Organization


AUDIOLOGY (Sec)-R

3437

Overview 

The Audiology Clinic:  Serves KFSHRC outpatient and inpatient departments, as well as KFCCC. We provide routine and specialized diagnostic and screening tests of hearing and balance for patients of all ages, as well as prevention and specialized audiological management services ranging from simple amplification devices (i.e. hearing aids) to sophisticated pre/post-cochlear implant management.

 The Aural Rehabilitation Clinic: Provides highest level of rehabilitative services designed to meet the needs of children and adults with hearing impairment, who are using amplification (such as hearing aids, cochlear implants, BAHA, etc.). Pediatric rehabilitation focuses on the development of auditory and language skills in hearing impaired children, supporting their right to listen and communicate using spoken language.

 Number, Types and Ages of Patients Served Annually:

 Audiology clinic serves patients of all types (inpatients/outpatients) and of all ages (newborns to older adults). The number of patients seen per Annum in Audiology clinic = 4658 (number averaged over years 2012, 2013, and 2014).

 Scope and Complexity of Patient Care Needs:

 Identification
-Audiologists develop and oversee hearing screening programs to detect individuals with hearing loss, and allow for early intervention.

Assessment and Diagnosis

Assessment of hearing includes the administration and interpretation of behavioral and electro-physiologic measures of the peripheral and central auditory systems. Assessment of the vestibular system includes administration and interpretation of behavioral and electrophysiologic tests of equilibrium. Assessment is accomplished using standardized testing procedures and appropriately calibrated instrumentation.

Treatment

-The audiologist is the professional who provides the full range of audiologic treatment services for adults and children of all ages who are diagnosed with any impairment of hearing and vestibular function.

-The audiologist is responsible for the evaluation, fitting, and verification of amplification devices and provides counseling and training regarding their use.

-Audiologists also are involved in the treatment of persons with vestibular disorders. They participate as full members of balance treatment teams.

-The audiologist is the member of the implant team (e.g., cochlear implants, middle ear implantable hearing aids, fully implantable hearing aids, bone anchored hearing aids, and all other amplification/signal processing devices) who determines audiologic candidacy based on hearing and communication information, providing pre and postsurgical assessment, counseling, and all aspects of audiologic treatment including auditory training, rehabilitation, implant programming, and maintenance of implant hardware and software.

-The audiologist is a source of information for family members, other professionals and the general public, providing counseling regarding hearing loss, the use of amplification systems, strategies for improving speech recognition, and the effects of hearing loss on communication and psycho-social status in personal, social, and vocational areas.


Hearing Conservation

The audiologist designs, implements and coordinates hearing conservation programs. This includes identification and amelioration of noise-hazardous conditions, identification of hearing loss, recommendation and counseling on use of hearing protection, and employee education. Four preventive programs of hearing screening and monitoring are being offered at the Audiology clinic in KFSHRC:

  • Universal Newborn Hearing Screening of high risk neonates, as well as well babies.
  • Pediatric pre-chemotherapy hearing assessment and monitoring.
  • Baseline hearing assessment of employees working in Laundry unit, and are at risk of noise induced hearing loss.
  • Baseline hearing assessment of employees working in Hyperbaric unit, and are at risk of noise induced hearing loss.

Intraoperative Neurophysiologic Monitoring

Audiologists administer and interpret intraoperative electrophysiologic measurements of neural function.

Quality of provided services:

The Audiology Section ensures that all the services provided meet up to date international standards.

Gallery

Accreditations & Awards

الهيكل التنظيمي


قسم علم السمع

3437

نظرة عامة 

عيادة علم السمع:  تقدم الخدمة لمرضى مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث (KFSHRC) الخارجيين والمرضى المنومين، بالإضافة إلى مركز سرطان الأطفال بمستشفى الملك فيصل (KFCCC). ونحن نقدم اختبارات فحص وتشخيص متخصص وعادي في مجال السمع والتوازن للمرضى من جميع الأعمار، بالإضافة إلى خدمات إدارة العلوم السمعية المتخصصة والوقائية التي تتراوح من أجهزة التكبير البسيطة (على سبيل المثال مساعدات السمع) إلى إدارة عمليات زراعة القوقعة القبلية/البعدية المعقدة.

عيادة إعادة التأهيل السمعية: توفر أعلى مستوى من خدمات إعادة التأهيل المصممة للوفاء باحتياجات الأطفال والبالغين الذي يعانون من ضعف السمع، والذين يستخدمون أدوات مكبرة (مثل مساعدات السمع، زراعات القوقعة، تقنية BAHA (مساعد السمع المثبت بالعظام)، إلى غير ذلك) تركز إعادة التأهيل المتعلقة بالأطفال على تطوير المهارات اللغوية والسمعية لدى الأطفال الذي يعانون من ضعف في السمع، من خلال دعم حقهم في السمع والتواصل باستخدام اللغة المنطوقة.

