Organization


MOLECULAR ONCOLOGY DEPARTMENT - RIYADH

5785

The Molecular Oncology is a newly established department with the major goals to enhance the understanding of the molecular basis of cancer, to act as a catalyst for translational cancer research, and to promote the movement of that knowledge into the prevention and management cancer. The Department is composed of 5 different sections, which study various types of neoplasms, including breast and thyroid cancers. Our main objectives are to participate in understanding the molecular and cellular basis of cancer onset and spread, to identify novel and potent anti-cancer agents, and to search for genetic and epigenetic biomarkers relevant for diagnostic and prognostic purposes.

Achievements:

  • We have shown that obesity is a major risk factor for breast cancer among Saudi females.
  • We have identified BRCA1 methylation-related molecular changes, which further confirmed the importance of this epigenetic change as early detection molecular biomarker for breast cancer.
  • IL-6 plays a major role in the cross-talk between breast cancer cells and their microenvironment.
  • The RNA binding protein AUF1 is a major cancer promoting factor, and potential prognostic/predictive marker for different types of cancer.
  •  Determination of age-specific gene expression signatures for breast tumors: Towards understanding the genetic behind early onset breast cancer.
  • Curcumin can neutralize active breast stromal fibroblasts through the induction of senescence: Possibility to target tumor microenvironment for better treatment.
  • Determination of the prevalence of PIK3CA mutations and the SNPrs17849079 in Saudi breast cancer patients: Possible use as biomarker.
  • Demonstrate that TERT promoter mutations are relatively common in thyroid cancer among middle eastern population.

Sections

The department is composed of Five Sections:

  1. Breast Cancer Research  

Head: Dr. Suad Al-Abdullah(Bin Amer)

BREAST CANCER is the most frequently diagnosed cancer and the leading cause of cancer deaths in women. Therefore, it is imperative to establish a thorough research program on this disease to elucidate its genetic and environmental causes, which are important for cancer prevention and treatment. The major aim of this section is to perform molecular profiling of breast cancer in Saudi population to uncover the heterogeneity of this disease and to offer novel insights into tumorigenesis and therapy management. We are also investigating the possible use of circulating methylated DNA and miRNAs as potential biomarkers for diagnosis and prognosis.

    2. Cancer Biology and Experimental Therapeutics

Head: Dr. Abdelilah Aboussekhra

CANCER remains a major cause of morbidity and mortality worldwide. The mission of the Cancer Biology & Experimental Therapeutics (CB&ET) section is to provide outstanding research contributions in the fundamental mechanisms of carcinogenesis and also in discovering natural non-toxic molecules that can be used for prevention and/or treatment of cancer. Therefore, research activities in this section focus on aging, obesity, breast carcinoma-stroma cross-talk and experimental therapeutics. Specific molecules currently under investigation include p16, CHK2, ATR, AUF1, and natural nontoxic molecules with anti-cancer properties such as eugenol, caffeine and curcumin analogues.

  1. Cancer Epigenetics

Head: Dr. Nisreen Al-Moghrabi

EPIGENETICS is an exciting and evolving area of research that offers a valuable opportunity to identify cancer-specific changes, which can enable early detection and also be used in the clinic to improve diagnosis and prognosis of treated patients. Recent findings indicate epigenetic modifications as key factors in breast carcinogenesis. The main aims of this section are to determine the possible use of promoter methylation of different breast cancer-related genes in white blood cells as early detection biomarkers, in addition to the identification of potential correctors of these changes.

  1. Molecular Endocrinology

Head: Dr. Ali Al-Zahrani

The MOLECULAR ENDOCRINOLOGY section focuses on two main areas. The first is translational research on endocrine neoplasms, exploring the role of certain oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes in the pathogenesis of endocrine cancer and studying genetic mechanism of endocrine tumors. We are also interested in the clinical aspects of molecular findings in these tumors relating the

  1. Translational Cancer Research

Head: Dr. Bedri Karakas

In the era of personalized and targeted therapies TRANSLATIONAL CANCER RESEARCH is fundamental in translating the fundamental findings into clinical practice. Therefore, the major aim of this section is to participate in bridging the gap between basic cancer research and clinical cancer care that is relevant to the local patient population. We have been working to bring promising molecular diagnostic technologies into clinical use. We are particularly interested in non-invasive methods to follow up cancer treatment response and early detection of relapses using blood circulating tumor DNA as a biomarker. Additionally, we are involved in identifying the mutational frequencies of important oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes in the Saudi breast cancer population.

