The Oncology Department has a team of more than 70 highly skilled doctors, researchers, nurses, and technicians who provide excellent medical care and assistance to patients suffering from tumor across the country through integrated teamwork and collaboration with the other relevant departments. We specialize in bone marrow transplant and are dedicated to training new specialists in the field of hematology, oncology, and palliative care.

Our subspecialties include medical oncology, adult hematology, pediatric hematology/oncology, palliative care, radiation oncology, biomedical physics, and oncology data unit, with more details below:

 

1- Pediatric Hematology / Oncology / BMT

 

The Section of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology/BMT treats approximately 100 new cancer cases in children less than 14 years of age each year, representing 15 per cent of all new pediatric cancer cases in Saudi Arabia. Approximately 64 per cent of these children have a diagnosis of leukemia/lymphoma, 20 per cent have solid tumors such as a sarcoma, and 13 per cent have brain tumors. The section is responsible for most of the Western region pediatric bone marrow transplants. Each year the unit performs approximately 32 autologous/allogeneic stem cell transplants in children with malignancies, hemoglobinopathies, severe bone marrow failure such as aplastic anemia, severe immunodeficiency such as SCIDS and rare genetic disorders.

The Hematology program accepts complicated cases of pediatric hemoglobinopathies, bleeding and clotting disorders of children.

In-patient care is provided in a designated pediatric hematology/oncology unit with twenty inpatient beds; five beds are allocated for pediatric stem cell transplantation.

The outpatient clinics and treatment area follow and administer treatments to approximately 5700 patients annually. Treatments include outpatient chemotherapy, blood products administration, performance of intrathecal chemotherapy and bone marrow biopsies.

The Pediatric Hematology/Oncology fellowship Training Program is accredited by the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties (SCHS). The program total capacity is 6 fellows being trained at any one time, with a maximum acceptance of 2 new fellows each year. The duration of fellowship training is three-years. Applicants should be board certified in general pediatrics and must be accepted by the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties for the training.   The program offers comprehensive coverage of required training rotations by the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties and educational activates.

The Section of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology is actively involved in clinical research. Currently, the research activity is limited to retrospective trials. Any research activity must be supervised and approved by the institutional research ethics board. The Section of pediatric Hematology/Oncology participates in multicenter retrospective trails at the national level, this type of research is supported by SANAD organization and the Saudi Pediatric Hematology Oncology Society.

Achievements:

1.      Recognized as a Pediatric Hematology/Oncology fellowship Training Program and accredited by the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties (SCFHS) since 2010

2.      Published in: Pediatric Blood & Cancer, Blood, Biology of Blood and Marrow Transplant, Annals of Hematology, Bone Marrow Transplantation, as well as poster presentation and abstracts at variety of national and international meetings.

 

Subsections (or Services):

1.      Pediatric Stem Cell Transplantation

2.      Pediatric Oncology

3.      Pediatric Hematology

 

Accreditations and Awards:

1.      Staff recognition day 2012 for the BMT program (combined with adult team )

2.      Selected by KFSHRC Gen. Org as one of the top ten percentile of employee’s who have made a significant contribution to our organization throughout 2014

3.      Member of the EBMT

 

2- Adult Hematology / BMT

The section of Adult Hematology/ BMT provides services for patients who have hematologic disorders. The unit is located on 4 north, equipped with 15 rooms assigned for new BMT cases and complications of BMT, leukemia, lymphoma and myeloma patients, all rooms provide positive pressure and have HEPA filters. The service provide comprehensive care for adult patients with acute myeloid leukemia, acute lymphoblastic leukemia, chronic lymphocytic leukemia, chronic myeloid leukemia, hairy cell leukemia, myelodysplastic syndrome, chronic myeloproliferative neoplasms, multiple myeloma, aplastic anemia , aggressive non Hodgkin lymphoma(transplant candidate), relapsed Hodgkin disease (transplant candidate), thrombotic thrombocytopenic purpura, hemophagocyticlymphohistiocytosis and hyper eosinophilic syndrome.

