital.

       Tumor Registry Annual Report:

      2014 Report

       The Tumor Registry offers the following services:

  • Identify patients with one or more malignant diagnoses.
  • Differentiate between most common malignancies by site or histology.
  • On request, generate lists of specific cases by selected criteria (variables).
  • Provide treatment information for a particular diagnosis.
  • Produce statistical and/or descriptive information for cases using demographic factors.
  • Show trends of certain disease categories over a given period.

      Cancer Registery Staging Forms

Progenitor Stem Cell Transplant Program (PSCTP) is a vital section responsible for the accrual of patients to be included in the King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre’s Bone Marrow Transplant Program database. It reports the hospital’s cases to the International Bone Marrow Transplant Registry (CIBMTR) and European Society for Blood and Marrow Transplantation (EBMT).

      The Progenitor Stem Cell Transplant Program offers the following services:           

  • Registration of patients in the International Bone Marrow Transplant Program.
  • Identification of appropriate data elements for both allogeneic and autologous Progenitor Stem Cell Transplant Programs as requested.
  • Design and development of databases for Progenitor Stem Cell Transplant Programs
  • Preparation of approved treatment protocols.
  • Produce follow-up information on study patients.
  • Database management for procurement of protocol data as requested for use in local prospective and retrospective research studies.
  • Assist with development of clinical research proposals using RAC guidelines, before submission to appropriate regulatory committees.

يتمتع مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي بشهرة امتلاكها لأكبر منشأة لعلاج السرطان في منطقة الخليج حيث تم علاج أكثر من 2691 مريض جديد في عام 2013. تأسس المركز بمهمة تقديم علاج للسرطان ممتاز وتعليم وبحث، وقد تطور مركز الأورام على مر السنوات لتحقيق رؤيته  بأن يصبح واحد من أفضل المراكز الدولية لأبحاث السرطان، والوقاية، والعلاج. اُعتمد المركز من قبل منظمة الصحة العالمية كمركز متعاون للوقاية والعلاج من السرطان، حيث يتم تقييم مرضى السرطان في العيادات متعددة التخصصات وتوفير العلاج وفقاً للمرض المحدد حسب اللإرشادات التوجيهية للمعالجة المقبولة دولياً.
ولاتزال جهود أطبائنا في ميدان الأورام مستمرة لمعالجة مشاكل الأورام داخلياً من خلال مشاركتهم في بروتوكولات الأبحاث المؤسسية والوطنية والدولية بدعم لا يقدر بثمن من وحدة أبحاث الأورام (ORU) التي تعمل أيضاً كقاعدة لتسجيل حالات السرطان و زراعة نخاع العظام.

الابتكار/الخدمات الجديدة:

  1. برنامج العلاج الإشعاعي خلال العملية الجراحية (IORT) 
  2. جهاز العلاج المقطعي يعمل بكامل طاقته وكذلك العلاج باستخدام مشرط جاما و3 مسرعات خطية مع مجموعة واسعة من أساليب الصور وطاقات الإلكترون والتصوير لعلاج حالات السرطان المعقدة.

أحدث التقنيات:

تنفيذ أحدث الممارسات السريرية للنهوض بعلاجات العلاج الإشعاعي القائمة والمثبتة بالدليل.

التقدم التقني

العمل بأسلوب أخذ النفس العميق (DIBH) في العلاج الإشعاعي؛ وهو أسلوب لإراحة القلب لعلاج سرطان الثدي في الجانب الأيسر.

التعاون:

استمرارية التعاون مع:

  1. مجموعة أورام جنوب الغرب (SWOG).
  2. مجموعة العلاج الإشعاعي للأورام (RTOG)
  3. مركز البحث الدولي لنقل الدم وزراعة النخاع (CBMTR)
  4. المجموعة الأوروبية لنقل الدم وزراعة النخاع (EBMT)؛ بكون المستشفى الأمانة الرئيسية لها.
  5. مؤتمر الفيزياء الطبية التابع للوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية والتدريب.
  6. استخدام لويحات الذهب اليود 125 للعلاج الموضعي لورم العيون بالتعاون مع مستشفى الملك خالد للعيون التخصصي ومستشفى جامعة الملك عبد العزيز.
  7. تدريب طلاب جامعة الملك سعود في خدمات العلاج الإشعاعي
  8. طلاب البرنامج التحضيري في العلوم الإشعاعية من جامعة لوما ليندا، الرياض.

