Areas of Research


Disease-Based Research

The Research Centre is focused on understanding the basic mechanisms of disease research in the areas of cancer, cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, genetics, environmental health, and infectious diseases among others. The Research Centre's disease-based research initiatives build upon its existing scientific strengths in conducting basic research that incorporates the use of disease models to discover new and potent therapeutic modalities for a range of common illnesses in the region which include, but are not limited to: cancer, genetic diseases, heart diseases, diabetes, stroke, and Alzheimer’s.

Specialty-Based Research

The Research Centre maintains a strong commitment to specialty-based research in order to maximize and enhance its proficiency in the use of current and relevant disciplinary research tools to obtain answers to many common health problems in the region. These disciplinary research tools include the use of genomics, stem cells, biotechnology, health informatics, comparative medicine, environmental health, biophysics, neurology, cell biology, etc.

Service-Based Activities

The Research Centre is committed to provide specialized services in support of the General Organization's mission to provide quality healthcare to the people of Saudi Arabia. These revenue-generating activities allow the Research Centre to fund many of its initiatives. Its expertise and capacity for producing radiopharmaceuticals has become a source of pride for Saudi Arabia, making the Kingdom self-sufficient for radiopharmaceuticals and its benefits reaching other countries in the region. Other services include medical imaging, biomedical physics support, animal care for research use, and bioequivalence testing.

Advanced Research

The Research Centre maintains a healthy interest in pursuing cutting edge research in order to keep abreast with advancing technology and emerging trends in biomedical research. In support of this initiative, the Research Centre capitalizes on its reputation in the international stage to attract new talents that can help cultivate and enhance knowledge capacity in support of the Kingdom's national comprehensive strategy for science and technology. Popular areas of research being pursued currently include nanotechnology, robotics, synthetic biology, and artificial intelligence.

مجالات البحوث

 

الأبحاث المستندة إلى الأمراض

يركز مركز الأبحاث على فهم الآليات الأساسية لأبحاث الأمراض في مجال أمراض السرطان، وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية، والسكري، والأمراض الوراثية، والصحة البيئية، والأمراض المعدية. وترتكز المبادرات البحثية القائمة على الأمراض في مركز الأبحاث على نقاط القوة العلمية القائمة في إجراء الأبحاث الأساسية التي تتضمن استخدام نماذج المرض لاكتشاف طرق علاجية جديدة وفعالة لمجموعة من الأمراض الشائعة في المنطقة التي تشمل ولا تقتصر على: أمراض السرطان، والأمراض الوراثية، وأمراض القلب، والسكري، والسكتة الدماغية، ومرض الزهايمر.

 

الأبحاث المستندة إلى التخصصات

يحافظ مركز الأبحاث بالتزامه بتقديم الأبحاث المستندة إلى التخصصات لتحقيق الحد الأقصى وتعزيز الكفاءة في استخدام أدوات البحث التخصصية الحالية وذات الصلة للحصول على إجابات على العديد من المشاكل الصحية الشائعة في المنطقة. وتشمل أدوات البحث التخصصية استخدام علم الجينوم، والخلايا الجذعية، والتكنولوجيا الحيوية، ونظم المعلومات الصحية، والطب المقارن، والصحة البيئية، والفيزياء الحيوية، وطب الأمراض العصبية، وعلم الخلايا..

 

الأنشطة المستندة إلى الخدمات

يلتزم مركز الأبحاث بتوفير خدمات متخصصة دعماً لرسالة المؤسسة العامة ولتقديم رعاية صحية متميزة لسكان المملكة العربية السعودية. كما أن هذه الأنشطة تدر دخلاً يتيح لمركز الأبحاث بتمويل مبادراته. بالإضافة إلى أن خبرة وقدرة المركز على إنتاج أدوية مشعة أصبح مصدر فخر للمملكة العربية السعودية، محققاً بذلك الاكتفاء الذاتي من الأدوية المشعة التي عمّت فائدتها على بلدان أخرى في المنطقة. ومن الخدمات الأخرى التصوير الطبي، والدعم الحيوي الطبي، ورعاية الحيوان من أجل الاستخدام الطبي والفحص الحيوي والتكافؤ البيولوجي.

 

الأبحاث المتقدمة

يحافظ مركز الأبحاث على المصالح الصحية في سعيه لإجراء أبحاث عصرية لمواكبة التقنية المتطورة، والتوجهات البارزة في أبحاث الطب الحيوي. ودعماً لهذه المبادرة، يستثمر مركز الأبحاث بحكم مكانته على الصعيد الدولي لجلب كفاءات جديدة من شأنها أن تعزز القدرة المعرفية دعماً للاستراتيجية الوطنية الشاملة للمملكة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا. وتشمل مجالات البحث الشائعة التي يتم التطرق إليها في الوقت الراهن تقنية النانو، والروبوتات، والعلوم التركيبية، والذكاء الصناعي.