عدد المرضى الذي تقدم لهم الخدمة سنويًا وفئاتهم وأعمارهم:

 تقدم عيادة علم السمع الخدمة للمرضى من جميع الفئات (المرضى المنومين/مرضى العيادات الخارجية) وجميع الأعمار (من المواليد حتى البالغين وكبار السن). عدد المرضى الذين يتم فحصهم سنويًا في عيادة علم السمع = 4658 (متوسط الرقم على مدار السنوات 2012، 2013، 2014).

 نطاق حاجات رعاية المرضى ومدى أهميتها:

 تحديد الهوية
-يعمل أخصائي علوم السمع على تطوير برامج فحص السمع لاكتشاف الأفراد الذين يعانون من فقد السمع، والإشراف عليها مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار التدخل المبكر.

التقييم والفحص

يشمل تقييم السمع إدارة إجراءات الأجهزة السمعية المركزية والمحيطة الكهربائية الفسيولوجية والسلوكية وتفسيرها. يشمل تقييم الجهاز الدهليزي إدارة اختبارات التوازن الكهربائية الفسيولوجية والسلوكية وتفسيرها. ويتم إجراء التقييم باستخدام إجراءات اختبار قياس وأدوات تقويم مناسبة.

العلاج

-يقدم أخصائي السمع نطاقًا كاملاً من خدمات العلاج السمعي للبالغين والأطفال من جميع الأعمار الذين يتم تشخيص إصابتهم بأي حالة من حالات ضعف السمع ووظيفة دهليز السمع.

 -يتحمل اخصائي السمع مسؤولية تقييم أجهزة تكبير الصوت وتركيبها والتحقق منها، ويوفر الاستشارة والتدريب المتعلق باستخدامها.

-يشارك أخصائيوا علم السمع أيضًا في علاج الأشخاص الذين يعانون من اضطرابات دهليز السمع. ويشاركون أيضًا كأعضاء بفرق معالجة التوازن.

-أخصائي السمع هو عضو في فريق زراعة الأجهزة (على سبيل المثال عمليات زراعة القوقعة، ومساعدات السمع القابلة للزرع في الأذن الوسطى، ومساعدات السمع القابلة للزرع بشكل كامل، وجميع أجهزة معالجة الإشارات/تكبير الصوت الأخرى) الذي يحدد الالتهاب السمعي بناء على معلومات السمع والتواصل، من خلال تقديم تقييم قبل إجراء الجراحة وبعدها، والاستشارة، وجميع جوانب العلاج السمعي بما في ذلك التدريب السمعي وإعادة التأهيل وبرمجة زراعة الأجهزة وصيانة برامج وأجهزة الزرع.

-أخصائي السمع مصدر للمعلومات عن أفراد العائلة والمهنيين الآخرين والجمهور العام، من خلال تقديم الاستشارة المتعلقة بفقد السمع، واستخدام أنظمة تكبير الصوت، واستراتيجيات تحسين إدراك التخاطب، وتأثيرات فقد السمع على حالة النفسية الاجتماعية والتواصل في المناطق الشخصية والاجتماعية والمهنية.

الحفاظ على السمع

يقوم أخصائي السمع بتصميم برامج الحفاظ على السمع وزراعتها والتنسيق بينها. ويشمل هذا التعرف على حالات مخاطر الضوضاء وتحسينها، والتعرف على فقد السمع، وتقديم التوصية والاستشارة بخصوص استخدام حماية السمع وتثقيف الموظفين. يتم تقديم أربعة برامج وقائية لفحص السمع ومراقبته في عيادة السمع في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث (KFSHRC):

  • الفحص الشامل لسمع المواليد الجدد بالنسبة للمواليد ذوي الخطورة العالية، بالإضافة إلى الأطفال الذين يتمتعون بصحة جيدة.
  • تقييم السمع للأطفال قبل العلاج الكيميائي ومتابعته.
  • التقييم الأساسي لسمع الموظفين العاملين في المغسلة والذين يتعرضون لخطر فقد السمع المحدث بالضوضاء.
  • التقييم الأساسي لسمع الموظفين العاملين في وحدة الضغط العالي والذين يتعرضون لخطر فقد السمع المحدث بالضوضاء.

المراقبة النفسية والعصبية في أثناء إجراء العملية

يقوم أخصائي السمع بإدارة القياسات الكهربائية الفسيولوجية في أثناء إجراء العملية للوظيفة العصبية وتفسيرها.

 جودة الخدمات المقدمة:

 يضمن قسم السمع أن تفي جميع الخدمات المقدمة بأحدث المعايير الدولية.

 

الصور

شهادات الاعتماد والجوائز