الأقسام

أمراض الدم وزراعة الخلايا الجذعية للبالغين

 ينال برنامج زراعة الخلايا الجذعية المكونة للدم (HSCT) شهرة عالمية في مجال زراعة النخاع والدم لأكثر من 32 سنة. وفي هذه الأثناء، أضحى برنامج زراعة الخلايا الجذعية المكونة للدم (HSCT) علاجاً مقبولاً وشافياً لمجموعة كبيرة من الأمراض، بما في ذلك الأمراض الخبيثة التي تشمل نخاع العظام مثل مرض ابيضاض الدم ومرض اللمفومة، والأمراض الحميدة التي تشمل نخاع العظام مثل الأنيميا المتعلقة بعدم التنسج ومجموعة متنوعة من الأمراض الموروثة.

لقد تم إجراء أكثر من 5100 عملية زراعة نخاع حتى الآن في مركز علم الأورام، والتي تم اعتمادها جميعاً من قبل البرنامج الوطني للمتبرعين بنخاع العظام.

 

طب الأورام

 يكمن هدف قسم علم الأورام الطبي في التشخيص الدقيق والمعالجة المثلى لمرض السرطان. ويقدم الاستشاريون النصيحة الاستشارية بشأن الرعاية السريرية لمرضى السرطان ويشاركون في الأحاث السرسية و الأساسية المتعلقة بالسرطان. يضم قسم علم الأورام الطبي برنامج زمالة ، لتدريب خيرة أخصائيي علم الأورام للاحتياجات المستقبلية في المملكة.

هذا القسم مشارك في عدد لا حصر له من التجارب البحثية السريرية الدولية والمحلية بشأن المعالجة بالمواد الكيميائية، والمعالجات الكيفية المشتركة والمعالجات المستهدفة.

 

طب الرعاية التلطيفية

يهدف فريق الرعاية التلطيفية إلى تقييم وإدارة المشكلات البدنية والنفسية التي يعاني منها كل من المرضى المصابين بسرطان متقدم وعائلاتهم على حد سواء. ويعاني حوالي 50% من المرضى الذي يتم تشخيص إصابتهم بالسرطان من هذه المشكلات المُعضلة والصعبة.

الرعاية التلطيفية هي أسلوب متعدد التخصصات يهدف إلى تعزيز جودة حياة مرضى السرطان من خلال توفير فحص طبي ونفسي شامل، وتشخيص مرضى السرطان وعلاجهم. وتكمن مهمتنا في دمج الرعاية التلطيفية في جميع الأقسام، في الممارسة السريرية والبحث والتعليم. يشترك استشاريوا مركز علم الأورام في خدمات أخرى لتوفير خدمات استشارية متعددة الاختصاصات وتعليم طبي لطلبة الدراسات العليا وبرامج بحث في الرعاية التلطيفية. يشترك الاستشاريون والزملاء في التعليم والبحث المٌنصب على التقييم متعدد الأبعاد للأعراض البدنية والنفسية، بالإضافة إلى تركيزه على أنماط العلاج الدوائي وغير الدوائي. يشمل بعض من البرامج البحثية التي يتم رعايتها مقارنة بين الطب البديل والروحانية فيما يتعلق بالنتيجة الصحية والنتيجة طويلة الأمد للمرضى الميؤوس من شفائهم وعائلاتهم.

اقرأ المزيد

 

 

المعالجة الإشعاعية للأورام

 

وحدة الأبحاث

تتكون وحدة الأبحاث التابعة لمركز علم الأورام، التي يديرها رئيس ومشرف وطاقم دعم، من ثلاثة وحدات فرعية تقدم خدمات فريدة من نوعها متعلقة بكل مجال.

  • البحث السريري
  • سجل الأورام
  • برنامج زراعة الخلايا الجذعية السلفية (PSCTP)

تقع على عاتق قسم الأبحاث السريرية مسؤولية مساعدة أطباء مركز الأورام والمخولين الآخرين بتصميم المشروعات البحثية السريرية بما في ذلك تطوير قاعدة بيانات وجمع البيانات وإدارة البيانات وتحليل البيانات السريرية وفقاً لإرشادات المجلس الاستشاري للأبحاث.