The service provides consultations for benign hematologic disorders (venous thromboembolism, immune thrombocytopenia, sickle cell anemia, hemophilia and other bleeding disorders, pre-operative clearance, pregnancy associated hematologic complications, hematological complications of rheumatologic disorders, and chronic anemia). In order to provide patient focused tertiary care, the adult hematology service have clinics for BMT, malignant hematologic disorders, benign hematologic disorders, lymphoma , Women’s Hematology clinic and specialized nurse clinics. In addition to providing care in the day procedure unit as well as oncology treatment area. Each adult hematology clinic is run by a consultant and assisted by an assistant consultant or a fellow. Academic activities involve a variety of meetings including those centered around patient care as well as sessions dedicated to continuous learning.

 

The section is actively involved in research activities and publishes many case reports, letters to editors, abstracts in the international meetings, original articles and participates in the international drug trials.

 

The bone marrow transplant program started in 2001 and considered the second bone marrow transplantation program for adults in the Kingdom.  

 

Achievements:

1.      Recognized in 2013 as an Adult Hematology Fellowship Program

2.      KFSHRC-J Management Guidelines of Hematological Disorders (published December 2014)

3.      Published in: Experimental and Clinical transplantation, Annals of Saudi Medicine, Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Pakistan, Leukemia, European Society for Blood and Marrow Transplantation EBMT 2014 and EBMT 2015

4.      Start of successful first in western region Adult Sickle cell bone marrow transplant program in 2016

 

Subsections (or Services):

Benign hematology, malignant hematology, BMT

 

Accreditation or Awards:

1.      Staff recognition day 2012 for the BMT program (combined with pediatric team)

2.      Selected by KFSHRC Gen. Org as one of the top ten percentile of employee’s who have made a significant contribution to our organization throughout 2014

3.      Joint Accreditation Committee ISCT-EBMT (ongoing)

 

3. Adult Medical Oncology

The medical oncology section is focused on the quality of care with the development of patient-oriented disease-specific multidisciplinary programs. In one stop the patient can visit multiple specialties consultants in one clinic location. This helps streamline the process and avoid fragmentation and delay in patient care.

We have implemented a patient focused approach utilizing clinical care coordinators programs since 2011. Our clinical coordinators provide individualized assistance to patients, families, and caregivers to help overcome health care system barriers and facilitate timely access to quality medical and psychosocial care from the time of diagnosis through all phases of the cancer experience.

We are also focused on the process of system improvement with the development of system-based morbidity and mortality review incorporating the “just culture” as well as the development of quality measures and quality improvement projects in our section. Medical oncology section is also very active in Research.

 

Achievements:

1.      Patient care:

a.       The development of Clinical coordinator program to help the patient navigate through the course of their diagnosis and treatment since 2011

b.      The development of disease-specific multidisciplinary management since 2011

c.       The integration of Ambulatory chemotherapy program for patients who may require long infusions

d.      The early integration of palliative care into the management of patients with advanced disease

e.       The development of Quality outcome measures and quality improvement projects.

f.       System-based morbidity and mortality review

g.      Patient education and support groups

 

2.      Research:

a.       The research activities: medical oncology section published 15 abstract and 22 papers in 2015

b.      The incorporation of the Oncology Data Unit into oncology department with goal of developing ODU into an Oncology Research unit

c.       Developing disease-specific Data base to help boost our research publications and provide updated outcome measures.

 

3.      Education:

a.       The initiation of a medical oncology fellowship program since 2011

b.      Conferences: “The Best of ASCO” is an annual conference organized by the medical oncology section since 2012. It provides highlights from the American Society of Medical Oncology annual meeting.

 

Subsections (or Services):

1.      Multidisciplinary Breast cancer program

2.      Multidisciplinary Colorectal cancer program

3.      Multidisciplinary head and neck cancer program

4.      Multidisciplinary lymphoma program

5.      Gynecologic oncology program

6.      Urologic oncology program

7.      General medical oncology

 

4- Radiation Oncology

After the amalgamation of both KFSH&RC Hospitals in Riyadh and Jeddah, the King Faisal Specialist Hospital (KFSH) and Research Centre - Jeddah aimed to include patients of the western region with high standard of medical care in different specialties.

