Organization


RADIATION ONCOLOGY PHYSICS SECTION - RIYADH

878

The Radiation Physics Section (RPS) focuses on the therapeutic applications of radiation in medicine. The primary activities are devoted to clinical physics and quality assurance services for cancer patients receiving radiation therapy. The RPS aims to provide the best clinical physics and quality assurance services to radiation oncology and also to maintain a continuous quality improvement program.

The RPS is the largest section in the department. Its responsibilities include: quality control for the therapeutic linear accelerators, simulators, CT scanners, treatment planning systems and brachytherapy equipment. The section also plays a vital role in selecting suitable radiation therapy equipment, designing facilities’ shielding and obtaining accurate data from equipment used for clinical services. The section supports the treatment of more than 1,500 cancer patients per year by providing more than 3,000 medical physics procedures annually.

In 2006, the RPS, in collaboration with the Oncology Center, launched a state-of-the-art intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) service, which became the de facto cancer treatment technique at KFSH&RC covering more than 24 tumor sites. In 2009, RPS spearheaded the program for the procurement of the advanced modes of high-precision and innovative radiotherapy techniques, TomoTherapy, CyberKnife and RapidArc, as well as for the acquisition of a new large-bore CT scanner. Future plans for expanding the treatment services include Image Guided Radiation Therapy (IGRT), Intra-Operative Radiation Therapy (IORT) and Hadron therapy. Our principle aim is to operate a centre of excellence in clinical medical physics and radiation oncology. Specific duties of the RPS include:

  • Periodical and regular calibration and quality assurance checks on all linear accelerators, cobalt units, iso-centric neutron machines and simulators in the hospital;
  • Producing treatment plans;
  • Designing the shielding of new treatment planning facilities;
  • Development and introduction of new treatment techniques for clinical services;
  • Providing consulting services to other radiation oncology centers in the Kingdom; and
  • Training graduate students from institutions of higher education and radiation therapy physicists from other cancer centers interested in implementing similar QC programs.

CLINICAL DOSIMETRY & TREATMENT PLANNING UNIT

The Clinical Dosimetry and Treatment Planning Unit (CDTPU) is a sub-section of the RPS. It comprises of medical dosimetrists and physicists. The group works closely in collaboration with radiation oncologists, radiation therapists, imaging physicists, radiologists, surgeons and radiation biologists. It is charged with conducting radiation treatment plans and dosimetric calculations for a wide variety of malignant cancers and benign diseases.

The aim of radiation treatment planning is to design plans that optimize the dose to tumor volumes while minimizing the dose that vital organs and normal tissues receive. This is achieved with sophisticated computer algorithms and state-of-the-art planning techniques using various radiation energies, beam modifiers, intensity modulation, etc. The latest image fusion techniques are used to fuse CT with MR and PET images to assist the radiation oncologists in delineating tumors accurately. Extensive QA is performed regularly to ensure that actual treatment is delivered as planned.

Every plan and calculation performed by dosimetrist or physicist also has an independent check by another physics staff member.  Also Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy (IMRT) plans are further checked with sophisticated QA software before the patients are treated.

IMRT was implemented in July 2006 for the first time to treat a patient with nasopharyngeal cancer. KFSH&RC was the first institution to employ this state of the art technique in the Kingdom. Currently in the Kingdom only IMRT is able to conform to complex tumor volumes while better sparing adjacent critical organs.  However KFSH&RC will soon again be at the fore-front by introducing new modalities that will possibly even improve on what IMRT offers.  Clinical consultation is provided to radiation oncologists to assist in offering the best possible individual treatment plans for their patients.

Gallery

Accreditations & Awards

الهيكل التنظيمي


شُعبة الفيزياء الإشعاعية لعلاج الأورام

878

تركز شُعبة الفيزياء الإشعاعية (RPS) على التطبيقات العلاجية للإشعاع في المجال الطبي . وقد كُرِسَّت الأنشطة الرئيسة لخدمات الفيزياء الطبية السريرية وضمان الجودة لمرضى السرطان الخاضعين للمعالجة الإشعاعية . وتهدف هذه الشُعبة إلى تقديم أفضل خدمات الفيزياء الطبية السريرية وضمان جودة العلاج الإشعاعي للأورام وكذلك الحفاظ على برنامج تحسين الجودة المستمر .

وتعتبر شُعبة الفيزياء الإشعاعية أكبر شُعبة في القسم . ومن مسؤولياتها:

  1. مراقبة جودة المسرعات الخطية العلاجية والمحاكيات وأجهزة التصوير المقطعي ونظم تخطيط المعالجة ومعدات المعالجة المركزة . كما تلعب الشُعبة دورًا حيويًا في اختيار معدات المعالجة الإشعاعية المناسبة ، وتصميم وسائل حجب الإشعاع في مرافقها ، واستخلاص بيانات دقيقة من المعدات المستخدمة في الخدمات السريرية . يقوم القسم بعلاج ما يربو على 1500 من حالات الاصابة بمرض سرطان سنويًا من خلال توفير أكثر من  3000 إجراء فيزيائي طبي سنويًا .

