The Department of Urology’s paramount objective remains to provide the highest quality of care for adult and pediatric patients with complex urological disorders. Its activities consist of a unique combination of high-volume and challenging clinical material and extensive clinical scientific activities that is nurturing the future leaders of our specialty.

The Department offers the full range of care for urology problems in adults and children, including genito-urinary cancers (testicular, bladder, prostate, penis, adrenal and kidney cancer); bladder control; neurogenic bladder; prostate disorders; sexual dysfunction; male infertility and laparoscopic and stone surgery. The Department’s other interests focus on urologic oncology, robotic surgery, neurogenic bladder, female urology, reconstructive surgery, stone surgery and prostate surgery.

Pediatric urology is handling referrals from all over the country with all complex genito-urinary pathologies including all forms of extrophy, valve disease, hypospadias cases, spinal dysraphism and disorder of sexual differentiation.

The Department is performing 8-10 penile prosthesis implantations monthly, 12-15 microdissection sperm extraction surgeries monthly in collaboration with a busy IVF facility which has conducted 1080 ICSI procedures in 2014.

Each of our surgeons are board-certified in urology and has subspecialty training in areas, such as uro-oncology, laparoscopic urology, neuro-urology, infertility, sexual dysfunction, uro-gynecology, robotic surgery, endourology and all types of pediatric genito-urinary conditions. This sub-specialization enables these physicians to develop innovative procedures and to gain valuable experience that translates into positive results for our patients.

Expertise

  • Robotic Surgery
    Robotic-assisted surgery, a type of minimally invasive surgery (MIS), uses surgical robotic equipment, which imitates surgical movements. MIS procedures allow surgeons to operate through small ports rather than large incisions, resulting in shorter recovery times, fewer complications and reduced hospital stays. Surgical robotics combines minimally advanced surgery with highly advanced clinical technology. The first Robotic urological procedure in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia was performed here in King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Centre.
  • Laparoscopy
    There has been a marked increase in the utilization of laparoscopy to treat urological disease, in particular renal cell carcinoma surgery in addition to reconstructive laparoscopic procedures such as laparoscopic pyeloplasty. The first laparoscopic radical cystoprostatectomy in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia was performed at King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Centre.
  • Urological Oncology

The Department brings together a multidisciplinary team of Urological Oncology physicians to develop leading-edge therapies for the treatment of prostate, kidney, bladder and testicular cancers.

  • Endourology for Stones and Prostate

In our Department all facilities are available for stone and prostate surgery including all types of laser used for these surgeries. Also new shockwave machine is available which can treat stones from outside body.

  • Laparoscopy
    There has been a marked increase in the utilization of laparoscopy to treat urological disease, in particular renal cell carcinoma surgery in addition to reconstructive laparoscopic procedures such as laparoscopic pyeloplasty. The first laparoscopic radical cystoprostatectomy in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia was performed at King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Centre.
  • Neuromodulation
    The only center in the Kingdom which utilizes neuromodulation for the treatment of complicated voiding disorders.
  • Pediatric Urology at King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Center was involved in the Siamese twin separation which took place at King Abdulaziz Medical City (National Guard) in Riyadh.
  • Reconstructive Urology

The Department’s urologic surgeons have expertise and extensive experience performing complex reconstructive surgery on the kidney, ureter, bladder, urethra and male genitals.

  • Andrology/ Infertility

The Department offers a full range of specialized tests and services for the evaluation and treatment of male infertility. Our Andrology experts are well equipped with clinical/surgical skills in male infertility and sexual dysfunction with an aim to better serve the community. The Department also participates and supports testicular tissue banking in the IVF unit.

 Training Programs

  • Urology Residency Training Program

A five (5) year clinical training program consists of one (1) year of general surgery and four (4) years of urology training. The Department of Urology offers a variable spectrum of conditions for inpatient and outpatient settings. The large services provide exceptional chance for knowledge growth, skill enhancement, and professional development. Minimally invasive surgery, endourology and laparoscopic (robotic) procedures are performed. Other clinical programs include neuro-urology, incontinence, voiding dysfunction, pelvic floor dysfunction and reconstructive pelvic surgery, involving both diagnostic and therapeutic procedures necessary for the total care of the patient with such conditions and their complications. Urinary calculi, pediatric urology, urologic oncology, genito-urethral reconstruction, endourology, and male infertility are some of the exposures for the trainees. Several groups of educational activities are held regularly in the department. All Urology residents are encouraged to take advantage of the opportunity to perform both clinical and basic research studies during their training. Residents perform such projects under close supervision of one or more members of the attending staff, who assist in preparing manuscripts for publication.