The Radiation Oncology Section partnered with King Abdul-Aziz University Hospital expanded the capabilities of its medical services through KFSHRC Healthcare, drawing upon the vast expertise of both organizations and Health System to provide clinical program development, research, training, safety and quality, and health care administration expertise.

The mission of radiotherapy section is to improve the survival rates and quality of life for oncology patients.

We provide our patients with advanced treatment options such as Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy (IMRT), Volumetric Modulated Arc Therapy (VMAT), Image-Guided Radiation Therapy (IGRT), Stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS), Total body Irradiation (TBI), Intra-operative Radiation Therapy (IORT), Active Breathing Coordinator (ABC) and Brachytherapy. We have 3 LINAC’s (VERSA, SYNERGY and ARTISTE).

Each of our patients has a personalized treatment plan which is reviewed in a meeting as part of our quality assurance, ensuring our patients are given the best treatment as per evidence based medicine. Weekly, our patients are seen by the radiation oncologist to manage their side-effects, thereby ensuring better outcome of treatment and a better quality of life. One of the central pillars of our mission is to ensure our patients receive radiotherapy in a timely fashion as the delay in radiotherapy impacts on local control rate and inevitably on survival.

Hence, we have introduced waiting times, from decision to treat to start of treatment, as a Quality Indicator in our Section.

Achievements:

Bringing the latest sophisticated technology to our patients by our highly skilled team, as we are the first center in the Middle-East to have the VERSA LINAC and recently commenced ABC technique, the only center with moving couch for TBI, and MRI Simulation.

 

Subsections (or Services):

1.      Radiation Oncology

2.      Medical Physics

 

Accreditation or Awards:

1.      JCIA

2.      Canadian Accreditation

3.      In quality day 2013, the department of radiation oncology received award in the “Improve preparation process for radiation therapy patients”.

 

5. Palliative Care Medicine

Palliative Medicine is an approach that improves the quality of life of patients and their families facing the problems associated with life-threatening illness, through the prevention and relief of suffering by means of early identification and impeccable assessment and treatment of pain and other problems, physical, psychosocial, and spiritual.

Our care team includes a wide range of specialists: physicians, nurses, social workers, spiritual support, dieticians, pharmacists, and others who offer individualized support for patients and their families.

The goal of our multidisciplinary team is to provide expert pain and symptom management, education and communication about achievable goals for care, support for decisions matched to patient and family goals, psychosocial support, and coordination of care.

Our department in KFSHRC-J has launched an Adult Palliative Medicine Program, which is a unique collaboration between the different Departments of the Hospital. It not only allows us to provide thorough care for patients and families, but also to train new specialists, and to meet the need for increased research on how best to reduce the burden of chronic illness and deliver high quality palliative care.

 

Scope of Service:

It provides the following services, Inpatients, Outpatients, Consultations, Emergency room, and Home health visits.

 

Achievements:

1.      Establishment of Multidisciplinary Palliative Care Team

2.      Establishment of Palliative Care Fellowship program

3.      Palliative Home Health Visits program by a multidisciplinary team

 


Cardiovascular Diseases

Our vision is to become the leading cardiac center in Saudi Arabia, with skilled and experienced professionals and state-of-the-art facility. Our primary services include Adult Cardiology Services, Cardiac Surgical Program, and Thoracic Division. Our specialized cardiac clinics comprise Adult Congenital Heart Clinic, Heart Failure and Transplant Clinic, Anti-coagulation Clinic, Arrhythmia and Pacemaker Clinic, Atrial Fibrillation Ablation Program, and Structural Heart Disease Interventional Program. Since 2002, the department has been conducting educational activities like Interventional Cardiovascular Conference and joint conferences.

 

Scope of Services

Adult Cardiology services including non-invasive testing, imaging and treatment (diagnostic Cath, coronary interventions, electrophysiology and cardiothoracic surgery).

Cardiac Surgical Program including coronary bypass, valve repair/replacement, thoracic procedures, ventricular reduction surgery (SVR), and complex congenital Heart Surgery.