 

  1. أطلقت شُعبة الفيزياء الإشعاعية في عام 2006، ، بالتعاون مع مركز علاج الأورام ، خدمة حديثة للعلاج الإشعاعي معدل الكثافة (IMRT) ، والتي أصبحت بالفعل تقنية مُستخدمة لعلاج السرطان في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث وتُغطي أكثر من 24 موقع من مواقع الأورام. وفي عام 2009، ترأست شُعبة الفيزياء الإشعاعية برنامجًا لشراء وسائط متطورة عالية الدقة وتقنيات مبتكرة للمعالجة الإشعاعية، وهي المعالجة المقطعية [TomoTherapy] ، والعلاج بتقنية سايبر نايف [CyberKnife] والعلاج القوسي السريع [RapidArc] ، بالإضافة إلى اقتناء جهاز تصوير مقطعي جديد بفتحة كبيرة . وتشمل الخطط المستقبلية لتوسيع نطاق الخدمات العلاجية كل من العلاج الإشعاعي باستخدام العلاج الإشعاعي الموجه بالتصوير (IGRT) خلال العملية الجراحية (IORT) والعلاج بالهادرون . ويتمثل هدفنا الرئيسي في تشغيل مركزًا للتميز في الفيزياء الطبية السريرية والعلاج الإشعاعي للأورام. وتتضمن الواجبات المحددة لشُعبة الفيزياء الإشعاعية ما يلي:
  • المعايرة الدورية والمنتظمة وعمليات المراقبة لضمان جودة جميع المسرعات الخطية والمحاكيات في المستشفى ؛
  • وضع خطط العلاج؛
  • تصميم الحماية من الإشعاع لمرافق المعالجة الجديدة؛
  • تطوير وإدخال تقنيات معالجة جديدة للخدمات الطبية؛
  • تقديم خدمات استشارية لمراكز العلاج الإشعاعي الأخرى في المملكة؛
  • تدريب طلاب الدراسات العليا من مؤسسات التعليم العالي وفيزيائيي العلاج الإشعاعي من مراكز السرطان الأخرى الراغبة في تنفيذ برامج مراقبة جودة مماثلة.

 

وحدة القياس للجرعات وتخطيط المعالجة

  • تعتبر وحدة القياس السريري للجرعات وتخطيط المعالجة (CDTPU) أحد الأقسام الفرعية من شُعبة الفيزياء الإشعاعية [RPS]. وهي تضم الفيزيائيين الطبيين ، ومقنني جرع الإشعاع . وتتعاون المجموعة بشكلٍ وثيق مع اختصاصيي الأورام واختصاصيي المعالجة بالأشعة وفيزيائيي التصوير التشخيصي والجراحين واختصاصيي البيولوجيا الاشعاعية. وقد كلفت بوضع خطط معالجة إشعاعية ووضع حسابات متعلقة بقياس الجرعات لمجموعة واسعة من السرطانات الخبيثة والأمراض الحميدة.
  • الهدف من تخطيط المعالجة الإشعاعية هو: إيصال الجرعة العلاجية للورم مع تقليل الجرعة التي تمتصها الأعضاء المجاورة في الجسم . ويتحقق ذلك باستخدام خوارزميات حاسوبية متطورة وتقنيات تخطيط حديثة باستخدام طاقات إشعاع متباينة ومُعدِلات أشعة مُختلفة وتعديل الكثافة وغير ذلك. كما تُستخدم أحدث تقنيات دمج الصور لدمج الأشعة المقطعية مع صور الرنين المغناطيسي [MR] وصور التصوير المقطعي بالإصدار البوزيتروني [PET] بُغية مساعدة اختصاصيي معالجة الأورام بالأشعة على تحديد الأورام بدقة. وتؤدى عملية مراقبة جودة شاملة بصورة منتظمة من أجل ضمان تقديم المعالجة الفعلية حسبما هو مخطط لها.
  • وتخضع أيضًا كل خطة وكل إحصاء مُنفذ بواسطة مقنن جرعات أو فيزيائي لعملية فحص مستقلة من قبل عضو فيزيائي آخر.  كما تخضع خطط العلاج الإشعاعي مُعدل الكثافة (IMRT) لمزيد من الفحص باستخدام برنامج مراقبة جودة متطور قبل تطبيقها في علاج المرضى.

    وقد نُفِذت خطة العلاج الإشعاعي مُعدل الكثافة للمرة الأولى في شهر تموز (يوليو) عام  2006 لعلاج مريض مصاب بسرطان البلعوم. وقد كان مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث سباقا في استخدام هذه التقنية الحديثة في المملكة .

الصور

شهادات الاعتماد والجوائز