  • Andrology Infertility Fellowship Training Program

The two (2) year program comprises clinical and research learning skills. The fellow will work under direct supervision of fellowship-trained, Andrology experts. This fellowship is designed for candidates interested in Academic Andrology, and is particularly geared towards general urologists to become competent and acquire all necessary clinical/surgical skills in male infertility and sexual dysfunction to serve the community. The fellow may also spend a 3-month elective rotation with IVF Gynecologists/Embryologists to gain a better understanding of female reproductive system and assisted reproductive techniques.

  • Urological Oncology Fellowship Training Program

The two (2) year fellowship program provides knowledge and skills beyond the expertise achieved during Urology Residency Program. The additional expertise should include the critical analysis of complex clinical problems and development of advanced technical skills. The fellow should develop excellent skills in the planning of multidisciplinary approaches to patient care. In addition, he/she should also achieve expertise in basic and clinical scientific research methodologies.

  • Pediatric Urology Fellowship Training Program

A comprehensive two (2) year training program in pediatric and adolescence urology. As a major referral center in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, fellows are exposed to a large volume of patients with a wide and varied range of pediatric urology problems, such as ante natal and post-natal genito-urinary pathology, extrophy variants, neurogenic bladder, oncology and intersex disorders for which most require major reconstructive surgery and minimal invasive surgery (laparoscopy, endoscopy and robotics). Fellows will be actively involved in the clinics, spina bifida clinic and urodynamics. They are expected to undergo rotations in other accredited centers for further training and experience, as well as with other specialties as elective rotations like nephrology, radiology and pediatric surgery. Fellows will participate in all academic activities such as journal club, ground rounds, and conferences. Moreover, with the availability of Research Centre (animal laboratory), fellows will pursue clinical or basic research as a requirement of the fellowship program.

Al Faisal University: Surgical Clerkship Program

Our Department is affiliated with Al Faisal University in providing an exemplary teaching environment for 4th year Medical students. We contribute to many courses of the undergraduate curriculum mainly surgery and subspecialty surgical clerkships and internships. Such courses are organized in close collaboration with the university where our Department staff contribute to other clerkships, as requested, thus achieving a continuously improving tradition of high quality patient care, education, and research.  

Awards and Achievements

  • “Lowest Surgical Service in OR Delays” awarded by Operating Room Management Department, King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre.
  • “Early Discharge Process” awarded by Medical and Clinical Affairs Diamond Award 2015, King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre, 03 June 2015

Contact Information

Telephone:      966-11-442-4307 -  966-11-442-4302 - 966-11-442-4304

Fax:                   966-11-442-4301

Email:              urology@kfshrc.edu.sa

يبقى الهدف الأسمى لقسم المسالك البولية في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي و مركز الأبحاث تقديم رعاية عالية الجودة للمرضى الكبار والأطفال الذين يعانون من اضطرابات في المسالك البولية. وتتكون أنشطة القسم من مزيج فريد من نوعه من الأنشطة السريرية والعلمية المكثفة الهائلة والصعبة التي تعمل على تنشئة القادة المتخصصين في المستقبل.

ويقدم القسم مجموعة كاملة من الرعاية لمرضى المسالك البولية من الكبار والأطفال، بما في ذلك حالات السرطان التي تصيب الأعضاء البولية التناسلية (سرطان الخصية والمثانة والبروستاتة والعضو الذكري وسرطان الكلى و الغدة الكظرية)، والتحكم بالمثانة، والمثانة العصبية، واضطرابات المثانة، والاختلال الجنسي والعقم عند الذكور، والجراحة بالمنظار وجراحة الحصى. ومن بين اهتمامات القسم التركيز على أمراض المسالك البولية والجراحة بمساعدة الروبوت والمثانة العصبية والمسالك البولية النسائية والجراحة الاستبنائية وجراحة الحصى وجراحة البروستات.

 

ويتعامل القسم مع الإحالات لجراحة المسالك البولية عند الأطفال من جميع أنحاء البلاد وجميع أمراض الأعضاء البولية التناسلية، بما في ذلك كافة أشكال انْتِبِاذُ المَثانَة ومرض الصمام وحالات المُبال الحشفي وخلل الرِّفاء الفقري واضطرابات التمايز الجنسي.

يجري القسم 8 إلى 10 عمليات زراعة للمَبالٌ الفَوقانِيٌّ القَضيبِيّ شهرياً، و 12 إلى 15 عملية جراحية لانتزاع اللقاح بالتسليخ المجهري شهرياً بالتعاون مع مختبر الإخصاب الذي أجرى 1080 عملية حقن القَنَواتُ داخِلِ الهَيُولَى في سنة 2014.

