PERIOPERATIVE SERVICES DEPARTMENT - RIYADH

6101

Overview

Perioperative Services manages the integrated structure that links the Perioperative Committee to the day-to-day management system of all Operating Rooms (OR level 2 and OR level 4) including outlying operating rooms (Labor and Delivery, CCC OR, Dental, Dermatology, DMU OR), Day Surgical Unit (DSU), Post Anesthesia Care Unit (PACU), and ensures smooth daily operations of the OR Holding area, OR Material Resources, OR Scheduling and Data Management, Central Sterile Supply Distribution (CSSD), and OR Blood Conservation Service.

Our goals are to achieve efficiencies in the utilization of OR resources and improve cost effectiveness in order to enhance the quality of care and patient satisfaction.  We also provide complete support and information to all concerned services in relation to monitoring workflow of patients, OR Utilization, OR Statistics and other related informatics system.

Provide complete support to all concerned services in dealing with equipment, instruments and supplies necessary for the functioning of the CSSD, OR Store and Operating Rooms with liaise to all logistics and related departments. We also provide necessary support in form of Blood conservation in order to reduce the need for blood transfusion. Our patients range from the very young to the very old and comprise a complex mix of surgical procedures with a wide range of requirements.

Achievements

In 2014 we implemented the use of a case cart system which helps to streamline the preparation of equipment and supplies for surgical cases. We also opened our Brain Suite which is a specialized Operating Room containing an MRI that our Neurosurgeons use during surgery to pinpoint tumors and lesions. In 2015 we introduced the use of Platelet Rich Plasma Therapy.

We are performing many advanced surgical procedures and treatments such as the Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemoperfusion procedure (HIPEC) as well as Intraoperative Radiation Therapy (IORT).

Sections

OR Material Resources (ORMR):

The Materials Resources section uses new technology such as WMS and OMNICELL system to increase the level of service for patient’s care. The OMNICELL is an automated dispensing system which enables us to control our supplies. ORMR maintains the inventory system of the Operating Rooms throughout the Riyadh organization and ensures that supplies are available when they are needed by the many different surgical specialties. The ORMR staff works with the nursing and medical staff to maintain patient safety and we operate in accordance with the “WE CARE” values.

  • Working as a team to provide quality care in safe environment.
  • Excellence in the service of care.
  • Culturally competent staff.
  • Accountability in our commitment to excellence.
  • Respect and compassion.
  • Ethical and fair service for all.

OR Blood Conservation & Isolated Organ Perfusion (BCIOP):

Our vision for the section is to set the standard in the provision of quality patient care and the development of methods and ideas for improving our services. We actively train all nursing and anesthesia staff, on an ongoing basis, in the use of cell saver, which is the technology that allows a patient’s own blood to be transfused back, thereby reducing the need for blood transfusions. We also provide the Plasma Rich Therapy where the patient’s own plasma cells are collected and injected into either the problem area, providing the stimulation need to jump-start and strengthen the healing process. The BCIOP section also participates in the delivering of the HIPEC treatments in our facility. With the HIPEC procedure the chemotherapy is delivered directly to the tumor, achieving a 10—1000 fold concentration over that of systemic.  It also lowers systemic toxicity, overcoming limitations of adhesion, and increases drug penetration. With this very advanced patient care, we have benefited more than 140 patients so far and have not only saved the hospital money but spared patients the ordeal of being sent abroad to obtain this type of specialized treatment.

Central Sterile Supply Distribution (CSSD)

CSSD provides sterilization services to the entire Riyadh organization with our focus on the Operating Room areas. We provided continuous education to staff and trainees in the form of regular in-services and a training program for CSSD technicians.  We also use modern tools and equipment to supply our patients with the best equipment and supplies.