Thoracic Division that provides tertiary care service including thoracic vascular surgery, esophageal and lung surgery.

 

 

Other Essential Information:

 

Specialized Clinics and Programs

  • Adult Congenital Heart Clinic
  • Heart Failure and Transplant Clinic
  • Anti-coagulation Clinics
  • Arrythmia and Pacemaker Clinics
  • Atrial Fibrillation Ablation Program
  • Structural Heart Disease Interventional Program such as TAVI and Left Atrial Appendage Occlusion

 

Established Academic and Training Programs:

1. Accredited Fellowship Program in Adult Cardiology

2. Accredited Cardiovascular Technology Diploma Program

3. Accredited Cardiac Residency Training Program

 

Educational Activities

The Cardiovascular Department is proud of its successful and educational activities such as Interventional Cardiovascular Conference (ICC) and Joint Conferences with the American Colleges of Cardiology since 2002. Such academic activities are essential to the development of a cardiac center of excellence and provide a unique opportunity of international exposure and networking.

يضم قسم الأورام فريقاً مكوناً من أكثر من 70 طبيباً وباحثاً وممرضة وفنيين يتمتعون بدرجة عالية من المهارة ويقدمون رعاية طبية ومساعدة ممتازة للمرضى في جميع أنحاء البلاد الذين يعانون من الأورام وذلك من خلال العمل الجماعي المتكامل والتعاون مع الأقسام الأخرى ذات الصلة. نحن متخصصون في زراعة النخاع العظمي ونكرس أنفسنا لتدريب أخصائيين جدد في مجال أمراض الدم والأورام والرعاية التلطيفية.

 

تشمل تخصصاتنا الفرعية الأورام الطبية، وأمراض الدم لدى البالغين، وأمراض الدم لدى الأطفال / الأورام، والرعاية التلطيفية، وعلاج الأورام بالإشعاع، والفيزياء الطبية الحيوية، ووحدة بيانات الأورام، وفيما يلي المزيد من التفاصيل عن القسم:

 

1- أمراض الدم للأطفال / الأورام / زراعة النخاع العظمي

 

يعالج قسم أمراض الدم والأورام / زراعة النخاع العظمي (BMT) حوالي 100 حالة سرطان جديدة في الأطفال أقل من 14 سنة من العمر كل سنة، وهو ما يمثل 15% من جميع حالات سرطان الأطفال الجديدة في المملكة العربية السعودية. عادة ما يتم تشخيص حوالي 64% من هؤلاء الأطفال بسرطان الدم / سرطان الغدد الليمفاوية، و20% توجد لديهم أورام صلبة مثل ساركوما، و 13% توجد لديهم أورام دماغية. يتولى القسم معظم عمليات زراعة النخاع العظمي للأطفال في المنطقة الغربية. وتقوم الوحدة كل عام بإجراء حوالي 32 عملية زرع للخلايا الجذعية الذاتية / الخلقية للأطفال المصابين بالأورام الخبيثة، واعتلال الهيموغلوبين، والفشل الحاد للنخاع العظمي مثل فقر الدم اللاتنسجي، ونقص المناعة الشديدة مثل العوز المناعي المشترك الشديد (SCID) والاضطرابات الوراثية النادرة.

يستقبل برنامج أمراض الدم حالات معقدة من اعتلال خضاب الدم لدى الأطفال، ونزيف الدم واضطرابات التخثر لدى الأطفال.

 يتم توفير الرعاية للمرضى المنومين في وحدة مخصصة لأمراض الدم / علم الأورام للأطفال التي تضم 20 سريرًا للمرضى المنومين. وتُخصص خمسة أسرة لزرع الخلايا الجذعية للأطفال.

وتقوم العيادات الخارجية ومنطقة العلاج بتقديم العلاج وخدمة المتابعة لحوالي 5700 مريض سنويًا. وتشمل العلاجات المعالجة الكيميائية للمرضى الخارجيين، وإدارة منتجات الدم، والعلاج الكيميائيداخل القراب وخزعات النخاع العظمي.