كل أطبائنا الجراحين في القسم حائزين على شهادة اختصاص (بورد طبي) في طب المسالك البولية وتلقوا تدريبات في تخصصات دقيقة متعددة، مثل علم الأورام البولية والجراحة البولية بالمنظار والجراحة البولية العصبية والعقم والاختلال الجنسي وطب النساء البولي والجراحة بمساعدة الروبوت وتفتيت الحصى وجميع أنواع أمراض الأعضاء التناسلية البولية. إن هذه التخصصات الدقيقة تمكن الأطباء من تطوير إجراءات مبتكرة واكتساب خبرة عريقة تُترجم إلى نتائج إيجابية لمرضانا.

الخبرة العملية

  • الجراحة بمساعدة الروبوت
    الجراحة بمساعدة الروبوت نوع من الجراحة الغزوية بالحد الأدنى، يستخدم فيها أجهزة الروبوت التي تحاكي الحركات الجراحية. تسمح الجراحة الغزوية بالحد الأدنى للأطباء بالعمل من خلال منافذ صغيرة بدلاً من الشقوق الكبيرة، مما يحقق الاستشفاء في فترات زمنية قصيرة و مضاعفات أقل وفترة إقامة قصيرة في المستشفى. تجمع الجراحة بمساعدة الروبوت ما بين الجراحة المتقدمة بالحد الأدنى والتقنية السريرية المتقدمة جداً. و قد تمت أول عملية جراحية للمسالك البولية في المملكة العربية السعودية هنا في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث.
  • عمليات المنظار
    ثمة زيادة ملحوظة في استخدام الجراحة بالمنظار لعلاج أمراض المسالك البولية، وعلى الأخص جراحة سرطان الخلايا الكلوية بالإضافة إلى إجراءات التظير الترميمي مثل رَأْبُ الحُوَيضَة بالمنظار. لقد تمت أول عملية جراحية لاستئصال المثانة والبروستات في المملكة العربية السعودية هنا في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث.
  • أورام الجهاز البولي

يجمع القسم بين فريق متعدد التخصصات من أطباء علاج أورام الجهاز البولي لتطوير علاجات عصرية من أجل معالجة سرطان البروستات والكلى والمثانة والخصيتين.

  • تفتيت الحصى وعلاج البروستات

يتوفر في القسم جميع المرافق لجراحة وتفتيت الحصى في البروستات، بما في ذلك جميع أنوع الليزر المستخدم في هذه العمليات الجراحية. ويتوفر أيضاً جهاز الصدمات بالموجات الذي يعالج الحصى من خارج الجسم.

  • التعديل العصبي
    يعد مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي و مركز الأبحاث المركز الوحيد في المملكة الذي يستخدم التعديل العصبي لعلاج اضطرابات شاغرة معقدة.
  • شارك قسم علاج المسالك البولية في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث في عملية فصل التوأم السيامي التىي جرت في مدينة الملك عبد العزيز الطبية (الحرس الوطني) في الرياض.
  • علاج أمراض المسالك البولية الترميمية

يتمتع أطباء جراحة المسالك البولية في القسم بخبرة عملية مكثفة في إجراء العمليات الجراحية الترميمية في الكلى والحالب والمثانة ومجرى البول والأعضاء التناسلية الذكرية.

  • طب الذكورة/ علاج العقم

يقدم القسم مجموعة كبيرة من الفحوصات والخدمات التخصصية لتقييم وعلاج العقم عند الرجال. ويتوفر لدى خبراء طب الذكورة مهارات سريرية وجراحية في علاج العقم عند الرجال والاختلال الجنسي، وكل ذلك من أجل خدمة المجتمع على نحو أفضل. وتشارك الدائرة أيضاً وتساند مصرف الأنسجة الخصوية في وحدة مختبر الإخصاب.

 

برامج التدريب

  • برنامج تدريب شهادة الاختصاص في المسالك البولية

برنامج تدريب سريري لمدة خمس (5) سنوات، منها سنة (1) واحدة في الجراحة العامة وأربع (4) سنوات في التدريب على علاج أمراض المسالك البولية. يقدم قسم المسالك البولية أطيافاً متنوعة من خدمات العيادات الخارجية و المرضى المنومين في المستشفى. وتقدم الخدمات الكبرى فرصة واسعة لنمو المعرفة وتعزيز المهارات والتطوير المهني. ويتم إجراء عمليات الجراحة الغزوية بالحد الأدنى وتفتيت الحصى وإجراءات الجراحة بالمنظار (بمساعدة الروبوت). وهناك برامج سريرية أخرى تشمل سلس البول والاختلال البولي وعلاج الاختلال الوظيفي في قاع الحوض وجراحة الحوض الترميمية التي تشمل الإجراءات التشخيصية والعلاجية اللازمة للرعاية الشاملة للمرضى الذين يعانون من هذه المضاعفات. ومن البرامج التي تقدم للمتدربين علاج الحصى في الكلى وعلاج المسالك البولية عند الأطفال وأورام الجهاز البولي وترميم الأعضاء التناسلية البولية وتفتيت الحصى والعقم عند الرجال. وتعقد في القسم بانتظام عدة أنشطة تعليمية جماعية و تشجيع جميع ممارسي علاج المسالك البولية على الاستفادة من فرص ممارسة الدراسات البحثية السريرية أثناء تدريبهم. يقوم المتدرربون بهذه المشاريع تحت الإشراف الدقيق لأعضاء فريق الأطباء المشرفين الذين يقدمون المساعدة في إعداد البحوث للنشر.

