CRITICAL CARE MED DEPARTMENT - RIYADH

3537

Overview

The Department of Critical Care Medicine operates a "closed" ICU with 53 beds for adult medical and surgical patients.  Annual admissions average 1850. We provide tertiary care facilities for critically ill patients based on evidence-based practices and state-of-the-art technology.  Our multidisciplinary medical team consists of 17 consultant intensivists, 15 assistant intensivists, 4 fellows and 3 permanent and 8-10 rotating residents. KFSH&RC is the largest transplant center in the area, in our ICU, we take care of patients with solid organ transplant, including liver, lung and kidney in addition to bone marrow transplant. We have an active neurosurgery and oncology surgery dealing with complex surgical cases. Respiratory therapists provide continuous on-site support for patients with acute and chronic respiratory failure, and an experienced multinational nursing staff provides1:1 cover for all critically ill patients. Critical Care Medicine provides quality care to severely ill patients and working to optimize resource utilization and increase the ability to manage patient needing life support, locally in special lower care areas such as High Dependency Unit or Home Mechanical Ventilation Program, and nationally through the Tele-ICU Program.

Mission

The mission of the Department of Critical Care Medicine is to provide the highest quality medical care to adults in critical condition in a setting that bestows education to future adult critical care providers and leaders and promotes relevant research in line with the General Organization’s mission.

Goals

  • To provide the highest up to date quality adult critical care, and ascertain improvement of patient care through its assimilation into the hospital’s integrated database, with capability to report measurement indicators and medical errors, standardizing care by applying best practices in the form of care bundles, protocols, and preprinted order forms, ensuring adequate staffing to deliver safe effective care, and training of medical staff on the methods and principles of performance improvement and patient safety.
  • To improve patient access to adult critical care through regular meetings with representatives of the other departments to facilitate proper utilization of resources, timely discharge of patients, availability of beds for surgery case, and timely admission of urgent cases.
  • To effectively run the Home Ventilation Program, continuously refining the Program and ensuring availability of adequate infrastructure to sustain the Program.
  • To train staff to become leaders in the field of adult critical care, attracting Saudi and international fellows, Saudi residents from other Hospitals, establishing an effective orientation program for trainees, providing adequate supervision to ensure proper training and safe patient care, and ensuring that consultants are up to date and are receiving proper training on new technologies.
  • To conduct relevant research, through the establishment of a support research infrastructure, identifying priority research areas, establishment of collaboration with the Research Center, as well as other national and international research groups.
  • To create an adult ICU “without walls”, through the creating of a virtual adult ICU and through support of the Rapid response Team functions at KFSH&RC (General Organization).
  • To improve care of terminally ill patients, through educating patients, families and healthcare providers on the importance of identifying barriers to end of life planning and of advanced directives pertinent to end of life planning, and through establishment of a multidisciplinary team to care for the patients and their families

Achievements:

  • Collaborating with other institutions for multi-center research projects
  • Training all ACCM MDs for Advanced ultrasound use in ICU
  • Continuously providing support to Rapid Response Team.
  • Implementation of paperless ICU

 

 

 

Gallery

Accreditations & Awards

طب الرعاية الحرجة

3537

نظرة عامة

يدير قسم الرعاية الحرجة وحدة العناية المركزة التي تحتوي على عدد 53 سرير للمرضى الكبار ذوي الحالات الطبية والجراحية بمعدل 1850 حالة تنويم في السنة. يوفر القسم مرافق الرعاية للمرضى ذوي الحالات الحرجة بناء على الممارسات المبنية على البراهين وأحدث التقنيات.  لدينا فريق طبي متعدد التخصصات يتكون من 17 استشاري في العناية المركزة و15 مساعد للعناية المركزة و4 أطباء زمالة و3 أطباء دائمين ومن 8-10 أطباء مقيمين بالتناوب. يُعد مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث أكبر مركز زراعة أعضاء بالمنطقة حيث يتم رعاية جميع مرضى زراعة الأعضاء الصلبة التي تشمل الكبد والرئة والكلى بالإضافة إلى زراعة النخاع العظمي في وحدة العناية المركزة الخاصة بنا. كما نقدم الرعاية لمرضى جراحات الأعصاب وجراحات الأورام و التعامل مع الحالات الجراحية المعقدة. يقدم أطباء الجهاز التنفسي دعم متواصل بوحدةالعناية المركزة للمرضى الذين يعانون من صعوبات التنفس الحادة والمزمنة بمساعدة فريق تمريض متعدد الجنسيات يتمتع بالخبرة الواسعة والذي يوفر رعاية كاملة بنسبة ممرض لكل مريض 1:1 لجميع الحالات الحرجة. يقدم قسم طب الرعاية الحرجة رعاية نوعية للحالات المرضية الحادة ويعمل على تحقيق الاستفادة القصوى من الموارد المتاحة لزيادة القدرة على علاج المرضى الذين يحتاجون لخدمات دعم الحياة محليًا في المناطق التي تعاني من رعاية متدنية مثل وحدة العناية الفائقة أو برنامج التنفس الصناعي المنزلي وعلى مستوى البلد من خلال برنامج وحدة العناية المركزة عن بعد.

