Organization


GAMMA IRRADIATION FACILITY Unit - Riyadh

4521

Gamma irradiation is a simple and safe process involving the exposure of products to radiation from an intense cobalt-60 gamma source, for a pre-determined time so as to receive a prescribed sterilizing dose. Being a 'cold' process, heat-sensitive materials like plastics can be effectively sterilized so as to be extensively used for manufacturing of medical products with flexibility in packaging and shape of the products.

The Gamma Irradiation Facility (GIF) aim is to provide gamma irradiation services for sterilization, disinfection and radiation effect studies for KFSH&RC departments and healthcare products' manufacturers in the Kingdom.

GIF was established in 1980 for the sterilization of healthcare products at KFSH&RC. Nowadays, GIF offers commercial sterilization services to manufacturers of healthcare and pharmaceutical products. Consequently, single use, pre-packed and sterilized health care products have become available on a large scale. The products commonly sterilized by gamma radiation include cotton products (e.g., gauze and dressings), metallic products (e.g., tubes, needles and surgical blades), pharmaceuticals (e.g., ophthalmic ointments and antibiotic powders), plastic and rubber products (e.g., gloves, catheters and Petri dishes), contraceptives, sutures and beauty and cosmetic powders. All processing parameters are validated by international standards such as IAEA, & ISO-11137 guidelines for operation of gamma sterilization irradiators.

We expose products to gamma radiation at different doses to produce sterilization or disinfection, conduct scientific experiments on materials to study the effect of radiation and its compatibility with sterilization and advise our customers on compatibility of packaging materials and good manufacturing practice.

Gallery

Accreditations & Awards

الهيكل التنظيمي


وحدة أشعة غاما

4521

إن التعقيم باستخدام أشعة جاما عملية بسيطة وآمنة تشمل تعريض المنتجات للإشعاع من مصدر لهذه الأشعة (كالكوبالت-60) لمدة زمنية مُحددة سلفًا للحصول على جرعة تعقيم محددة . ولكونها عملية "باردة"، فمن الممكن تعقيم المواد الحساسة للحرارة مثل البلاستيك بشكلٍ فعال بحيث يتسنى استخدامها على نطاق واسع في تصنيع المنتجات الطبية مع توافر مرونة في التعبئة والتغليف وشكل المنتجات.

ويهدف مرفق أشعة جاما (GIF) إلى تقديم خدمات إشعاعية للتعقيم وإبادة الجراثيم وإجراء دارسات تأثير الإشعاع لأقسام مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث المهتمة ، ولكثير من الجهات المختصة بتصنيع منتجات الرعاية الصحية في المملكة .

تأسس مرفق أشعة جاما لتعقيم منتجات الرعاية الصحية في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث في عام 1980. أما اليوم ، فيُقدم مرفق أشعة جاما خدمات التعقيم التجاري لمصانع منتجات الرعاية الصحية والمستحضرات الصيدلانية . ونتيجة لذلك ، أصبحت منتجات الرعاية المعقمة مسبقة التعبئة وذات الاستخدام الوحيد متوفرة على نطاق واسع . ومن أمثلة ذلك المنتجات القطنية (مثل الشاش والضمادات) ، والمنتجات المعدنية (مثل الأنابيب والإبر والشفرات الجراحية) ، والمستحضرات الصيدلانية (مثل المراهم العينية ومساحيق المضادات الحيوية) ، والمنتجات البلاستيكية والمطاطية (مثل القفازات والقسطرة وأطباق الزروع البكتيرية – بتري دشز-) وكذلك وسائل منع الحمل وخيوط خياطة الجروح ومساحيق التجميل .

لقد حظيت جميع مؤشرات المعالجة في (مركز الأبحاث) بالمصادقة طبقًا للمعايير الدولية مثل معايير الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية وتوجيهات المواصفة القياسية [ISO-11137] لاستخدام أشعة تعقيم جاما .

يقوم هذا القسم ، بالاضافة إلى تعريض المنتجات لأشعة جاما بجرعات مختلفة من أجل التعقيم أو إبادة الجراثيم، بإجراء تجارب علمية على المواد لدراسة تأثير الإشعاع عليها ومدى توافقه مع عملية التعقيم ، كما نقدم المشورة لعملائنا بشأن توافق مواد التعبئة والتغليف وأفضل الممارسات التصنيعية .

الصور

شهادات الاعتماد والجوائز