لقد تم اعتماد برنامج تدريب زمالة طب أمراض الدم / الأورام من قبل الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية. ويضم البرنامج 6 زملاء يتم تدريبهم في آنٍ واحدٍ مع إمكانية قبول زميلين جديدين كل عام علماً أن مدة تدريب الزمالة هي ثلاث سنوات. يجب أن يكون المتقدمون معتمدين من الهيئة في طب الأطفال العام ومقبولين من الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية للتدريب. ويقدم البرنامج تغطية شاملة للتدريب المطلوب من قبل الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية والنشاطات التعليمية.

يشارك قسم أمراض الدم والأورام لدى الأطفال بكل نشاط في الأبحاث السريرية. حاليا، يقتصر النشاط البحثي على التجارب الاستعادية. يجب الإشراف على الأنشطة البحثية واعتمادها من قبل مجلس أخلاقيات البحث المؤسسي. ويشارك قسم أمراض الدم والأورام لدى الأطفال في تجارب استعادية متعددة المراكز على المستوى الوطني، ويدعم هذا النوع من الأبحاث منظمة سند (SANAD) والجمعية السعودية لأمراض الدم والأورام لدى الأطفال.

 

الإنجازات:

  1. تم الاعتراف به كبرنامج زمالة للتدريب لطب أمراض الدم والأورام لدى الأطفال ومعتمد من قبل الهيئة السعودية للتخصصات الصحية منذ عام 2010.
  2. نشرت أبحاثه في: مجلة دم الأطفال والسرطان، مجلة الدم، مجلة علم أحياء الدم وزرع النخاع، مجلة مدونات الدم، مجلة زرع النخاع العظمي، علاوة على عروض الملصقات وملخصات عدد كبير من المؤتمرات الوطنية والدولية.

 

الأقسام الفرعية (أو الخدمات):

  1. زرع الخلايا الجذعية لدى الأطفال
  2. طب الأورام لدى الأطفال
  3. أمراض الدم لدى الأطفال

 

الاعتمادات والجوائز:

  1. يوم الاعتراف بالموظفين في عام 2012 لبرنامج زرع النخاع العظمي (ضمن فريق البالغين)
  2. اختير من قبل المؤسسة العامة لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ضمن أعلى 10% من الموظفين الذين قدموا مساهمة قيمة في مؤسستنا طوال عام 2014م.
  3. عضو في المجموعة الأوربية لأبحاث زراعة الدم والنخاع العظمي (EBMT)

 

2- أمراض الدم لدى البالغين / زرع النخاع العظمي

يقدم قسم أمراض الدم / زرع النخاع العظمي للبالغين خدمات للمرضى الذين يعانون من اضطرابات دموية. تقع الوحدة في 4 شمال، ويضم القسم 15 غرفة مخصصة لحالات جديدة لزرع النخاع العظمي ومضاعفات زرع النخاع العظمي، وسرطان الدم، وسرطان الغدد الليمفاوية والمرضى المعانين من المايلوما، وتوفر جميع الغرف ضغطًا إيجابيًا ويوجد بها فلاتر HEPA. توفر الخدمة رعاية شاملة للمرضى البالغين المصابين بسرطان الدم النخاعي الحاد، وسرطان الدم الليمفاوي الحاد، وسرطان الدم الليمفاوي المزمن، وسرطان الدم النخاعي المزمن، وسرطان الدم الخلوي المزمن، ومتلازمة خلل التنسج النقوي، والأورام النقوية المزمنة، والورم النقوي المتعدد، وفقر الدم اللاتنسجي، وورم الغدد اللمفاوية اللاهودجكين العدوانية (مرشح الزرع)، ومرض هودجكين المعاود (مرشح الزرع)، وفرفرية نقص الصفيحات التخثر، ومرض الكريات اللمفاوية الكيسية ومتلازمة فرط اليوزين.