الرؤية

تتمثل رؤية قسم طب الرعاية الحرجة في تقديم رعاية طبية فائقة الجودة للحالات الحرجة لدى الكبار  في مكان يوفر التعليم لمقدمي وقادة الرعاية الحرجة للكبار وتعزيز البحوث المتعلقة بهذا المجال بالتوافق مع رؤية المؤسسة العامة.

الأهداف

  • تقديم الرعاية الحرجة للكبار بأعلى وأحدث جودة وضمان تحسن رعاية المريض من خلال استيعابها في قاعدة البيانات المتكاملة بالمستشفى، مع القدرة على تسجيل مؤشرات القياس والأخطاء الطبية، توحيد مقاييس الرعاية بتطبيق الممارسات المثلى في شكل حزم الرعاية والبروتوكولات ونماذج الأمر المطبوعة وضمان تعيين الفريق المناسب لتوفير رعاية فعالة آمنة وتدريب الفريق الطبي على الطرق والمبادئ الخاصة بتحسن الأداء وسلامة المريض.
  • تحسين وصول المريض للرعاية الحرجة للكبار من خلال الاجتماع المنتظم مع الممثلين من الأقسام الأخرى لتيسير الاستخدام الأمثل للموارد وتخريج المرضى في الوقت الملائم وتوافر الأسرة لحالات الجراحة والتسجيل في الوقت المناسب للحالات الجراحية.
  • إدارة برنامج رعاية التنفس المنزلي بفاعلية وتنقيح البرنامج باستمرار وضمان توافر البنية التحتية الكافية لاستمرار البرنامج.
  • تدريب الفريق الطبي ليصبحوا قادة ورواد في مجال الرعاية الحرجة للكبار وجذب أطباء الزمالة السعوديين والأجانب، والأطباء المقيمين السعوديين من المستشفيات الأخرى؛ وإرساء برنامج توجيه فعال للمتدربين، وتقديم الإشراف المناسب لضمان تقديم التدريب المناسب ورعاية المرضى الآمنة والتأكد من أن الاستشاريين لديهم المعرفة الحديثة ويتلقون التدريب المناسب على أحدث التقنيات.
  • إجراء البحثوث المتعلقة، من خلال تأسيس البنية التحتية الداعمة للبحث وتحديد مجالات البحث ذات الأولوية و التعاون مع مركز الأبحاث و مجموعات الأبحاث الوطنية والدولية الأخرى.
  • إنشاء وحدة للعناية المركزة للكبار "بدون جدران" من خلال إنشاء وحدة عناية مركزة افتراضية ومن خلال دعم وظائف فريق الاستجابة السريعة بمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث (مؤسسة عامة).
  • تحسين الرعاية للمرضى الميؤوس من شفائهم من خلال تثقيف المرضى والعائلات ومقدمي الرعاية الصحية بشأن أهمية تحديد قيود التخطيط لإنهاء الحياة وبشأن التوجيهات المتقدمة للتخطيط لإنهاء الحياة و من خلال تكوين فريق متعدد التخصصات لرعاية المرضى وعائلاتهم.

الإنجازات:

  • التعاون مع مؤسسات طبية أخرى لعدة مشاريع بحثية متعددة المراكز
  • تدريب جميع الأطباء المعتمدين في طب العنية الحرجة ACCM MDs  للاستخدام المتقدم للأشعة فوق السمعية في وحدة العناية المركزة.
  • تقديم الدعم المستمر لفريق الاستجابة السريعة.
  • تنفيذ وحدة عناية مركزة بدون أوراق (الكتروني).

 

الصور

شهادات الاعتماد والجوائز