The Department of Neurosciences, with its 32 board-certified medical staff, offers the prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation of complex neurological and neurosurgical diseases. It is recognized as an avant-garde tertiary care unit across the globe. We have a distinct track record of >30 years in providing world-class medical services. Its services include the treatment of benign and malignant central nervous system tumors; refractory seizure disorders; movement disorders; and neurovascular, neuro-immunological, neuromuscular, and neuro-cognitive disorders and minimally invasive spine surgery.

The Department of Neurosciences fosters KFSH&RC’s mission in providing state of the art medical care for pediatric and adult patients afflicted with neurological diseases. It promotes education, medical training and national fellowship programs.  It supports academia and innovative research endeavors and facilitates their translation into clinical applications.

 

Scope of Services:

The Department is nationally and internationally recognized for its CNS tumor strategic Program and leads as the major referral Center for comprehensive management of Brain Tumors and pituitary tumors in both adult and pediatric population of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The Department of Neurosciences Services is supported by “State of the Art” Neurophysiology Laboratory.  Department of Neurosciences clinical services are complemented with strong academic and research endeavors.

 

The strategic priority of the Department of Neurosciences is focused on the comprehensive management of benign and malignant central Nervous System Tumors; including skull Base & Pituitary Tumors; Spinal Cord Tumors and Tumor-like benign inclusion diseases. The surgical management is conducted by expertise in the field of microsurgery and endoscopic neurosurgery and supported by the state of the art facilities.

 

 

Neurosciences - Clinical Programs:

 

  1. Comprehensive Epilepsy Program

The comprehensive epilepsy program (CEP) is a multi-disciplinary team of medical professionals, providing high quality services for adult and pediatric epilepsy patients, their families and their referring physicians. It is ranked among one of the best epilepsy programs in the region. It offers epilepsy clinics and modern Epilepsy Monitoring Unit (EMU) for diagnosis, classification and patient’s selection with refractory seizures for invasive monitoring and epilepsy surgery. The program is supported by modern imaging facilities, national outreach services and conduct fruitful research endeavors and public awareness events.

  1. Comprehensive Movement Disorders Program

The comprehensive movement disorders program has recently excelled to a reputable status and became the leading program in the region. The program provides comprehensive optimal care and support to adult and pediatric patients with movement disorders, their families and caregivers. The multi-disciplinary program offers state of the art diagnosis and contemporary medical and surgical innovative treatment modalities including deep brain stimulation (DBS), Duodopa, Baclofen pump) and are keen to introduce novel therapies through fruitful international collaboration. The program provides education and promotes community awareness on Parkinson disease and other movement disorders.

  1. Comprehensive Neurovascular Program

The program provides high quality, multidisciplinary expert care to patients with neurovascular diseases including acute stroke management for eligible patients using the most advanced, and state of the art therapy. It facilitates the provision of inpatient and outpatient rehabilitation programs for these patients. The KFSH neurovascular program promotes education among physicians through regular case conferencing, continuous medical education and outreach programs. Research endeavor of the program is focus on conducting multicenter clinical trials in the field of cerebrovascular disease with national and international collaboration.

  1. Comprehensive Brain Tumor Strategic Program

This landmark multi-disciplinary strategic program promotes comprehensive management of brain tumors in both adults and pediatrics, using modern diagnostic methods, latest innovation in neurosurgical technology coupled with contemporary radiation therapy and neuro-oncology treatment protocols. The program is fostered by state of the art smart operating room with intraoperative MRI and stereotactic radiation therapy facilities (Cyperknife). The center is recognized by the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies as class ”A” Education center for skull base surgery. The program includes a strong academic, teaching and research endeavors.

 

 

Neurosciences - Training Programs:

  1. Neurosurgery Residency Training Program
  2. Adult Neurology Residency Training Program
  3. Pediatric Neurology Residency Training Program
  4. Epilepsy & EEG Fellowship Program
  5. Pediatric Neurosurgery Fellowship Program
  6. Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship Program

يقدم قسم العلوم العصبية مع فريقه الطبي المعتمد المتألف من 32 طبيباً، الوقاية، والتشخيص، والعلاج، وإعادة التأهيل للأمراض العصبية والجراحة العصبية المعقدة حيث يُعتبر وحدة ريادية عالمية. ولدينا سجل حافل منذ أكثر من 30 عامًا بتقديم الخدمات الطبية ذات المستوى العالمي. وتشمل خدماته علاج أورام الجهاز العصبي المركزي الحميدة والخبيثة، واضطرابات الصرع الحرارية، واضطرابات الحركة والاضطرابات العصبية الوعائية، والاضطرابات المناعية العصبية، والاضطرابات العصبية العضلية، والاضطرابات العصبية الإدراكية، وجراحة العمود الفقري طفيفة التوغل.

ويدعم قسم العلوم العصبية مهمة مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث لتوفير أحدث الرعاية الطبية للمرضى الأطفال والبالغين المصابين بأمراض عصبية. ويقوم بتوفير التعليم والتدريب الطبي وبرامج الزمالة الوطنية، كما يدعم الأوساط الأكاديمية والمساعي البحثية المبتكرة ويسهل نقل نتائجها إلى التطبيقات السريرية.

 

نطاق الخدمات:

يهدف قسم العلوم العصبية إلى تحقيق أعلى و أحدث معايير الجودة في رعاية المرضى في مجال العلوم العصبية الطبية والجراحية، وهو معروف محلياً وعالمياً لبرنامجه الاستراتيجي لأورام الجهاز العصبي المركزي وأحد أكبر المراكز المرجعية للإدارة الشاملة لأورام الدماغ والأورام النخامية في كل من المرضى البالغين والأطفال في المملكة العربية السعودية. وإن قسم العلوم العصبية مدعوم بمختبرالعلوم العصبية من أحدث الطراز وطائفة من الأكاديميين البارزين المعروفين بجهود بحثية متميزة.

