Personal Profile

Dr. Yaqoub Yousef Al-Mazrou M.D.

Secretary-General - Council of Health Services, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Member of the Board of King Faisal Specialists Hospital and Research Centre (General Organisation)

About

Doctor Al-Mazrou gained his medical degree from Mosul Medical College in Iraq in 1971, and in 1977 he received a diploma in child health from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons in Ireland. In 1992, he obtained a PhD from City University in London, UK. He completed his British Fellowship of General Practitioners in 1993. 

Doctor Al-Mazrou has worked in the immunization field for 27 years. He started his career as a Director General for Primary Health Care in the implementation of the Expanded Programme of Immunization in the 1980s in Saudi Arabia. He then went on to become the Assistant Deputy Minister for Preventive Medicine at the Ministry of Health, Saudi Arabia, and has focused on eradication activities of vaccine preventable diseases.

He has been a member of the Regional Commission for Certification of Polio Eradication since its formation in 1995, in addition to his membership of the Advisory Committee of the Horn of Africa. In the past decade, he has Chaired the Technical Advisory Group on polio eradication for Yemen and Egypt. From 2001-2004, he served as a member of the WHO Executive Board, and between 2004 and 2010, he was a member of the Advisory Committee for polio eradication for WHO and he is a member of the Saudi Health Council since 2009.

Doctor Al-Mazrou’s research interests include prevention of vaccine preventable diseases, particularly polio, in children of the Middle East region. In 1988, he was awarded the “Jacques Parisot” Prize for research in primary health care and public health by WHO; and in 1990, he was awarded the “Universal Child Immunization Commemorative Medal” by UNICEF, in recognition of his efforts in contributing to universal child immunization. Doctor Al-Mazrou is the author of over 90 publications and over 23 reports.

السيرة الذاتية

سعادة الدكتور يعقوب بن يوسف المزروع

أمين عام المجلس الصحي السعودي، المملكة العربية السعودية

عضو مجلس إدارة مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث (مؤسسة عامة)

نبذة

حصل الدكتور المزروع على شهادة الطب من كلية طب الموصل في العراق في عام 1971م، وحصل على شهادة دبلوم في صحة الطفل من الكلية الملكية للأطباء والجراحين في ايرلندا عام 1977م. كما حصل على درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة سيتي في لندن، المملكة المتحدة في عام 1992 م. وأنجز زمالة الكلية البريطانية للأطباء العامين في عام 1993.


خدم الدكتور المزروع في مجال التحصين لمدة 27 عاما. وقد بدأ مسيرته المهنية كمدير عام للرعاية الصحية الأولية عندما تم تنفيذ برنامج التحصين الموسع في المملكة العربية السعودية في عام 1980م. ثم أصبح بعدها وكيل الوزارة المساعد للطب الوقائي في وزارة الصحة. وكان تركيزه على الأنشطة التي تسعى للقضاء على الأمراض التي يمكن الوقاية منها باللقاحات.


وقد كان الدكتور المزروع عضوا في لجنة الإشهاد الإقليمية لإستئصال مرض شلل الاطفال منذ تأسيسها في عام 1995م. هذا بالإضافة إلى عضويته في اللجنة الاستشارية في منطقة القرن الأفريقي. وخلال العقد الماضي ترأس الدكتور المزروع منصب رئيس الفريق الاستشاري التقني لإستئصال مرض شلل الأطفال في اليمن ومصر ومنصب عضو في المجلس التنفيذي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية من عام 2001 م حتى عام 2004 م، وعضوا في اللجنة الإستشارية لإستئصال مرض شلل الأطفال في منظمة الصحة العالمية من عام 2004- حتى 2010 م، وهو أمين عام المجلس الصحي السعودي منذ عام 2009م.


وتشمل اهتماماته البحثية مجالات عدة منها مجال الحماية من الأمراض التي يمكن الوقاية منها باللقاحات وخصوصا شلل الأطفال في منطقة الشرق الأوسط. وقد حصل الدكتور المزروع على جائزة "جاك باريسو" للبحث العلمي في مجال الرعاية الصحية الأولية، والصحة العامة من منظمة الصحة العالمية عام 1988م، والميدالية التذكارية للتحصين الشامل من منظمة اليونيسيف عام 1990م التي تُمنح للأشخاص الذين لهم دور متميز في تحقيق التغطية الشاملة للتحصين. والدكتور المزروع مؤلف لأكثر من 90 منشورة وأكثر من 23 تقرير.