The Dental Department offers a state-of-the-art facility and comprehensive dental services in its 12 clinics and surgical suites equipped with the latest dental equipment. The department has eight sub-departments: General Dentistry, Endodontics, Maxillofacial Surgery, Orthodontics, Pedodontics, Periodontics, Prosthodontics, and Hygienist. We have recently incorporated 3D Digital Dental Implant planning, digital impression, and digital fixed prosthesis fabrication. The department will soon launch their pioneer project “In-Patient Dental Education Program,” which will be directed to improve the oral health of healthcare professionals and patients.

 

Scope of Services:

The Department of Dentistry located at the ground floor performs its clinical practice in 15 operatory clinics and surgical suites with state of art dental units and an advanced digital radiography network.

The Dentistry Department delivers services to the following groups of patient:

  1. General clearance patients of KFSH & RC
  2. Tertiary patients, as workflow allows.
  3. Staff and Dependents
  4. Protocol

 

The departments provide its full services through eight functional sections:

 

1- General Dentistry

The General Dentistry section provide a high standard quality general dental care for all groups of patient. This is delivered by 7 consultants and includes:

  • Examination, radiographs, treatment planning
  • Management of Medically compromised patients and medical consults
  • In-patient consults, Dental Treatment under GA in OR
  • Filling (composite and amalgam)
  • Extractions, Crowns, bridges
  • Implants, Denture, cosmetic dentistry, pulp extirpations & TMD Management

 

2- Prosthodontics

The Prosthodontics section provide quality prosthodontic care using the latest techniques for crowns, bridges, implant supported restorations, cosmetic procedures, complete and partial dentures, complete mouth reconstruction and Maxillofacial prosthesis.

 

3- Endodontics

The Endodontics section provide both conventional and surgical treatment. Is well equipped with modern instruments. Staffing is with one full time consultant and one resident, currently the only staffed training post.

 

4- Paedodontics

Pediatric dental care section, provide a comprehensive care to the children through prevention and management of dental caries and periodontal disease. Also all aspects of tooth and occlusal developmental disturbances, traumatic injuries, oral pathological conditions, juvenile prosthodontics, pain control using advanced sedation technique and dental treatment of handicapped and medically compromised children.

 

5- Orthodontics

The orthodontic section take care of all minor and major orthodontic problems in addition to the facial abnormalities and cleft palate patient care in coordination with other dental and hospital specialties. Multidisciplinary clinics are held for cleft lip and palate and dento-facial deformity.

 

6- Maxillofacial Surgery

The Maxillofacial surgical suite takes care of all of the dental alveolar surgeries in addition to the facial trauma reconstruction, Temporomandibular Joint Problems, cleft lip and palate surgery, oro-facial tumors, oral & facial reconstruction and facial aesthetic surgery in coordination with the other dental and hospital specialties.

 

7- Periodontology

The periodontology section deals with complex periodontal problems, including bone grafting, gingival surgery and cases of complex implant placement. There is a close clinical interaction between periodontology, prosthodontics and maxillofacial.

 

8- Dental Hygiene 

Oral health providers working together with a dentist to provide preventive and routine care. Provides patient education on good oral hygiene practice.

 

 

Quality of Provided Services

Tertiary care services are available for patients who are: Medically Compromised, have facial pain, require comprehensive prosthetics or general anesthesia for dental treatment. The Department provides team members to the hospital’s Cleft Palate and Head and Neck Oncology Teams.

 

Achievements

  • The clinical practice is executed in twelve (12) clinics and surgical suites equipped with state-of-the-art dental equipment, instruments and technologies including an advanced digital radiographic network and to complete the integration between Jeddah and Riyadh.
  • The Dental Department is soon to launch a pioneer project “In-Patient Dental Education Program “the purpose of this program is to incorporate new technology for education and to improve understanding of Oral Health and its importance to the nurses and physicians for all in-patients.
  • The Dental Department has recently incorporated 3D Digital Dental Implant planning, digital impression and digital fixed prosthesis fabrication.

يقدم قسم طب الأسنان أحدث خدمات الأسنان الشاملة في 12 عيادة حيث أن جناح الجراحة مجهز بأحدث أجهزة ومعدات طب الأسنان. ويضم القسم سبعة أقسام فرعية، وهي: قسم طب الأسنان العام، وطب لب الأسنان، وجراحة الوجه والفكين، وتقويم الأسنان، وطب أسنان الأطفال، طب أمراض اللثة، والبدائل السنية وصحة الأسنان العامة. وقد أدرجنا مؤخرا التخطيط الثلاثي الأبعاد الرقمية لطبعة وزراعة الأسنان وبناء أسنان صناعية ثابتة. وسيقوم قسم الأسنان قريبًا بإطلاق مشروع رائد اسمه "برنامج التعليم الخاص بالأسنان للمرضى المنومين بالمستشفى"، ويتمثل الغرض من هذا البرنامج تحسين صحة الفم للمتخصصين في الرعاية الصحية والمرضى.

 

نطاق الخدمات:

يقدم قسم طب الأسنان الواقع في الطابق الأرضي الخدمات السريرية في 15 عيادة وأجنحة جراحية مجهزة بأحدث وحدات طب الأسنان، وشبكة التصوير الرقمية المتقدمة.