تقدم هذه الخدمة استشارات لاضطرابات الدم الحميدة (الجلطات الدموية الوريدية، ونقص الصفيحات المناعي، وفقر الدم المنجلي، والهيموفيليا وغيرها من اضطرابات النزف، والتخليص ما قبل الجراحة، والمضاعفات الدموية المرتبطة بالحمل، والمضاعفات الدموية للاضطرابات الروماتيزمية، وفقر الدم المزمن). ومن أجل توفير الرعاية الثالثية المركزة للمرضى، فإن خدمة أمراض الدم لدى البالغين يتوفر لديها عيادات لزرع النخاع العظمي، واضطرابات دموية خبيثة، واضطرابات دموية حميدة، وسرطان الغدد الليمفاوية، وعيادة أمراض الدم النسائية وعيادات تمريضية متخصصة، وهذا بالإضافة إلى توفير الرعاية في وحدة الإجراءات اليومية وكذلك في منطقة علاج الأورام. كل عيادة أمراض الدم لدى البالغين تتم إدارتها من قبل استشاري ويساعده استشاري مساعد أو زميل. وتشمل الأنشطة الأكاديمية مجموعة متنوعة من الاجتماعات بما فيها تلك التي تركز على رعاية المرضى بالإضافة إلى الجلسات المخصصة للتعلم المستمر.

ويشارك القسم بكل نشاط في الأنشطة البحثية وينشر العديد من تقارير الحالات ورسائل إلى المحررين والملخصات في المؤتمرات الدولية والمقالات الأصلية كما يشارك في التجارب الدولية للعقاقير.

وقد بدأ برنامج زرع النخاع العظمي في عام 2001 ويُعد البرنامج الثاني لزراعة النخاع العظمي للبالغين في المملكة.

 

الإنجازات:

  1. تم الاعتراف به في عام 2013 كبرنامج زمالة لأمراض الدم لدى البالغين
  2. المبادئ التوجيهية لإدارة مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث – جدة للاضطرابات الدموية (نشرت ديسمبر 2014)
  3. نشرت أبحاثه في: مجلة زرع الأعضاء التجريبي والسريري، ومجلة مدونات الطب السعودي، ومجلة كلية الأطباء والجراحين في باكستان، ومجلة اللوكيميا، ومجلة المجموعة الأوروبية لزراعة الدم والنخاع العظمي EBMT 2014 و EBMT 2015
  4. بدء برنامج زرع نخاع عظم الخلايا المنجلية للبالغين في المنطقة الغربية لأول مرة في عام 2016

 

الأقسام الفرعية (أو الخدمات):

أمراض الدم الحميدة، أمراض الدم الخبيثة، زرع النخاع العظمي

 

الاعتماد أو الجوائز:

  1. يوم الاعتراف بالموظفين في عام 2012 لبرنامج زرع النخاع العظمي (ضمن فريق الأطفال)
  2. اختير من قبل المؤسسة العامة لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ضمن أعلى 10% من الموظفين الذين قدموا مساهمة قيمة إلى مؤسستنا طوال عام 2014م.
  3. لجنة الاعتماد المشتركة ISCT-EBMT (جارية)

 

3- قسم علم الأورام الطبي لدى البالغين

يركز قسم الأورام الطبي على جودة الرعاية من خلال تطوير برامج متعددة التخصصات للمرضى، فيمكن للمريض زيارة الاستشاريين من ذوي التخصصات المتعددة في مكان واحد. وهذا بدوره يساعد على تبسيط العملية وتفادي التأخير في رعاية المرضى بسبب ضرورة الذهاب إلى أماكن متعددة.

لقد قمنا بتنفيذ نهج يركز على المريض باستخدام برامج منسقي الرعاية الطبية منذ عام 2011. ويقدم منسقونا السريريون مساعدة للمرضى والعائلات ومقدمي الرعاية حسب حاجتهم للتغلب على حواجز نظام الرعاية الصحية وتسهيل الحصول في الوقت المناسب على الرعاية الطبية والنفسية الاجتماعية الجيدة بدء من لحظة التشخيص وصولاً إلى جميع مراحل تجربة علاج السرطان.

