Oncology Centre

 

The Oncology Centre

KFSH&RC enjoys the recognition of having the largest cancer facility in the Gulf region where more than 2,691 new patients were treated in 2013. Established with a mission of providing excellent cancer treatment, education and research, the Oncology Centre has evolved over the years moving closer towards its vision of becoming one of the best international centers for cancer research, prevention and treatment. Accredited by the World Health Organization (WHO) as a Collaborating Centre for Cancer Prevention and Control, cancer patients are assessed in multidisciplinary clinics and provided with treatment in accordance with disease-specific internationally accepted management guidelines.

  

Message from the Director

Welcome to the Oncology Centre. We are the Centre of Excellence at the King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Centre dedicated to providing state of the art cancer treatment, specialized post graduate training and advanced clinical research. KFCC has four major clinical sections which include Adult Hematology/Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation (HSCT), Medical Oncology, Radiation Oncology, and Palliative Care. The Cancer Centre offers a broad range of oncologic services coordinated with other clinical services, and are performed by an expert staff of physicians, nurses, and other health professionals. Comprehensive nursing care, including nutrition, health education and social services, is an important part of every patient’s care. Our medical oncology team provides comprehensive multidisciplinary clinical services and consultations in accordance with disease-specific, internationally accepted management guidelines. We are the largest bone marrow transplant center in the region. 

Radiation Oncology offers the latest high energy linear accelerator with external beam, intracavitary therapy, stereotactic radiosurgery, 3D-CRT, IMRT and IGRT to treat different tumors. The Research Unit consists of dynamic staff of clinical research coordinators, tumor registrars, progenitor stem cell transplant registry staff and statistician that lends support for sponsored clinical research as well as helps maintain one of the world’s largest cancer registries.

The King Abdullah Centre for Cancer and Liver Diseases (KACCLD) set to be part of an integrated medical services facility in KFSH&RC is the most modern facility for diagnostic and therapeutic areas of cancers and liver diseases. The new cancer center consists of 23 floors and is built on an area of 83,250 sq. meters. The center encompasses inpatient services, ICUs, operation rooms, medical endoscopy rooms, daily treatment units, and one-day procedural units in addition to highly advanced and comprehensive diagnostic facilities.

We are strong advocates for a continued commitment to fundamental research in cancer biology and stem cell transplantation. We actively encourage and promote translational research to increase knowledge of basic science principles to enhance clinical applicability of research findings. Our underlying rationale is that the knowledge of the processes that cause cancer can only be achieved by providing optimum multidisciplinary patient care, education and research.
I am sure you will find the following pages describing the latest information on our center’s initiatives and cancer care activities interesting, informative and easy to navigate.

Mohammad Al Shabanah, MD
Director, Oncology Centre

The Oncology Centre-Adult has experienced a number of successes such as :

  • The expansion of the Bone Marrow Transplant (BMT) program.
  • Expansion of the Lymphoma program.
  • Introduction of the Intraoperative Radiation Therapy (IORT) for breast cancer.
  • Providing radiotherapy treatment using gold plaques Iodine 125 Brachytherapy for retinoblastoma and melanoma of the eye as the only health care
  • provider in the Kingdom in collaboration with King Khaled Eye Specialist Hospital and King Abdulaziz University Hospital.
  • Introduction of the volumetric Modulated Arc Therapy for prostate cancer treatment using surgically placed fiducial markers together with IGRT (Image-Guided Radiation Therapy).
  • Establishment of three (3) new clinics -Breast, GI and Leukemia.
  • Installation of the Brachytherapy Suite.
  • The Section of Medical Oncology has joined the Combined Head and Neck Cancer Clinic to make it a more complete multi-disciplinary.

Education and Training Courses

  • The number of adult Bone Marrow Transplants performed has steadily increased over the years. On average, 162 transplants have been performed in 2014. Two new transplantation programs have also been initiated: one for mismatched transplantation (Haploidentical), and one for transplantation of sickle cell disease.
  • The 1st Hematology Board Review Course on Malignant Hematology was held on 3-4 January 2014. This course aims to prepare the fellows for their final Saudi Board written examination for Hematology certification in both benign and malignant hematology. Approved with 16 CME credit hours from the Saudi Commission (SCHS) for Health Specialties.
  • Advanced Tumor Registry Training Program was held on 22 Mar 2014. Aims to orient participants with a systematic collection of data about cancer and tumor diseases.
  • The 1st Hematology Board Review Course on Thrombosis and Hemostasis was held on 5-6 Sept 2014. Approved with 16 CME credit hours by the (SCHS)
  • The 2nd Adult Hematology Mini-Symposium on Chronic Myeloid Leukemia was held on 29 Oct 2014. Objectives included understanding the clinical, laboratory, and diagnostic principles in CML, the standard management strategy of chronic phase, accelerated phase and blast crisis phase of CML, the response assessment tool of CMS and to review the role of stem cell transplantation in CML.
  • The 4th Hematology Board Review Course on Benign Hematology was held on 28-29 Nov 2014. Approved with 16 CME credit hours by SCHS.

