INFECTION AND IMMUNITY DEPARTMENT - RIYADH

5787

About

The Department of Infection and Immunity (DII) of the Research Centre is tasked to provide molecular solutions to problems in infectious diseases due to pathogens through the application of modern methods of molecular and translational research, as well as educating the broader community on related issues. It endeavors to be of excellence in research related to infection and immunity and in training nationals on methods applied to this field. Among the areas to be investigated are molecular epidemiology of infectious agents, discovery of possible oncogenic pathogens (such as HBV, HCV, HPV, and Helicobacter pylori) and influenza viruses, tracing and identification of nosocomial pathogens using PFGE and MLST, mechanisms, associated with antimicrobial resistance, cellular immune response to infectious agents, development and evaluation of vaccines, microbial genetics and genomics, transplantation and HIV infection research, tuberculosis research, and microbial molecular diagnostics.

 

Principle Activates

  • Submit project proposals, for approval and funding that generate competitive research and development ideas.
  • Conduct world-class research on infectious agents and body defenses, especially those concerning transplantation infections, oncology and microbial genetics (such as hepatitis viruses, human papilloma viruses and herpes viruses).
  • Develop tests needed by physicians for patient care and disease diagnosis.
  • Initiate basic research work on microbes of special importance (such as human immunodeficiency viruses).
  • Collaborate with colleagues and physicians for providing solutions to medical problems, and with scholars nationally, regionally and internationally to produce quality and cooperative research.
  • Investigate mechanisms underlying diseases of importance to the Saudi population.
  • Pay specific attention to emerging (respiratory and hemorrhagic infections) and reemerging infectious agents (tuberculosis and malaria).
  • Publish original scientific articles in peer-reviewed, international journals.
  • Create postgraduate and training programs to improve the local field of infection and immunity.
  • Provide courses and seminars to the public, as well as important information through social and public media.
  • Maintains prescriptions and ensures the correct remedies and prophylaxis are provided to infectious agents.

 

Sections

  • Immunocompromised Host

This newly-established Section will offer an integrated, multidisciplinary approach in the field of transplant and infectious diseases research. It will involve all aspects of basic, clinical and translational research, as well as awareness programs devoted to patients with an increased risk for infections. It will establish a high level of patient treatment and survival.

  • Microbial Pathogenesis

Microbial infections can be life-threatening if not diagnosed and treated properly. However, in order to do that, the mechanism by which the disease is manifested must be explored. Virulence and other factors contributing to disease establishment are the focus of investigations. All studies in this area will enable the understanding of evolution of emerging and re-emerging infections.

  • Molecular Virology

Viruses are ubiquitous infectious agents that cause various diseases in humans. Many viral diseases exist; some are emerging while others are prevalent in certain parts of the world. Viral hepatitis, caused by hepatitis B virus (HBV) and hepatitis C virus (HCV), could develop into hepatocellular carcinoma and is important in Saudi Arabia with high morbidity. In addition to infections with influenza viruses and human papillomaviruses (HPV), it is prudent to investigate the molecular epidemiology of these viruses as well as problems encountered in their treatment.

  • Mycobacteriology

Tuberculosis has not been brought under control. Many factors may contribute to endemicity of the disease in Saudi Arabia. These include huge number of expatriates and influx of pilgrims coming endemic areas. In addition, the country lacks basic data about the disease. Several projects are being performed in this Section in an attempt to understand the dynamics and extent of the problem.

  • Journal of Infection in Developing Countries (JIDC) Office

JIDC is a peer-reviewed, international scientific journal that was inaugurated in 2007 as a non-profit organization, particularly to assist those scholars who may not be able to publish in Western journals for reasons other than science. If the submitted manuscript lacks certain criteria, it is mentored. Over a few years, it reached an Impact Factor of 1.2. The JIDC headquarters is in Sassari, Sardinia, Italy, with global Regional Offices. Currently there are five Regional Offices in China (International Institute of Infection and Immunity, Shantou University Medical College, Shantou, China), Spain (Hospital Clínico Universitario de Valladolid, National Centre of Influenza, Valladolid, Spain), Canada (University Health Network, Toronto, Canada), Turkey (Marmara University, Department of Clinical Microbiology, Istanbul, Turkey), and Brazil (Food Science and Technology Institute of the Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, Brazil). Taken the advantage of having a Senior Editor of the JIDC from our Hospital, KFSH&RC is hosting a Regional Office under the Department of Infection and Immunity in the Research Centre. This Office, which was formally approved on 11 June 2012 will promote the Journal’s diffusion among scholars, physicians, scientists, students, and the general public in the country and in the region as well as organize meetings on hot topics including but not limited to emerging infections, antibiotic policies, advanced diagnostic methods, and management of infections.