كما نركز على عملية تحسين النظام مع تطوير مراجعة الأمراض والوفيات المستندة إلى النظام والتي تتضمن "الثقافة العادلة" بالإضافة إلى تطوير معايير الجودة ومشاريع تحسين الجودة في قسمنا. قسم الأورام الطبية هو أيضا نشيط جدا في مجال إجراء البحوث.

 

الإنجازات:

  1. رعاية المرضى:

أ. تطوير برنامج المنسق السريري لمساعدة المريض في جميع مراحل العلاج بدء من مرحلة التشخيص إلى العلاج منذ عام 2011

ب. تطوير إدارة متعددة التخصصات خاصة بالمرض منذ عام 2011

ت. تكامل برنامج العلاج الكيماوي الإسعافي للمرضى الذين قد يحتاجون إلى حقن طويلة المدى

ث. التكامل المبكر للرعاية التلطيفية في إدارة المرضى في مراحل متقدمة من المرض

ج. تطوير مقاييس نتائج الجودة ومشاريع تحسين الجودة.

ح. مراجعة المراضة والوفيات القائمة على النظام

خ. مجموعات تثقيف ودعم المريض

  1. البحوث:

أ. الأنشطة البحثية: نشر قسم الأورام الطبية 15 ملخصا و 22 ورقة بحثية في عام 2015

ب. دمج وحدة بيانات الأورام في قسم الأورام بهدف تطوير وحدة بيانات الأورام إلى وحدة أبحاث الأورام

ج. تطوير قاعدة بيانات خاصة بالأمراض لتعزيز منشوراتنا البحثية وتوفير الإجراءات للنتائج المحدثة.

  1. التثقيف:

أ. الشروع في برنامج زمالة الأورام الطبية منذ عام 2011

ب. المؤتمرات: "أفضل ما في الجمعية الأمريكية لعلم الأورام السريري" هو مؤتمر سنوي ينظمه قسم الأورام الطبي منذ عام 2012، ويسلط الضوء على أبرز أحداث الاجتماع السنوي للجمعية الأمريكية لعلم الأورام الطبي.

 

الأقسام الفرعية (أو الخدمات):

  1. برنامج سرطان الثدي متعدد التخصصات
  2. برنامج سرطان القولون والمستقيم متعدد التخصصات
  3. برنامج سرطان الرأس والعنق متعدد التخصصات
  4. برنامج الليمفومة متعدد التخصصات
  5. برنامج الأورام النسائية
  6. برنامج أورام المسالك البولية
  7. علم الأورام الطبي العام

 

علاج الأورام بالإشعاع

بعد أن تم دمج كل من مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث في الرياض وجدة، حرص مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث - جدة على تقديم مستوى عالٍ من الرعاية الطبية في تخصصات مختلفة إلى مرضى المنطقة الغربية.

قام قسم علاج الأورام بالإشعاع بالتعاون مع مستشفى جامعة الملك عبد العزيز بتوسيع نطاق خدماته الطبية من خلال الرعاية الصحية لمستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث بالاستفادة من الخبرة الواسعة للمنظمتين ونظامهما الصحي لتطوير البرامج السريرية والبحوث والتدريب والسلامة والجودة والصحة وتعزيز إدارة الرعاية الصحية.

تتمثل رسالة قسم العلاج الإشعاعي في تحسين معدلات البقاء ونوعية الحياة للمرضى المصابين بالأورام.

نقدم لمرضانا خيارات علاجية متقدمة مثل العلاج الإشعاعي معدل الشدة (IMRT)، والعلاج القوسي الحجمي المعدل (VMAT)، والعلاج الإشعاعي الموجه بالتصوير (IGRT)، والجراحة الإشعاعية المصوّبة (SRS)، والإشعاع الشامل للجسم (TBI)، والعلاج الإشعاعي خلال العملية الجراحية (IORT)، ومنسق التنفس الفعال (ABC) والعلاج الإشعاعي الموضعي (Brachytherapy). ولدينا ثلاثة من المسرعات الخطية التي هي فيرسا (VERSA) و سينيرجي (SYNERGY)، وآرتيست (ARTISTE).