Operating Room Scheduling and Data Management (ORSDM):

We supervise the schedulers in scheduling surgical procedures according to best practices and prioritizing cases such as scheduling our youngest patients earlier in the day to avoid prolonged fasting times, and giving priority to our tertiary type patients over non-tertiary patients. We emphasize the importance of communication between Perioperative Services, the OR schedulers, and other departments in order to minimize same day cancellations and improve patient preparedness for surgery. Validated and reliable information is provided on a regular basis to all surgical departments and the Perioperative Committee in order to facilitate informed decision-making about planning and preparing patients for surgery.

 

Gallery

Accreditations & Awards

خدمات ما قبل العمليات

6101

نبذة عامة

تدير خدمات العمليات الجراحية بنية متكاملة تربط بين لجنة العمليات الجراحية ونظام الإدارة اليومي بجميع غرف العمليات (غرف عمليات الدور الثاني والرابع)، بما في ذلك غرف العمليات الأخرى بها (مثل المخاض والولادة، وغرفة عمليات مركز أورام وسرطان الأطفال، والأسنان، والأمراض الجلدية، وغرفة عمليات وحدة إجراءات اليوم الواحد DMU، ووحدة جراحات اليوم الواحد، ووحدة رعاية ما بعد التخدير، وتضمن إجراء العمليات اليومية بشكل سلس في أماكن غرف العمليات، و الموارد المادية بغرف العمليات، وجدولة و إدارة بيانات غرف العمليات الجراحية، وقسم خدمات التعقيم المركزي، وقسم خدمات حفظ الدم 

وتتمثل أهدافنا في تحقيق الفعالية في الاستفادة من موارد غرف العمليات، وتحسين كفاءة التكلفة من أجل تعزيز جودة الرعاية، وتحقيق رضا المريض. كما نوفر أيضا الدعم الكامل والمعلومات إلى جميع الخدمات المرتبطة بمتابعة سير العمل لدى المرضى واستخدام غرف العمليات وإحصائياتها ونظم المعلومات الأخرى ذات الصلة.

كما نقدم الدعم الكامل لجميع جهات الخدمات المعنية بالتعامل مع المعدات والأدوات والمستلزمات الضرورية لتشغيل قسم خدمات التعقيم المركزي، ومخزن غرف العمليات، وغرف العمليات، بالإضافى إلى التواصل مع جميع أقسام الخدمات اللوجستية والخدمات ذات الصلة. ونقدم أيضا الدعم اللازم في صورة خدمات حفظ الدم من أجل تقليل الحاجة إلى نقل الدم. وتتراوح أعمار المرضى لدينا بين الصغير والكبير حيث يخضعون إلى مجموعة معقدة من الإجراءات الجراحية ذات الكثير من المتطلبات.

 

الإنجازات

خلال عام 2014، طبقنا استخدام نظام عربة الحالة للمساعدة في تبسيط تحضير المعدات والمستلزمات للحالات الجراحية. كما قمنا باستخدام تقنية جهاز التصوير المغناطيسي في أثناء الجراحة (Brain Suite)، وهو عبارة عن غرفة عمليات مخصصة تحتوي على جهاز تصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي الذي يستخدمه جراحين الأعصاب أثناء إجراء الجراحة لتحديد مكان الأورام والأمراض  في جراحات المخ و الأعصاب. وفي 2015، أدخلنا استخدام علاج البلازما الغنية بالصفائح الدموية.

كما نقوم بإجراء الكثير من العمليات الجراحية المتقدمة والعلاجات مثل العلاج الكيماوي البريتوني مرتفع الحرارة، والعلاج الإشعاعي أثناء الجراحة.

الأقسام

  1. قسم الموارد المادية بغرف العمليات

يستخدم قسم الموارد المادية تقنيات جديدة مثل نظام إدارة المستودعات ونظام أومنيسل لرفع مستوى خدمات رعاية المريض. ويعتبر نظام أومنيسل من أنظمة التوزيع الأوتوماتيكية التي تمكننا من التحكم في مستلزماتنا. ويقوم قسم الموارد المادية بغرف العمليات بالمحافظة على نظام جرد غرف العمليات في جميع أنحاء المؤسسة بالرياض، ويضمن توافر المستلزمات عند الحاجة إليها في مختلف التخصصات الجراحية. ويعمل موظفو قسم الموارد المادية مع فريق التمريض والفريق الطبي للمحافظة على سلامة المريض، ونقوم بالعمل بما يتوافق مع قيم "نحن نهتم".