Gallery

Accreditations & Awards

العدوى والمناعة

5787

مقدمة

تتركز جهود قسم الالتهابات والمناعة في مركز الأبحاث التابع لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث في إيجاد حلولاً جزيئية لمشاكل الأمراض المُعديه التي تسببها مختلف العوامل المرضية ، بإتباع الطرق الحديثة في اجراء البحوث الجزيئية والمُترجَمه إلي فوائد ملموسه ، كما ويبذل القسم جهودا كبيرة في تعليم وتوعية المجتمع فيما يتعلق بمثل هذه الأمراض ، و يسعى القسم للحصول علي التميُّزفي مجال الأبحاث التي لها علاقة بالإلتهابات والمناعه للأمراض المُعدية ، كما يقوم بتدريب السعوديين على ممارسة طرق البحث التطبيقية الحديثة في هذا المجال.

 

ويتم في هذا القسم حاليا الدراسات التاليه:

  • دراسة وبائيات الأمراض المُعديَه
  • تحديد وتشخيص مُسببات مَرضيه مُعديَه جديده أو متحوّره من جراثيم معروفه باستخدام طرق البحث الجزيئية مثل دراسات على فيروسات الإنفلونزا والجهاز التنفسي
  • إجراء أبحاث علي المستوي الخلوي والجزيئي والمناعي علي الجراثيم المشاركه في إحداث أورام خبيثه مثل فيروسات الإلتهاب الكبدي من نوعي بي وسي (أو ب و ج) ، والفايروس الحليمي البشري وعلاقته بسرطان الرحم لدي النساء ، وجرثومة الملوية البوابية (هيليكوباكتر بايلوري) وعلاقتها بسرطان المَعِدَه
  • متابعة وتعيين مختلف أنواع عوامل الاصابة بالأمراض التي منشأها المستشفيات ، أو ذوي المهن الصحية باستعمال تقنيات حديثه مثل النبض الحقلي للهلام الكهربائي (PFGE) والتسلسل التنويعي متعدد المواقع (MLST)
  • التعرُّف على مختلف الخطوات المصاحبة لتكوّن وتطوّر المناعة ضد الأدويه البكتيرية والمضادات الحيويه
  • دراسة تكوّن المناعة الخلوية في الإلتهابات الفيروسيه ، وكذلك تطوير وتقييم اللقاحات
  • بحث ودراسة علم الــوراثة الخاص بالجراثيم ، وكل ما له علاقة بالمورِّثات وبالبروتينات التي تولّدها ، وبمجموعة الجزيئات التي تكون المادة البروتينية
  • أبحاث الإلتهابات المصاحبه لزراعة الأعضاء ، وأبحاث الإصابة بفيروس نقص المناعة المكتسب ومتابعة حالات المرضي بهذا الداء ، وأبحاث مرض السل ، وتطوير الأساليب التشخيصية الجزيئيه

 

الأنشطة العامة

  • بذل الجهود للحصول على الإعانات المالية لأغراض الأبحاث العلمية
  • إجراء أبحاث بمعايير عالمية على المسببات للأمراض المعدية و الجهاز المناعي، خاصة تلك التي تتعلق بعدوى زراعة الأعضاء، والأورام وعلم الوراثة الميكروبية (مثل فيروسات التهاب الكبد والفيروسات الورم الحليمي البشري وفيروس الهربس)
  • تطوير الفحوصات التي يحتاجها الأطباء لرعاية المرضى وتشخيص المرض
  • الشروع في عمل بحث أساسي على الميكروبات ذات أهمية خاصة (مثل الفيروسات نقص المناعة البشرية)
  • التعاون مع الزملاء والأطباء لتوفير حلول للمشاكل الطبية، وطنيا وإقليميا ودوليا لإنتاج أبحاث تعاونية قيمة
  • التحقيق في المسببات الكامنة وراء الأمراض المعدية التي تهم المجتمع السعودي
  • إيلاء اهتمام خاص للأمراض الناشئة مثل (الجهاز التنفسي والتهابات نزفية) و الأمراض التي تظهر من جديد مثل (السل والملاريا).
  • معايرة مقدار الشحنة الفايروسية (لفيروس نقص المناعة المكتسب – نوع 2)
  • نشر مقالات علمية سنويا في مجلات علميه عالميه محكّمه
  • المساهمة في تدريب طلاب أبحاث دراسات البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا
  • التعرف على بصمات الـ (دي. أن. أي) لمختلف أنواع الجراثيم المسؤولة عن الإصابات الإلتهابية التي منشأها المستشفيات أو ذو المهن الصحية
  • صرف الوصفات الطبية للأمراض المعدية والتأكد من صحة العلاجات الوقاية ضد العوامل المعدية

 

الشعب:

  • شعبة العوز المناعي ودراسات فيروس نقص المناعه المكتسب

تعد هذه الشعبة من الشعب الجديدة في قسم الالتهابات و المناعة في مركز الأبحاث، حيث توفر هذه الشعبة طرق متعددة و متكاملة في البحوث المتعلقة بزراعة الأعضاء و الأمراض المعدية. و ستقوم الشعبة بتطبيق البحوث المبديئة و السريرية و       كما أنها تقدم برامج توعوية مخصصة للمرضى المُعرضين لزيادة خطر العدوى، مما سيؤدي إلى علاج المرضى بكفائة عالية و إلى ارتفاع نسبة النجاة.