تتركز الأولوية الاستراتيجية لقسم العلوم العصبية على الإدارة الشاملة لأورام الجهاز العصبي المركزي الحميدة والخبيثة؛ بما فيها قاعدة الجمجمة وأورام الغدة النخامية، وأورام الحبل الشوكي والأمراض الحميدة الشبيهة بالأورام. وتتم الإدارة الجراحية على أساس الخبرة في مجال الجراحة المجهرية وجراحة الأعصاب بالمنظار المدعومة بالمرافق الحديثة.

 

تتطلع إجراءات القسم الاستراتيجية لتحقيق الريادة إلى تلبية احتياجات المرضى على أن تشمل تعزيز الخدمات لتوسيع نطاق الخدمة من خلال إنشاء مركز العلوم العصبية، وتحقيق الزيادة المرحلية في الأسرَّة وتعزيز العيادات الخارجية الإضافية المحتملة والعيادات الافتراضية. ومن المتوقع أن يتم تخصيص وحدة العناية المركزة العصبية في الخطة الاستراتيجية من أجل تحسين رعاية المرضى بعد العملية الجراحية وتحسين نتائج العلاج.

 

 

العلوم العصبية - البرامج السريرية

 

  • برنامج الصرع الشامل

برنامج الصرع الشامل (CEP) يتضمن فريق متعدد التخصصات من الاختصاصيين الطبيين، ويقدم خدمات عالية الجودة لمرضى الصرع من الأطفال والبالغين، وعائلاتهم والأطباء المحولين لهم. وهو مصنف باعتباره أحد أفضل برامج الصرع في المنطقة. كما أنه يوفر عيادات للصرع ووحدة حديثة لمراقبة الصرع(EMU) للتشخيص، والتصنيف واختيار المرضى ممن لديهم نوبات صرعية مستعصية من أجل المراقبة المكثفة وجراحة الصرع. ويدعم هذا البرنامج تجهيزات أشعة حديثة، ويصل بالخدمات إلى الصعيد الوطني ويبذل جهود بحثية مثمرة، بالإضافة إلى تنظيم فعاليات التوعية العامة.

  • برنامج اضطرابات الحركة الشامل

لقد وصل برنامج اضطرابات الحركة الشامل إلى مستوى من التميز حقق له مكانة مرموقة ليصبح البرنامج الأول في المنطقة. ويقدم هذا البرنامج دعمًا ورعاية مثالية شاملة لكل من المرضى الكبار والأطفال الذين يعانون من اضطرابات حركية وعائلاتهم ومقدمي الرعاية لهم. كما يوفر هذا البرنامج متعدد التخصصات أحدث ما وصل إليه العلم في مجال التشخيص وأحدث طرق العلاج الطبية والجراحية المبتكرة والتي تتضمن التحفيز العميق للمخ (DBS)، وDuodopa، ومضخةBaclofen، كما يحرص البرنامج على إدخال أحدث العلاجات من خلال التعاون الدولي المثمر. ويقدم البرنامج تثقيف وتوعية مجتمعية بشأن مرض باركنسون واضطرابات الحركة الأخرى. 

 

  • برنامج الأمراض الوعائية العصبية الشامل

يقدم هذا البرنامج رعاية عالية الجودة خبيرة ومتعددة التخصصات إلى المرضى المصابين بأمراض وعائية عصبية ويتضمن ذلك إدارة السكتة الدماغية الحادة للمرضى المؤهلين باستخدام طرق العلاج الأحدث والأكثر تقدمًا. كما يسهل تقديم برامج إعادة التأهيل داخل وخارج المستشفى لهؤلاء المرضى. ويشجع برنامج الأمراض الوعائية العصبية الشامل تثقيف الأطباء من خلال عقد مؤتمرات للحالات بشكل منتظم، وبرامج توعية وتثقيف طبي مستمرة. وتركز الجهود البحثية للبرنامج على إجراء تجارب سريرية متعددة المراكز في مجال الأمراض الوعائية الدماغية والتعاون في ذلك على المستوى الوطني والدولي.

 

  • البرنامج الإستراتيجي الشامل لأورام المخ

هذا البرنامج الاستراتيجي متعدد التخصصات والذي يعد علامة بارزة في تاريخه يدعم الإدارة الشاملة لأورام المخ لدى البالغين والأطفال، باستخدام طرق تشخيص حديثة، وأحدث الابتكارات في تقنية الجراحة العصبية جنبًا إلى جنب مع العلاج الإشعاعي الحديث وبروتوكولات العلاج في طب الأورام العصبي. ويدعم عمل هذا البرنامج حجرة عمليات ذكية مجهزة بأحدث ما وصل إليه العلم بأشعة رنين مغناطيسي أثناء العمليات وتجهيزات علاج إشعاعي بالتوضيع التجسيمي (Cyperknife). وهذا البرنامج مصنف من قبل الاتحاد الدولي لجمعيات الجراحة العصبية باعتباره مركز تعليمي من الفئة "أ" في جراحة قاعدة الجمجمة. ويتضمن هذا البرنامج جهود أكاديمية وتدريسية وبحثية كبيرة.

 

العلوم العصبية - البرامج التدريبية:

1- برنامج تدريب المقيمين لجراحة الأعصاب

2- برنامج تدريب المقيمين في طب الأعصاب للبالغين

3- برنامج تدريب المقيمين في طب الأعصاب لدى الأطفال

4- برنامج زمالة الصرع ومختصر مُخَطَّطُ كَهْرَبِيَّةِ الدَّمَاغِ  EEG

5- برنامج زمالة جراحة الأعصاب للأطفال

6- برنامج الزمالة العصبية السريرية