 

  • برنامج تدريب الزمالة لأمراض الذكورة وعلاج العقم

يشتمل البرنامج، ومدته (2) سنتان، على تنمية المهارات السريرية ومهارات التعلم على دراسة الأبحاث. ويعمل المرشح تحت الإشراف المباشر لخبراء مدربين على الزمالة ومن ذوي الخبرة في طب الذكورة. تُخصص الزمالة للمرشحين المهتمين بطب الذكورة الأكاديمي، وهو موجه بشكل خاص لأخصائيي جراحة المسالك البولية لكي يصبحوا أكفاء ويكتسبوا جميع المهارات السريرية/الجراحية اللازمة لعلاج العقم عند الذكور والاختلال الجنسي لخدمة المجتمع. وقد يمضي طبيب الزمالة 3 شهور في دورة اختيارية مع أخصائيي علم الأجنة وأمراض النساء في مختبرات الإخصاب لاكتساب معرفة أكبر عن نظام الإنجاب عند النساء وتقنيات الإنجاب المساعدة.

 

  • برنامج تدريب الزمالة لأورام الأعضاء التناسلية

برنامج تدريب لمدة (2) سنتين، يقدم المعرفة والمهارات التي يتم إنجازها خلال برنامج التدريب في تخصص علاج المسالك البولية. تشمل الخبرة العملية الإضافية التحليل الجادّ للمشاكل السريرية المعقدة وتطوير مهارات فنية متقدمة. ينبغي على طبيب الزمالة المتدرب أن يطور مهارات متميزة في تخطيط المنهجيات متعددة التخصصات لرعاية المرضى. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ينبغي على الطبيب المتدرب أيضاً أن يحقق الخبرة العملية في منهجيات البحث السريري والعلمي.

 

  • برنامج تدريب الزمالة في علاج المسالك البولية عند الأطفال

برنامج تدريب شامل لمدة (2) سنتين على علاج المسالك البولية عند الأطفال والمراهقين. بصفته مركز إحالة رئيسي في المملكة العربية السعودية، حيث يتسنى لأطباء الزمالة المتدربون معاينة عدد كبير من المرضى الذين يعانون من مشاكل مختلفة في المسالك البولية، مثل الأمراض ما قبل وما بعد الولادة ومتغيرات الانتباذ والمثانة والمثانة العصبية والأورام والاضطرابات التي تجمع بين الذكورة والأنوثة وتتطلب جراحة ترميمة وجراحة غزوية بالحد الأدنى (جراحة بالمنظار وتنظير داخلي وجراحة بمساعدة الروبوت). وسوف يشارك المرشحون بشكل نشط في العيادت، مثل عيادة شلل الحبل الشوكي وديناميكا البول. ومن المتوقع أن يتلقى المرشحون جولات تدريب في مراكز معتمدة من أجل اكتساب الخبرات مع أخصائيين آخرين في طب الكلى وعلم الأشعة وجراحة الأطفال. وسوف يشارك المرشحون في جميع الأنشطة الأكاديمية، مثل النادي التخصصي والجولات الميدانية والمؤتمرات. علاوة على ذلك، مع توفر مركز الأبحاث (مختبر إجراء الاختبارات على الحيوانات)، سوف يواصل أطباء الزمالة أبحاثهم السريرية كمتطلب لبرنامج الزمالة.

 

جامعة الفيصل: برنامج التدريب السريري الجراحي

يتعاون قسمنا مع جامعة الفيصل في توفير بيئة تعليمية مثالية لطلب التخصص في الطب في السنة الرابعة. نحن نساهم في عدة دورات في منهاج طلاب المرحلة الجامعية، وخصوصاً الجراحة والتخصص الدقيق والتدريب السريري وفترة التخصص في الطب. تُنظم هذه الدورات بالتعاون وثيق الصلة مع الجامعة حيث يشارك فريق العاملين في القسم في دورات تدريب سريرية أخرى حسب الطلب من أجل الاستمرار في تحسين جودة رعاية المرضى والتعليم والأبحاث.