ويقدم قسم طب الأسنان الخدماتلفئات المرضى التالية:

  1. المرضى العامين القادمين إلى مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث.
  2. المرضى الثالثيين، بحسب تدفق العمل
  3. الموظفون وعوائلهم
  4. مرضى التشريفات

 

وتقدم الأقسام خدماتها الكاملة من خلال ثمانية أقسام تم توزيعها وظيفيا كالتالي:

 

1- طب الأسنان العام

يقدم قسم طب الأسنان العام رعاية الأسنان العامة ذات الجودة العالية لجميع فئات المرضى، ويقوم بها 7 مستشارين وتشمل الخدمات ما يلي:

    • الفحص، والتصوير الشعاعي، وتخطيط العلاج.
    • التعامل مع المرضى ذوي الحالات المرضية المزمنة.
    • الاستشارة للمرضى المنومين، علاج الأسنان تحتالتخدير العام في غرفة العمليات
    • الحشوات (المركبة والملغمة)
    • الاستخراج، والتيجان والجسور
    • زراعة الأسنان، طب الأسنان التجميلي، استئصال اللب وإدارة اضطرابات المفصل الفكي الصدغي

 

2- البدائل السنية

يوفر قسم البدائل السنّية رعاية عالية الجودة للبدائل السنّية وذلك باستخدام أحدث الأساليب والتقنيات والمواد، مثل التيجان، والجسور، وعمليات الترميم المدعمة بزراعة الأسنان، والإجراءات التجميلة، وأطقم الأسنان الكاملة والجزئية، وعمليات إعادة بناء الفم بالكامل بالإضافة إلى الأسنان الصناعية.

 

3. طب لب الأسنان

يُقدم قسم لب الأسنان علاج العلاج التقليدي والجراحي على السواء. وإنه مجهز بأحدث الأدوات.ويضم القسم خبير استشاري بدوام كامل وطبيب مقيم، وهو مركز تدريبي وحيد متوفر للموظفين حالياً.

 

4. طب أسنان الأطفال

يوفر قسم تقويم الأسنان الرعاية الشاملة للأطفال من خلال الوقاية وإدارة تسوس الأسنان وأمراض اللثة. كما يعالججميع جوانب الاضطرابات التنفسية في السن والاكتئاب، والإصابات الرضية، والظروف المرضية الفموية، والتعويضات السنية للأحداث، والتحكم في الألم باستخدام تقنية التخدير المتقدمة وعلاج الأسنان للمعاقين والأطفال المعرضين للخطر طبياً.

 

5. تقويم الأسنان

يقوم قسم تقويم الأسنان بعناية كل مشاكل تقويم الأسنان الثانوية والجسدية بالإضافة إلى تشوهات الوجه والوقاية من الحنك المشقوق بالتنسيق مع تخصصات طب الأسنان والمستشفيات الأخرى. وتُقام عيادات متعددة التخصصات لتشوه الشفة والحنك وتشوه الوجه.

 

6. جراحة الوجه والفكين

يقوم جناح جراحة الوجه والفكين بعناية جميع جراحات الأسنان السنخية بالإضافة إلى إعادة بناء رضوض الوجه، والمشاكل المفصلية الصدغية، وجراحة الشفة والحنك، وأورام الوجه، وإعادة البناء الفموي والوجه والجراحة التجميلية للوجه. والتنسيق مع تخصصات طب الأسنان والمستشفى الأخرى.

 

7. أمراض اللثة

يتناول قسم علم أمراض اللثة المشاكل المعقدة للثة، بما فيها ترقيع العظام، وجراحة اللثة وحالات وضع الغرسة المعقدة. وهناك تفاعل سريري وثيق بين اللثة، والتعويضات السنية والفكين.

 

8. صحة الأسنان

مقدموا خدمات صحة الفم يعملون مع طبيب الأسنان لتوفير الرعاية الوقائية والعادية. ويثقفون المريض على ممارسات النظافة الفموية الجيدة.

 

 

جودة الخدمات المقدمة:

تتوفر خدمات الرعاية المتخصصة للمرضى الذين هم: يعانون من حالات مرضية مزمنة، ويعانون من الألم في الوجه، ويحتاجون للبدائل السنية أو التخدير العام لعلاج الأسنان. ويعمل القسم بالتعاون الوثيق معفرق أخصائيي الحنك المشقوق وفريق أورام الرأس والرقبة بالمستشفى.

 

الإنجازات:

نفذت الممارسة السريرية في اثنتي عشر (12) عيادة وجناح جراحي مجهز بأحدث المعدات والأدوات والتكنولوجيات الخاصة بالأسنان بما فيها شبكة التصوير الإشعاعي الرقمي المتطور وذلك لتحقيق التكامل بين جدة والرياض.

وسيقوم قسم طب الأسنان قريباً بإطلاق مشروع رائد بعنوان "برنامج تعليم الأسنان للمرضىالمنومين" ويهدف هذا البرنامج إلى دمج التكنولوجيا الجديدة في التعليم وتحسين فهم صحة الفم وأهميته للممرضين والأطباء لجميع المرضى المنومين.

وقد قام قسم طب الأسنان مؤخراً بتنفيذ خطةالزراعة الرقمية ثلاثية الأبعاد لطب الأسنان، والانطباع الرقمي، والتصنيع الرقمي الثابت.