مركز الأورام (البالغين)

تتمتع مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي بشهرة امتلاكها لأكبر منشأة لعلاج السرطان في منطقة الخليج حيث تم علاج أكثر من 2691 مريض جديد في عام 2013. تأسس المركز بمهمة تقديم علاج للسرطان ممتاز وتعليم وبحث، وقد تطور مركز الأورام على مر السنوات لتحقيق رؤيته  بأن يصبح واحد من أفضل المراكز الدولية لأبحاث السرطان، والوقاية، والعلاج. اُعتمد المركز من قبل منظمة الصحة العالمية كمركز متعاون للوقاية والعلاج من السرطان، حيث يتم تقييم مرضى السرطان في العيادات متعددة التخصصات وتوفير العلاج وفقاً للمرض المحدد حسب اللإرشادات التوجيهية للمعالجة المقبولة دولياً.

 

رسالة المدير

مرحباً بكم في مركز الأورام. نحن مركز للتميز في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث نتفانى لتقديم أحدث أنواع علاج السرطان، والتدريب المتخصص لطلبة الدراسات العليا والبحث السريري المتقدم. يضم مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث أربعة أقسام سريرية رئيسية وتشمل زراعة الخلايا الجذعية المكونة للدم/الدموية للبالغين (HSCT)، وعلم الأورام الطبي، وعلم الأورام الإشعاعي، والرعاية التلطيفية. يوفر مركز السرطان مجموعة كبيرة من خدمات الأورام بالتنسيق مع الخدمات السريرية الأخرى، ويؤديها طاقم خبراء من الأطباء والممرضات ومحترفي الرعاية الصحية الآخرين. وتعد الرعاية التمريضية الشاملة، وتشمل الخدمات الاجتماعية والتثقيف الصحي والتغذية، أمراً مهماً لتقديم الرعاية لجميع المرضى. يقدم فريق الأورام الطبية لدينا استشارات وخدمات سريرية شاملة متعددة التخصصات وفقاً لأدلة إدارة مقبولة عالميًا ومحددة للمرض. ونحن أكبر مركز لزراعة نخاع العظام في المنطقة.

يوفر علم الأورام الإشعاعي أحدث معجل خطي عالي الطاقة مزود بشعاع خارجي والمعالجة داخل التجويف، والجراحة الإشعاعية المتعلقة بالتوضيع التجسيمي، وأنبوب الإشعاع المهبطي ثلاثي الأبعاد (3D-CRT)، والعلاج الإشعاعي معدل الكثافة (IMRT) والعلاج الإشعاعي الموجه بالصور (IGRT) لعلاج العديد من الأورام المختلفة. تتألف وحدة الأبحاث من طاقم فعّال من منسقي الأبحاث السريرية ومسجلي الأورام، وطاقم تسجيل زراعة الخلايا الجزعية السلفية، وإحصائي يقدم الدعم للبحث السريري الخاضع للرعاية بالإضافة إلى المساعدة في الحفاظ على أحد أكبر سجلات السرطان في العالم.

يعتبر مركز الملك عبد الله للسرطان وأمراض الكبد (KACCLD) جزءاً من مرافق الخدمات الطبية المتكاملة في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث، وهو مرفق فائق التطور في مجالات تشخيص وعلاج أمراض السرطان والكبد. يتكون مركز الأورام الجديد من 23 طابقاً وهو مبني على مساحة 83250 متراً مربعاً. ويضم المركز خدمات المرضى المنومين ووحدات العناية المركزة وغرف العمليات وغرف التنظير الداخلي الطبي ووحدات العلاج اليومي ووحدات عمليات اليوم الواحد بالإضافة إلى مرافق تشخيصية متقدمة وشاملة.