يوفر مجال البحث السريري الخدمات التالية:

  • المشاركة بفعالية في تنسيق التجارب الدولية والداخلية تبعاً لإرشادات مجلس البحوث الاستشاري.
  • التعرف على عناصر البيانات للدراسات البحثية السريرية.
  • تصميم نموذج للبحث السريري أو المساعدة في تصميمه.
  • إعداد قاعدة بيانات ملائمة لمشروع البحث السريري.
  • تحديد المرضى المناسبين لدراسات التجربه السريرية وطلب السجلات الطبية.
  • تلخيص بيانات المرضى لإدخالها في قاعدة البيانات.
  • توفير قسم وصفي للوبائيات لأمراض السرطان.
  • إجراء تحليل لبيانات الناجين من المرض.
  • تقديم عرض رسومي للبيانات.
  • تقديم المساعدة بخصوص التطوير المقترح قبل إرساله إلى اللجان التنظيمية المناسبة.

سجل الأورام عبارة عن وظيفة جوهرية لبرنامج السرطان من خلال توفير معلومات حاسمة تُعنى بطبيعة تجربة المستشفى ومداها في تشخيص السرطان وعلاجه. يحتفظ سجل الأورام بقاعدة بيانات شاملة عن جميع المرضى المُحالين إلى مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث الجديد منذ عام 1975 المصابين بمرض خبيث، بما في ذلك الحالات التي خضعت للفحص في مركز الملك فهد الوطني لأورام الأطفال. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتم تلخيص أقل معلومات ممكنة عن سلوك ورم غير محدد وورم المخ الحميد من سجلات المرضى وإدخاله في قاعدة البيانات. كما يعد سجل الأورام تقريراً سنوياً للتوزيع في أرجاء المستشفى.  يعمل طاقم مسجلي الأورام معتمدين بالوحدة الفرعية.

تقرير سجل الأورام السنوي:

يوفر سجل الأورام الخدمات التالية:

  • تحديد المرضى المصابين بأحد التشخيصات الخبيثة أو أكثر.
  • التمييز بين أكثر الأمراض الخبيثة الأكثر شيوعاً من خلال الموقع أو الأنسجة.
  • إعداد قوائم بحالات محددة من خلال معيار محدد (متغير)، عند الطلب.
  • توفير معلومات علاجية لتشخيص محدد.
  • إعداد معلومات إحصائية و/أو وصفية للحالات باستخدام عوامل ديموغرافية.
  • عرض اتجاهات فئات أمراض محددة على مدار فترة محددة.

برنامج زراعة الخلايا الجذعية السلفية (PSCTP) هو قسم حيوي يقع على عاتقه مسؤولية تجميع المرضى ليتم إدراجهم في قاعدة بيانات برنامج زراعة نخاع العظام التابعة لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث. ويعد تقارير عن حالات المستشفى إلى سجل زراعة نخاع العظام الدولي (CIBMTR) والجمعية الأوروبية لزراعة النخاع والدم (EBMT).

يقدم برنامج زراعة الخلايا الجذعية السلفية الخدمات التالية:

  • تسجيل المرضى في برنامج زراعة نخاع العظام الدولي.
  • تحديد عناصر البيانات المناسبة لكل من برنامجي زراعة الخلايا الجذعية السلفية المثلية وذاتية المنشأ على حد سواء.
  • تصميم وإعداد قواعد بيانات لبرامج زراعة الخلايا الجذعية السلفية
  • تجهيز بروتوكولات علاج معتمدة.
  • إعداد معلومات متابعة عن مرضى الدراسة.
  • إدارة قواعد البيانات من أجل الحصول على بيانات البرتوكول حسبما هو مطلوب للاستخدام في الدراسات البحثية الاستعادية والمستقبلية.
  • تقديم المساعدة فيما يتعلق بتطوير مقترحات البحث السريري باستخدام إرشادات لجنة البحوث الاستشارية (RAC)، قبل التقديم إلى اللجان التنظيمية المعنية.