نقدم لكل مريض من مرضانا خطة علاج شخصية يتم استعراضها في اجتماع في إطار ضمان الجودة؛ نضمن لمرضانا الحصول على أفضل علاج من خلال الأدوية المثبتة بالدليل. يقوم أخصائي الأورام الإشعاعي بالكشف على مرضانا كل أسبوع لإدارة الآثار الجانبية، وبالتالي نضمن نتائج أفضل للعلاج وتحسين نوعية الحياة. إن إحدى الركائز الأساسية لرسالتنا هي ضمان حصول مرضانا على العلاج الإشعاعي في الوقت المناسب حيث أن التأخير في العلاج الإشعاعي يؤدي إلى شدة المرض وبالتالي يعرض حياة المريض للخطر.

ولذلك فقد اعتمدنا فترات الانتظار، بدءًا من قرار المعالجة حتى بدء العلاج كمؤشر للجودة في قسمنا.

 

الإنجازات:

توظيف أحدث التقنيات المتطورة لمرضانا من قبل فريقنا ذي المهارات العالية، حيث أننا أول مركز في منطقة الشرق الأوسط يحمل مسرعات خطية فيرسا (VERSA LINAC) وقد بدأنا مؤخراً تقنية منسق التنفس الفعال، ​​المركز الوحيد الذي يملك الجهاز المتنقل للإشعاع الشامل للجسم لزراعة النخاع العظمي ومحاكاة التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي.

 

الأقسام الفرعية (أو الخدمات):

  1. علاج الأورام بالإشعاع
  2. الفيزياء الطبية

 

الاعتماد أو الجوائز:

  1. اللجنة الدولية المشتركة لاعتماد المنشآت الصحية (JCIA)
  2. الاعتماد الكندي
  3. في يوم الجودة عام 2013 ، حصل قسم الأورام الإشعاعي على جائزة في فئة "تحسين عملية الاستعداد لمرضى العلاج الإشعاعي".

 

5- طب العناية التلطيفية

الطب التلطيفي عبارة عن نهج للعلاج الذي يقوم بتحسين نوعية حياة المرضى وعائلاتهم التي تواجه المشاكل المرتبطة بالأمراض المهددة للحياة وذلك من خلال الوقاية والتخفيف من المعاناة عن طريق تحديد مبكر وتقييم ممتاز وعلاج للألم وغيرها من المشاكل المادية والنفسية والاجتماعية والروحية التي يعانيها المريض.

يضم فريق الرعاية لدينا مجموعة واسعة من الأخصائيين: الأطباء والممرضات والأخصائيين الاجتماعيين ومقدمي الدعم الروحي وأخصائيي التغذية والصيادلة وغيرهم ممن يقدمون الدعم الفردي للمرضى وعائلاتهم.

هدف فريقنا متعدد التخصصات هو توفير خدمات إدارة الألم والأعراض والتثقيف والتواصل حول الأهداف القابلة للتحقيق فيما يخص الرعاية، ودعم القرارات التي تتوافق مع أهداف المريض وعائلته والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي وتنسيق الرعاية.

لقد أطلق قسمنا في مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي ومركز الأبحاث بجدة برنامج الطب التلطيفي للكبار، وهو تعاون فريد من نوعه فيما بين الأقسام المختلفة في المستشفى. فهو لا يسمح لنا فقط بتوفير رعاية شاملة للمرضى وعائلاتهم، بل يتيح لنا أيضا تدريب أخصائيين جدد، وتلبية الحاجة إلى إجراء المزيد من الأبحاث حول الطريقة الفضلى للحد من أثر المرض المزمن وتقديم رعاية تلطيفية عالية الجودة.

نطاق الخدمة: يوفر الخدمات التالية: العيادات الخارجية، والاستشارة للمرضى المنومين، وغرفة الطوارئ، والزيارات الصحية المنزلية.

 

الإنجازات:

  1. إنشاء فريق رعاية تلطيفية متعدد التخصصات
  2. إنشاء برنامج زمالة للرعاية التلطيفية
  3. برنامج الزيارة الصحية التلطيفية من قبل فريق متعدد التخصصات