  • شعبة الإمراض الميكروبي

تعتبر الالتهابات الجرثومية من الأمراض الخطيرة اذا لم تشخص وتعالج بشكل صحيح. ومع ذلك، وحتى تستطيع الشعبة من القيام بذلك، يجب معرفة العملية الي يتم فيها التعرف على المرض و استكشافه. وتركز البحوث على معرفة العوامل المؤثرة في الالتهابات الجرثومية مثل عامل حدة الفوعة و عوامل اخرى، وكما تساعد البحوث في هذا المجال في فهم تطور العدوى الناشئة والتي عاودت الظهور.

  • شعبة دراسات الفيروسات بالطرق الجزيئيه والفيروسات الوَرَميَّه

تسبب الفيروسات المعدية و المنتشرة حول العالم في الكثير من الأمراض التي تصيب الأنسان. و تتواجد بعض الأمراض الفيروسية حيث تنشئ أمراض فيروسية جديدة وتهيمن في بعض من أجزاء العالم. قد يتطور التهاب الكبد الفيروسي الناجم عن فيروس التهاب الكبد ب (HBV) و التهاب الكبد الوبائي سي (HCV) الى سرطان الكبد ويعتبر من الامراض المنتشرة في المملكة العربية السعودية. بالإضافة إلى العدوى بفيروسات الإنفلونزا والورم الحلمي البشري (HPV)، فإنه يجب التحقق من علم الأوبئة الجزيئية لهذه الفيروسات وكذلك المشاكل التي واجهتها في علاجهم.

  • شعبة دراسات ميكروبات الدَّرَن

لا يعد مرض السل تحت السيطرة، و قد تساهم العديد من العوامل في انتشار المرض في المملكة العربية السعودية. وتشمل هذة العوامل على تواجد عدد كبير من المغتربين وتدفق الحجاج القادمين من مناطق الموبوءة. وبالإضافة إلى عدم وجود بيانات أساسية حول المرض. ويجري تنفيذ العديد من المشاريع في هذا الشعبة في محاولة لفهم أوجه وحجم المشكلة.

  • مكتب أبحاث الأمراض المعدية في الدول النامية (JIDC)

مكتب المجلة العلمية لدورية الإلتهابات في الأقطار النايمة هو عبارة عن مجلة علمية دولية لتقييم الأبحاث عن طريق مراجعة النظراء و الذي تم افتتاحه في عام 2007 كمنظمة غير ربحية، ويختص بمساعدة العلماء الذين لا يستطيعون نشر مقالاتهم وبحوثهم في المجلات الغربية لأسباب غير علمية. فإذا كانت البحوث المقدمة تفتقر إلى معايير معينة، يتم إرشادهم اليها. خلال سنوات قليلة، وصل عامل التأثير الى  1.2.  يقع مقر المجلة العلمية لدورية الإلتهابات في الأقطار النايمة                   JIDC في ساساري، سردينيا، إيطاليا، مع المكاتب الإقليمية العالمية. حاليا هناك خمسة مكاتب إقليمية في الصين (المعهد الدولي للعدوى وحصانة، وشانتو كلية طب جامعة وشانتو، الصين)، اسبانيا (مستشفى الإكلينيكية يونيفرسيتاريو دي فلدوليد، المركز الوطني للأنفلونزا، فلدوليد، أسبانيا)، كندا (شبكة الصحة جامعة، تورنتو، كندا)، تركيا (جامعة مرمرة، قسم الأحياء الدقيقة السريرية، اسطنبول، تركيا)، والبرازيل (معهد علوم الأغذية و التكنولوجيا في الجامعة الاتحادية في ريو غراندي ودو سول، بورتو أليغري، البرازيل). ويستضيف مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي و مركز الأبحاث المكتب الإقليمي ل          تحت قسم الالتهابات والمناعة في مركز الأبحاث مستعييناً بمحرر أول متواجد ضمن طاقم المستشفى. ويعزز هذا المكتب، الذي تمت الموافقة الرسمية على إنشائه في 11 يونيو 2012 على نشر المقالات بين الأطباء والعلماء والطلاب وعامة الناس في الدولة وفي المنطقة، فضلا عن تنظيم لقاءات على الموضوعات المهمة وعلى سبيل المثال لا الحصر الالتهابات الناشئة، وسياسات المضادات الحيوية، طرق تشخيصية متقدمة، وإدارة العدوى.

الصور

شهادات الاعتماد والجوائز