Dr. Majid I. Al Fayyadh, Md

Acting Chief Executive Officer Of King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Centre (Gen. Org.)

Member & Secretary General of the Board of King Faisal Specialist Hospital & Research Centre (Gen. Org.)

About

After graduating with a Bachelor’s Degree in Medicine and Surgery from the King Saud University, Saudi Arabia Dr Al Fayyadh completed his Residency in Pediatrics at Tufts University followed by a fellowship in Pediatric Cardiology at Columbia University, New York and in 1996 he received specialty certification from the American Board of Pediatrics.  In 2000, Dr Al Fayyadh achieved the American Sub-Board of Pediatric Cardiology. At the conclusion of his training, he completed subspeciality fellowship in Pediatric Cardiac Electrophysiology at Baylor College of Medicine, Houston.   

An advocate for continuing education, Dr Al Fayyadh maintains his currency by attending professional development courses.  In 2015, he successfully achieved his Master Degree in Medical Management from the University of Southern California, USA.  

Early in his career and in parallel with his clinical practice and academic contributions, Dr Al Fayyadh developed a passion for research and continues to be an active researcher.  His work has been awarded multiple grants including the Dubai Harvard Foundation for Medical Research Grant for an international multi-center project for the Discovery of Genetic Causes for Human Congenital Malformations.  The King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology also awarded a number of grants to Dr Al Fayyadh as Principal Investigator for the following two projects: Genetics of Mendelian Cardiovascular Disorders in Saudi Arabia, and Electrocardiogram Screening for School Children:  A Cross-Sectional, Population-Based Study.

Dr Al Fayyadh has continued his research and academic activities throughout his professional career and has published articles and abstracts in multiple peer-reviewed medical journals, both national and international.  In addition, he has served in editorial, editorial board member and reviewer roles including being Editor of two international journals and is a member of a variety of professional societies.  He is a talented presenter and has participated as an invited speaker at numerous national, regional and international symposia.

Throughout his career, Dr Al Fayyadh has held increasingly senior positions where his clinical and administrative expertise and experience have contributed to improving the level of healthcare delivery.  He is a member of various government committees and is committed to the success of Saudi Arabia’s National Transformation Program which is a component of the government’s Vision 2030. 

In July 2017, Dr Al Fayyadh was appointed as Acting Chief Executive Officer of King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre (KFSH&RC) in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, a leading tertiary healthcare facility in the region.  In this role he is responsible for all facets of the General Organization ranging from clinical to nursing, research, academia to administration. This follows his previous appointment as Deputy Executive Director, Medical & Clinical Affairs at KFSH&RC, Riyadh, where he was responsible for a large portfolio of medical departments’ operations, pharmacy, patient services, and system applications.  His focus centered on patient experience, staff development and the work environment, productivity and improving operational efficiency.  Dr. Al Fayyadh also served as Deputy Director, Heart Centre and Project Executive for the Cardiology Information System at KFSH&RC and recently he worked as an advisor to the Director of the Vision Realization Office at the Ministry of Health.

الدكتور/ ماجـــد بن إبراهيم الفيــاض

المشرف العام التنفيذي المكلفالمؤسسة العامة لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث

عضو و أمين مجلس إدارة مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الابحاث (مؤسسة عامة)

نبذة

بعد التخرج بدرجة البكالوريوس في الطب من جامعة الملك سعود بالرياض، أكمل الدكتور/ الفياض برنامج الزمالة في طب الأطفال من جامعة (Tufts) في بوسطن، وأتم بعدها زمالة طب قلب الأطفال من جامعة كولمبيا في نيويورك. وفي العام 1996م حصل على شهادة التخصص من المجلس الأمريكي لطب الأطفال (American Board of Pediatrics)، كما حصل على شهادة المجلس الفرعي الأمريكي لأمراض قلب الأطفال (American Sub-Board of Pediatric Cardiology) في العام 2000م. وبعد ذلك أكمل تدريبه المهني في تخصص كهربائية القلب في جامعة (Baylor) في هيوستن.

 

ومن خلال مسيرته العملية، اهتم الدكتور/ ماجد الفياض بالتعليم المستمر، حيث التحق بالعديد من دورات التطوير المهني. وقد حصل في العام 2015م على درجة الماجستير في الإدارة الطبية من جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

 

وفي مرحلة مبكرة من حياته المهنية، وبالتوازي مع الممارسة الإكلينيكية والمساهمة الأكاديمية، أبدى الدكتور/ الفياض حماساً تجاه البحوث، و لازال باحثاً نشطاً. وقد حصلت أعماله البحثية على عدة مِنَح؛ منها منحة مؤسسة هارفارد (دبي) للبحوث الطبية لمشروع بحثي دولي متعدد المراكز لاكتشاف الأسباب الوراثية لتشوهات القلب الخلقية. كما حصل على عدد من المنح من مدينة الملك عبدالعزيز للعلوم والتقنية، وذلك بصفته الباحث الرئيس لمشروع وراثيات الاضطرابات القلبية الوعائية المندلية بالمملكة العربية السعودية (Genetics of Mendelian Cardiovascular Disorders in Saudi Arabia)، ومشروع فحص تخطيط كهربائية القلب لتلاميذ المدارس: دراسة سكانية شاملة (Electrocardiogram Screening for School Children: A Cross-Sectional, Population-Based Study).

 

واصل الدكتور/ الفياض نشاطه البحثي والأكاديمي فنشر مقالات ومستخلصات في العديد من المجلات الطبية المحكَّمة محلياً وعالمياً. إضافة إلى ذلك، خدم في العديد من المجلات العلمية كمحرِّر، وعضو مجالس تحرير، وكمحكِّم، بما في ذلك عمله كمحرِّر لمجلتين عالميتين، وعضويته في العديد من الجمعيات المهنية. وقد شارك كمتحدث مدعو في العديد من الندوات المحلية والإقليمية والعالمية.

 

وخلال حياته المهنية، شغل الدكتور/ الفياض مناصب قيادية، حيث ساهمت معرفته وخبرته الإكلينيكية والإدارية في تحسين مستوى الرعاية الصحية. وهو عضو لعديد من اللجان الحكومية، ولديه مساهمات لتحقيق نجاح برنامج التحول الوطني الذي يُعَدُّ جزءاً من رؤية المملكة 2030.

 

في يوليو 2017م، تم تكليف الدكتور/ ماجد الفياض بأعمال ومهام وظيفة المشرف العام التنفيذي على المؤسسة العامة لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث، الرياض، المملكة العربية السعودية. وهي مؤسسة صحية مرجعية رائدة في المنطقة. وفي منصبه الحالي هو المسؤول عن كل الجوانب الإكلينيكية والتمريضية والبحثية والأكاديمية والإدارية. وجاء تكليفه بهذا المنصب بعد تعيينه سابقاً في وظيفة نائب المدير التنفيذي للشؤون الطبية والسريرية بالمؤسسة بالرياض، حيث كان مسؤولاً عن قطاع واسع من عمليات الأقسام الطبية، والصيدلية، وخدمات المرضى، وتطبيقات النظم المعلوماتية. وقد انصب تركيزه على تجربة المرضى، وتطوير الموارد البشرية، وبيئة العمل، والإنتاجية، وتحسين الكفاءة التشغيلية. كما عمل نائباً لمدير مركز القلب، وكمسؤول تنفيذي لمشروع نظام معلومات أمراض القلب بالمؤسسة. وعمل مؤخراً مستشاراً لمدير مكتب تحقيق الرؤية بوزارة الصحة.