نحن نتعهد باستمرارية إجراء الأبحاث الأساسية في بيولوجيا السرطان وزراعة الخلايا الجذعية. ونحن نشجع ونعزز البحوث في مجال زراعة الأعضاء والخلايا، لزيادة المعرفة بمبادئ العلوم الأساسية لتعزيز الصلة السريرية بالاكتشافات البحثية. ودافعنا الأساسي هو معرفة العمليات التي تسبب السرطان والتي لا يمكن تحقيقها إلا من خلال توفير رعاية صحية مثلى متعددة التخصصات فضلاً عن التعليم والبحث.

وأنا متأكد من أنكم ستجدون أن الصفحات التالية التي تصف أحدث المعلومات عن مبادرات مركزنا وأنشطة رعاية السرطان ممتعة وتثقيفية وسهلة التصفح.

 الدكتور/ محمد الشبانة
مدير مركز الأورام

شهد مركز الأورام (البالغين) عدداً من النجاحات مثل:

  • التوسع في برنامج زرع نقي العظم.
  • التوسع في برنامج زراعة الغدد اللمفاوية.
  • تطبيق العلاج الإشعاعي أثناء الجراحة (IORT) لسرطان الثدي
  • توفير العلاج الإشعاعي باستخدام صفائح الذهب اليود 125، والعلاج الإشعاعي الموضعي لشبكية العين وسرطان الجلد بصفته الجهة الوحيدة في مجال الرعاية الصحية في المملكة بالتعاون مع مستشفى الملك خالد التخصصي للعيون ومستشفى جامعة الملك عبد العزيز.
  • توفير العلاج الإشعاعي باستخدام قوس التضمين الحجمي (VMAT) لعلاج سرطان البروستاتا باستخدام علامات الإسناد المرتبطة بالجراحة جنباً إلى جنب مع العلاج الإشعاعي الموجه بالصورة (IGRT).
  • إنشاء ثلاثة (3) عيادات جديدة لعلاج سرطان الثدي وسرطان الدم وسرطان الجهاز الهضمي.
  • تدشين جناح العلاج الإشعاعي الموضعي.
  • انضم قسم علم الأورام الطبية إلى العيادة المشتركة لعلاج سرطان الرقبة والرأس لتكوين كيان جديد متكامل ومتعددة التخصصات.

الدورات التدريبية والتثقيفية لمركز الأورام

  • زاد عدد عمليات زرع نخاع العظم للبالغين بشكل مطرد على مدى السنوات الماضية، حيث تم إجراء 162 عملية في المتوسط في عام 2014. كما جرى إطلاق برنامجين جديدين في عمليات زراعة نخاع العظام؛ أحدهما لعمليات الزراعة غير المتطابقة (متماثل النمط الفرداني) والآخر لزراعة نخاع العظام لمرضى فقر الدم المنجلي.
  • عُقدت دورة مجلس مراجعة أمراض الدم لمناقشة أمراض الدم الخبيثة في 3-4 يناير (كانون الثاني) عام 2014. وتهدف هذه الدورة إلى إعداد أطباء الزمالة للاختبار السعودي التحريري النهائي للحصول على شهادة علاج أمراض الدم في تخصصات الأورام الحميدة والخبيثة. وتم اعتماد هذه الدورة من الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية.
  • جرى تنظيم برنامج تدريبي متقدم عن تسجيل الأورام في 22 مارس 2014. ويهدف إلى تعريف المشاركين بمجموعة منتظمة من البيانات حول الأمراض السرطانية والأورام.
  • عُقدت دورة مجلس مراجعة أمراض الدم الأولى لمناقشة التخثر والإرقاء خلال الفترة 5-6 سبتمبر 2014. واعتمدت الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية هذه الدورة.
  • عُقدت الندوة المصغرة لأمراض الدم عند البالغين لمناقشة طرق علاج سرطان الدم النخاعي المزمن في 29 أكتوبر 2014. وشملت أهداف هذه الندوة محاولة فهم المبادئ التشخيصية والسريري والمختبرية لسرطان الدم النخاعي المزمن، استراتيجية المعالجة الموحدة للمرحلة المزمنة، المرحلة المتسارعة ومرحلة انفجار الأزمة لسرطان الدم النخاعي المزمن، أداة تقييم استجابة سرطان الدم النخاعي المزمن للعلاج واستعراض دور زراعة الخلايا الجذعية في علاج هذا النوع من السرطان.
  • عُقدت دورة مجلس مراجعة أمراض الدم الرابعة لمناقشة أمراض الدم الحميدة في 28-29 نوفمبر 2014. واعتمدت الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية هذه الدورة.