  • العمل كفريق لتوفير الرعاية الجيدة في بيئة آمنة.
  • التميز في خدمة الرعاية.
  • تعيين فريق عمل مؤهل ثقافياً.
  • المساءلة في التزامنا بالتميز.
  • الاحترام والتعاطف.
  • توفير الخدمات الأخلاقية والعادلة للجميع.

  1. قسم حفظ الدم وتروية العضو المعزول بغرف العمليات

تتمثل رؤيتنا في هذا القسم في تحديد وتوفير الرعاية الجيدة للمريض، وتطوير الأساليب والأفكار لتحسين خدماتنا. كما نقوم بتدريب كامل فريق التمريض والتخدير على أساس مستمر على كيفية استخدام جهاز حفظ الخلايا cell saver وهو التقنية التي تتيح إعادة دم المريض إليه مرة أخرى، وبالتالي تقلل الحاجة إلى عمليات نقل الدم. كما نوفر العلاج الغني بالبلازما حيث يتم جمع خلايا البلازما الخاصة بالمريض وحقنها في المنطقة المصابة، مما يوفر الحاجة التحفيزية لتسريع وتعزيز عملية الشفاء. كما يشارك قسم حفظ الدم وتروية العضو المعزول في تقديم العلاج الكيماوي البريتوني مرتفع الحرارة في منشأتنا. وبفضل العلاج الكيماوي البريتوني مرتفع الحرارة، يتم معالجة الورم مباشرة بالعلاج الكيماوي مما يوفر علاج أكثر تركيزاً بنسبة 10 أضعاف إلى 1000 ضعف العلاج النظامي. كما يقلل من نسبة السُمية الجهازية مما يساعد في التغلب على قيود الالتصاق وزيادة تغلغل الدواء. وبهذه الرعاية المتقدمة للمريض، قمنا بمعالجة أكثر من 140 مريض حتى الآن، ولم نوفر فقط أموال المستشفى بل وفرنا على المرضى عبء السفر للخارج للحصول على هذا النوع من العلاج المخصص.

  1. قسم خدمات التعقيم المركزي

يوفر هذا القسم خدمات التعقيم لكامل مؤسسة الرياض، مع اهتمامنا بمناطق غرف العمليات. كما نقوم بالتعليم المستمر للموظفين والمتدربين من خلال الخدمات الداخلية المنتظمة وتقديم برنامج تدريبي لفنيين القسم. كما نستخدم أيضا أدوات ومعدات حديثة لتزويد المرضى بأفضل المعدات والمستلزمات.

  1. قسم إدارة جداول وبيانات غرف العمليات:

نقوم بالإشراف على المنظمين في قسم جدولة العمليات الجراحية طبقا لأفضل الممارسات، ونحدد أولوية جدولة إدخال الحالات مثل إدراج المرضى الصغار أولا في وقت مبكر من اليوم لتجنب أوقات الصيام الطويلة، وإعطاء الأولوية للمرضى من نوع الرعاية التخصصية أكثر من غيرهم من المرضى. كما نركز على أهمية التواصل بين خدمات العمليات الجراحية ، ومنظمي غرف العمليات، والأقسام الأخرى من أجل الحد من إلغاء مواعيد العمليات في نفس اليوم المقرر لها، وتجهيز المريض للجراحة بصورة أفضل. ويتم توفير المعلومات الصحيحة والموثوقة على أساس منتظم إلى جميع الأقسام الجراحية ولجنة العمليات الجراحية حتى يتم تسهيل اتخاذ القرار عن دراية بشأن تخطيط وتجهيز المرضى للعمليات الجراحية.

 

الصور

شهادات الاعتماد والجوائز