Organ Transplant Centre

 

Organ Transplant Centre

The Centre provides multi-disciplinary tertiary care for patients with organ failure and surgical treatment for conditions that affect the liver, gallbladder, bile ducts, pancreas and duodenum.

  •  The Centre has the largest Renal Transplant Program in the region and ranks as second in the volume of living donor kidney transplants out of 235 transplant centers in the USA reporting to Organ Procurement (OPTN) and Transplantation Network and the Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients (SRTR). It is the only program in the region that is heavily involved in desensitization of Human Leukocyte Antigen (HLA) and blood group A, B and O (ABO) incompatible kidney transplantation.
  • The renal transplant fellowship program is accredited by the American Society of Transplantation (AST). This is the only transplant center outside North America that is accredited by the AST until 2014.
  • The organ Transplant Centre:

- Is the only center in the region performing minimally invasive living donor nephrectomy and minimally invasive living donor hepatectomy.

- The Centre has one of the largest pediatric liver transplant programs worldwide, performing ABO incompatible pediatric liver transplantation and the Fully Laparoscopic Living Donor Hepatectomy to be transplanted in pediatric recipients.

  • Liver transplant program ranked 1st in the volume of living donor liver transplant out of 137 liver transplant centers in the USA and in the volume of pediatric liver transplant out of 54 Pediatric liver transplant centers in the USA reporting to Organ Procurement (OPTN) and Transplantation Network and the Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients (SRTR).
  • The lung transplant program is the only comprehensive program in the region that performs lung transplant and manages patients with various end stage lung diseases.
  • The pancreas Transplant Program was fully activated in 2014.
  • For the year 2014, the total number of transplants performed by the Organ Transplant Centre was 310 (175 kidney transplants, 123 liver transplants, 10 lung transplants and 2 pancreas transplants) with excellent outcomes comparable with world leading institutions in the USA.

مركز زراعة الأعضاء
  • يوفر المركز رعاية صحية من المستوى الثالث متعددة التخصصات لمرضى الفشل العضوي والعلاج الجراحي للحالات المصابة في الكبد والمرارة والقنوات المرارية والبنكرياس والاثني عشر.
  • ينفذ المركز أكبر برنامج لزراعة الكلى في المنطقة، ويحتل المرتبة الثانية في مجموع عمليات زراعة الكلى من متبرعين أحياء من بين 235 مركز لزراعة الأعضاء في الولايات المتحدة، وتقدم المراكز المذكورة تقاريرها إلى شبكة توفير وزرع الأعضاء (OPTN) والسجل العلمي لمتلقي الأعضاء المزروعة (SRTR). ويعتبر البرنامج الوحيد في المنطقة الذي يشارك بشكل كبير في الأبحاث الرامية إلى إزالة الحساسية من مستضد خلايا الدم البيضاء البشرية (HLA) وعمليات زرع الكلى غير المتوافقة مع فصائل الدم A، B و O.

 

  • تم اعتماد برنامج الزمالة لزرع الكلى من قبل الجمعية الأمريكية لزراعة الأعضاء (AST). ويعتبر المركز الوحيد في زراعة الأعضاء خارج أمريكا الشمالية الذي اعتمدته الجمعية حتى عام 2014.
  • مركز زراعة الأعضاء:
    • هو المركز الوحيد في المنطقة الذي ينفذ عمليات استئصال الكلى من متبرع حي بأقل مساحة قطعية في جسم المتبرع، وكذلك عمليات استئصال الكبد من متبرع حي بأقل مساحة قطعية في جسم المتبرع.
    • المركز لديه واحد من أكبر برامج زراعة الكبد للأطفال في جميع أنحاء العالم، وينفذ عمليات زراعة الكبد للأطفال غير المتوافقة مع فصائل الدم A, B وO، وعملية استئصال الكبد من متبرع حي بالمنظار بالكامل ليتم زرعها في المتلقين من الأطفال.
  • يحتل برنامج زراعة الكبد المرتبة الأولى من مجموع عمليات زراعة الكبد من متبرعين أحياء من أصل 137 مركز زراعة كبد في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وكذلك المرتبة الأولى من مجموع زراعة الكبد للأطفال من أصل 54 مركز زراعة كبد الأطفال في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وتقدم المراكز المذكورة تقاريرها إلى شبكة توفير وزراعة الأعضاء (OPTN) والسجل العلمي لمتلقي الأعضاء المزروعة (SRTR).
  • يعتبر برنامج زراعة الرئة هو البرنامج الشامل الوحيد في المنطقة الذي ينفذ عملية زرع الرئة ومتابعة حالة المرضى الذين يعانون من أمراض الرئة المختلفة في مراحلها الأخيرة.
  • تم تفعيل برنامج زرع البنكرياس بالكامل في عام 2014.
  • وخلال عام 2014، وصل العدد الإجمالي لعمليات زراعة الأعضاء التي ينفذها مركز زراعة الأعضاء إلى 310 عملية (175 عملية زرع كلى، 123 عملية زرع كبد، 10 عمليات زراعة رئة، وعمليتان زراعة بنكرياس) بنتائج ممتازة مقارنة مع المؤسسات الأمريكية الرائدة في هذا المجال على مستوى العالم.