Accreditation or Awards

  • Publication of the Year Awards
  • Suad M. Bin Amer, Arab Woman Award 2014, Nationwide winner in the category of medicine
    (Breast Cancer Research and Awareness, February 23, 2014)

Gallery

Accreditations & Awards

الهيكل التنظيمي


قسم علوم  الأورام الجزيئية

5785

يعتبر هذا القسم من الأقسام حديثة الإنشاء في مركز الأبحاث التابع لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث. يسعى هذا القسم لفهم الأسس الجزيئية لمرض السرطان، والمساعدة على نقل نتائج البحوث  إلى تطبيقات علاجية سريرية ، والعمل على استثمار معرفتنا للأغراض الوقائية والتشخيصية والعلاجية. يتألف القسم من (5) وحدات بحتية ، مهمتها دراسة مختلف أنواع الأورام السرطانية، بما في ذلك (سرطان الثدي)، و(سرطان الغدة الدرقية).

يتمثل هدفنا الأساسي في محاولة فهم الأسس الجزيئية لهذا المرض، بداياته وكيفية انتشاره ، وذلك من أجل إيجاد مضادات جديدة وفعالة، ولغرض البحث عن أسبابه الوراثية، وشبه الوراثية (من العلامات الحيوية المناسبة التي توسمه)، والتي لها الفائدة والأهمية في العلاج وكذا توقع تطور المرض.

الإنجازات:

1.أثبتنا علاقة السمنة بالإصابة بسرطان الثدي لدى الأناث في المملكة العربية السعودية.

2. توضيح التغيرات الجزيئية المرتبطة بوجود مثيلة BRCA1 في خلايا الدم البيضاء عند النساء السعوديات السليمات والمصابات بسرطان الثدي: خطوة إلى الأمام نحو إمكانية الإكتشاف المبكر لسرطان الثدي.

3. تحديد IL6 كلاعب رئيسي في التأثير المتبادل بين خلايا سرطان الثدي و الخلايا المحيطة بها.

4.أثبتنا أن الجين AUF1 يلعب دورا مواليا لتكوين وانتشارالسرطان، كما يمكن أن يلعب دورا هاما   في توقع تصرف أنواع مختلفة من هذا المرض.

5.تحديد الجينات المسؤولة عن التكون المبكر لسرطان الثدي عند السعوديات، لفهم الأسباب الوراثية المؤدية إلى الظهور المبكر للمرض.

6.اكتشاف دور جزيء الكركم في إخماد نشاط الخلايا الليفية المجاورة للخلايا السرطانية وتثبيط مفعولها الموالي للسرطان: خطوة إلى الأمام نحو تحسين العلاج.

7.تحديد مدى انتشار الطفرات الوراثية في الجين (PIK3CA ) عند مرضى سرطان الثدي السعوديات، واحتمال استعمالها كمؤشرات حيوية على تطور المرض واستجابته للأدوية .

8. إثبات وجود طفرات في محفز الجين طيرط (TERT) في سرطان الغدة الدرقية عند الخليجيين.

الوحدات البحثية الملحقة بهذا القسم:

هناك (5) وحدات بحثية ملحقة هي:

1.أبحاث سرطان الثدي: (برئاسة الدكتورة: سعاد بن عامر العبد الله)

يعتبر سرطان الثدي أكثر أنواع هذا المرض تشخيصا  والسبب الأول للوفيات بالسرطان في المملكة، وهكذا برزت الحاجة الملحة لإنشاء برنامج أبحاث موسع يتناول دراسة هذا المرض للكشف عن مسبباته الوراثية والبيئية، مما سيساعد علي الوقاية منه وعلاجه. هدف الوحدة إجراء الكشوفات الجزيئية لمواصفات المرض في المملكة لفهم مختلف أنواعه وللتوصل لفهم جديد لطريقة تكونه ومحاولة علاجه. تقوم هذه الوحدة كذلك بالبحث عن إمكانية الإستفادة من الجزيئيات الموجودة في دم المريضات كعلامات حيوية تساعدنا في تشخيص هذا المرض ، وفي توقع كيفية تصرفه وتطوره.

 2. وحدة أبحاث بيولوجيا السرطان والتداوي التجريبي (برئاسة الدكتور عبد الإله أبو صخرة)

يعتبر السرطان من أهم الأخطار المؤدية للوفاة ومن  رواد مسبباتها. تهتم هذه الوحدة بإجراء البحوث لمحاولة فهم أساسيات عملية التسرطن، وكذا محاولة الكشف عن الجزيئات الطبيعية (غير السامة) والتي قد يمكن استخدامها للوقاية من السرطان، أو في علاج هذا المرض.

