Personal Profile

H.E. Qasim Al Qasabi, Md, Frcsi, Facs

Chief Executive Officer of King Faisal Specialist Hospital And Research Centre (General Organization)

Member & Secretary General of the Board of King Faisal Specialist Hospital  And Research Centre (General Organization)

About

He received his Bachelors Degree in Medicine & Surgery with 2nd degree honors from the Medical College King Saud University, Riyadh and finished his internship in 1978.     

After completing one year of surgery as a Demonstrator in the Department of Surgery, Faculty of Medicine in King Saud University, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, he underwent his Residency training program in surgery at the John Radcliffe Teaching Hospital, Oxford University, United Kingdom.  He received his fellowship in surgery (FRCSI) from the Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland in January 1985.  In 1985 he was appointed as Assistant Professor in the Department of Surgery, Faculty of Medicine, King Saud University; in 1988 he was appointed Associate Professor, Department of Surgery, King Saud University where he was also elected in the same year to be the Chairman, Department of Surgery and Anesthesia (45 teaching staff and 100 physicians).  In 1998 he was promoted to Professor of Surgery and A/Head of the General and Gastro Surgery Unit, Faculty of Medicine, King Khaled University Hospital.  In 1993 he was on secondment at the Security Forces Hospital in Riyadh where he was appointed as Chairman of Surgery.

In 1995 he became a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons.

In 2000 he was appointed as Deputy Minister of Health for Executive Affairs; he was Chairman of the Rift Valley Fever committee and some of the Hajj Pilgrims committees.  He was Chairman of the Board of Directors for two of the largest hospitals in the Kingdom and headed international Saudi delegations.  He is a member of numerous councils including the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties and the Saudi Council for Health Services.  In 2004 he was appointed by a Royal Decree as the Deputy Chief Executive Director of the King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Center in Riyadh and in 2005 he was appointed as Chief Executive Director of the King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Center and General Secretary and Member of the Board of Directors.

In 2009 he was promoted by a Royal Decree as the Chief Executive Officer at King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Center with Excellency ranking which he has occupied until the present time.

He has a number of publications in the area of laparoscopic surgery and trauma as well as being a reviewer and member of the Editorial Board for a number of medical journals. He has been active in the area of academic medicine as a teacher and program director.  His administrative experience ranges from some governmental policy-making to practicing academic medicine as a Consultant and Senior Physician.

He is a member of numerous governmental committees in the healthcare sector, some of which are ministerial committees that steers health strategies and service formulation. 

Currently he oversees specialized hospital practice and services as well as advanced research activities relating to basic as well as translational research and also the formulation of a biotechnology platform in Saudi Arabia.  He also oversees academic training programs both at the undergraduate and graduate level and is a member of the Al Faisal University Board of Trustees. He is also a member of the Board of Trustees of King Salman Centre for Disability Research and the Chairman of the Board of Directors for the King Faisal Specialist Hospital Foundation.

السيرة الذاتية

معالي الأستاذ الدكتور قاسم القصبي

المشرف العام التنفيذي لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي و مركز الأبحاث (مؤسسة عامة)

عضو و أمين مجلس إدارة مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الابحاث (مؤسسة عامة)

نبذة

تلقى معالي الأستاذ الدكتور قاسم القصبي درجة البكالوريوس في الطب والجراحة مع مرتبة الشرف الثانية من كلية الطب بجامعة الملك سعود بالرياض وأنهى تدريبه لسنة الامتياز عام 1978م.

بعد أن أمضى معاليه سنة كمعيد في قسم الجراحة بكلية الطب في جامعة الملك سعود بالرياض في المملكة العربية السعودية، تلقى برنامج تدريب الإقامة في الجراحة ولمدة اربع سنوات بمستشفى جون رادكليف التعليمي التابع لجامعة أوكسفورد بالمملكة المتحدة. وحصل على شهادة الزمالة في الجراحة (FRCSI) من كلية الجراحين الملكية بايرلندا في يناير من عام 1985م. وعين في 1985م أستاذاً مساعداً في قسم الجراحة بكلية الطب بجامعة الملك سعود، ثم أستاذاً مشاركاً عام 1988م في نفس الكلية. كما اختير بالانتخاب في نفس العام رئيساً لقسم الجراحة والتخدير (يضم 45 أعضاء هيئة تدريس و100 طبيب). وفي 1998م تمت ترقيته إلى أستاذ في الجراحة وكلف بالعمل كرئيس لوحدة الجراحة العامة وجراحة الجهاز الهضمي بكلية الطب بمستشفى الملك خالد الجامعي. علماً بأنه انتدب في عام 1993م إلى مستشفى قوى الأمن بالرياض حيث ترأس أقسام الجراحة هناك.

حصل معاليه في عام 1995م على زمالة الكلية الأمريكية للجراحين.

في عام 2000م، عين معاليه وكيلاً مكلفاً لوزارة الصحة للشؤون التنفيذية لمدة أربع سنوات، حيث ترأس خلال هذه الفترة لجنة حمى الوادي المتصدع وبعض لجان الحج. بالإضافة إلى توليه رئاسة مجلس إدارة اثنين من أكبر المستشفيات بالمملكة، ورئاسة عدة وفود سعودية دولية. وهو عضو في مجالس الادارة لعدة هيئات صحية، من بينها الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية والمجلس السعودي للخدمات الصحية. وفي عام 2004م صدر أمر سام بتعيينه نائباً للمشرف العام التنفيذي لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث بالرياض، وصدر امر سام آخر في 2005م بتعيينه مشرفاً عاماً تنفيذياً للمؤسسة العامة لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث وأميناً عاماً لمجلس الإدارة وعضواً فيه.

تمت ترقية معاليه في 2009م بموجب مرسوم ملكي ليصبح المشرف العام التنفيذي CEO لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث بالمرتبة الممتازة، وهو لا يزال يشغل هذا المنصب حتى الآن.

صدرت لمعاليه عدة منشورات في مجال الاصابات و جراحة تنظير البطن ، كما أنه مراجع وعضو هيئة تحرير لعدد من المجلات الطبية. ونشاطه واضح في مجال الطب الأكاديمي كمعلم ومدير برامج. وله خبرة إدارية واسعة تمتد من المشاركة بإعداد بعض السياسات الحكومية الصحية إلى ممارسة الطب الأكاديمي كمستشار وطبيب أول.

يشغل معاليه عضوية عدة هيئات حكومية في قطاع الرعاية الصحية، البعض منها هيئات وزارية تعمل على توجيه الاستراتيجيات الصحية وصياغة الخدمات.

حالياً، فإن معاليه يشرف على الممارسة والخدمات في مستشفى متخصص بالإضافة إلى نشاطات البحث المتقدمة ذات الصلة بالبحث الأساسي والانتقالي، وإنشاء مركز للتكنولوجيا الحيوية في المملكة العربية السعودية. كما أنه يشرف على برامج التدريب الأكاديمي على المستوى الجامعي والدراسات العليا، وهو عضو في مجلس أمناء جامعة الفيصل، وعضو أيضاً في مجلس أمناء مركز الملك سلمان لأبحاث الإعاقة، ورئيس مجلس إدارة مؤسسة مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي الخيرية.