تركز أبحاث ودراسات هذه الوحدة  على محاولة فهم مدا تأثير الشيخوخة ، والسمنة في التسرطن، والعلاقة بين الخلايا السرطانية و الخلايا السليمة المحيطة بها، والبحث التجريبي لإيجاد العلاج للمرض. تقوم الشعبة حاليا بالبحث عن دور بعض الجينات (p16 ، وCHK2 ، وATR ، وAUF1) في عملية التسرطن، و كذا تجريب مفعول بعض الجزيئات الطبيعية (غير السامة)، والتي لها مواصفات مضادة للمرض (كاليوجينول)، و (الكافايين) ومشابهاتهما.

3. وحدة أبحاث التغيرات الفوق جينية للسرطان (برئاسة الدكتورة نسرين المغربي)

تعتبر دراسة  التغيراتات الفوق جينية  مجال بحثي مهم ومشوق إذ يمكن من تحديد بعض التغيرات السرطانية والتي ممكن أن تمكّن من التحري المبكر عن السرطان (كما قد تستعمل لتحسين فرص تشخيصه ، وتوقع تصرفه ، وعلاجه).

أثبتت الإكتشافات الحديثة أهمية  التغيراات الفوق جينية  كعامل مؤثر في تطور عملية تكون المرض. يتمثل الهدف الرئيسي لهذه الوحدة في البحث عن إمكانية استعمال  التغيرات الفوق جينية في العديد من المورثات التي لها علاقة بسرطان الثدي في خلايا الدم البيضاء ، وامكانية استعمالها كعلامات تحري مبكرة عن المرض . هذا كما نحاول البحث عن العوامل المحتملة التي من شأنها تصحيح هذه التغيرات

4. وحدة أبحاث الغدد الصماء الجزيئية (برئاسة الدكتور علي الزهراني)

تهتم  هذه الوحدة بـ:

 أ- البحث عن مسببات سرطانات الغدد الصماء: ودور بعض المورثات (والمورثات المثيطة للسرطان)  في إحداثها ، ودراسة الأسس الوراثية لذلك . كما نهتم بالأسس الجزيئية (السريرية)  لهذه الأورام ، وأنواعها . الهدف هنا: هو في تحديد الأسس الجزيئية لمختلف الأنواع السريرية لأورام الغدد الصماء ودراسة الأعراض والعلامات التي تصاحبها، وكيفية استجابتها للعلاج، وتوقع تصرفات المرض.

ب- دراسة أنواع الزيغ الوراثي المصاحبة لعدد من أمراض الغدد الصماء (كالمتلازمات المتضادة للهرمونات)، وداء نقص فعالية الغدة الدرقية الوراثي ، والتغيرات المرضية المصاحبة للتطور الجنسي , وداء فرط الضغط الشرياني الوراثي المتسبب عن اختلالات  غدّية صماء ، وغيرها.

5. وحدة أبحاث السرطان التطبيقية (برئاسة الدكتور بدري كاراكاس)

تبرز أهمية هذه الوحدة في الوقت الذي تزداد فيه أهمية ممارسة الطب الشخصي والعلاجات الموجهة. نحاول ترجمة معرفتنا إلى ممارسة سريرية فعالة، وعليه يتجسد هدف هذه الوحدة في محاولة جسر الهوة ما بين أبحاث السرطان الأساسية وممارسات المعالجة السريرية التي تهم المرضى السعوديين. نعمل في هذه الوحدة جاهدين لايجاد سبل تطبيق  نتائج أبحاثنا (فيما يخص بعض الجزيئات والتقنيات التي تساعد على التشخيص) في الممارسة السريرية . نهتم كذلك بتطوير الأساليب (غير الباضعة) في متابعة الإستجابة لعلاج المرض، والتحري المبكر عن انتكاساته، وذلك بمتابعة الحامض النووي المحتوي على طفرات سرطانية في دم المريضات كمؤشر حيوي عن المرض، تطوره وكذا علاجه.

نهتم كذلك بتحديد مدا انتشاربعض الطفرات الوراثية لبعض المورّثات (السرطانية) الهامة و (المورّثات المثبطة للسرطان) عند السعوديين المصابين بالمرض.

الصور

شهادات الاعتماد والجوائز